Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovation at Fleming College

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
June 28, 2012

Peterborough, Ontario — Dean Del Mastro, Member of Parliament for Peterborough, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced that Sir Sandford Fleming College of Applied Arts and Technology has worked with four businesses in southern Ontario to accelerate innovation and improve productivity and competitiveness.

"Innovation is a driving force in this region's economy and our government is proud to support businesses as they innovate, grow and become more competitive," said MP Del Mastro. "The partnerships between Fleming College and these companies have allowed them to share information, work together and find solutions to business challenges."

In 2010, through FedDev Ontario's Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, Fleming College was approved for a contribution of up to $161,838 to partner with small- and medium-sized enterprises on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification. The college partnered with the following businesses on projects related to the environment:

Partnered businesses
Company Location Website
Mass Environmental  Services Inc. Lakefield, ON www.massenv.com
Murrenhil Corporation Lindsay www.murrenhil.com
Nature Works Remediation Inc. Guelph http://nature-works.net  
The Tree Specialists Inc. Oakville www.thetreespecialists.com

"The support received from our federal government is instrumental in building economic capacity in the region and fostering industry-college research collaboration. As industry and colleges continue to work together to develop innovative solutions to technological problems, faculty, students and industry mutually benefit from the sharing of expertise. It is this type of collaboration that drives the economy and propels local innovation forward," said Tony Tilly, President, Fleming College.

"On behalf of Fleming College, our Research team, staff and students, I would like to thank the Government of Canada for this opportunity."

Since its launch in 2010, the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative has invested more than $14.5 million in 24 colleges and universities across southern Ontario so they could work with the private sector to bring new products and innovative processes to the marketplace faster. In December 2011, FedDev Ontario announced the extension of the initiative until March 31, 2013 with additional funding to further support innovation efforts in southern Ontario.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Brent Wootton
Director, Applied Research
Fleming College
1-888-353-6464, ext. 3226

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'innovation au Fleming College

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 28 juin 2012

Peterborough (Ontario) — Dean Del Mastro, député fédéral de Peterborough, a annoncé aujourd'hui, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), la collaboration du Sir Sandford Fleming College of Applied Arts and Technology avec quatre entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario afin d'accélérer l'innovation et d'améliorer la productivité et la compétitivité.

« L'innovation est un élément moteur pour l'économie de la région, et notre gouvernement est fier de soutenir les entreprises alors qu'elles innovent, croissent et deviennent plus concurrentielles, a déclaré le député Del Mastro. Les partenariats établis entre le Fleming College et ces sociétés leur ont permis d'échanger de l'information, de collaborer et de trouver des solutions pour répondre à des défis commerciaux. »

En 2010, dans le cadre de son Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation, FedDev Ontario a approuvé une contribution de 161 838 dollars au Fleming College en vue de créer des partenariats avec les petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre d'activités dans les secteurs de la recherche appliquée, de la conception technique, du développement technologique, de la mise à l'essai et de la certification de produits. Le College a établi des partenariats avec les entreprises suivantes pour travailler sur des projets liés à l'environnement :

Partenariats avec les entreprises
Entreprise Lieu Site Web
Mass Environmental  Services Inc. Lakefield, ON www.massenv.com
Murrenhil Corporation Lindsay www.murrenhil.com
Nature Works Remediation Inc. Guelph http://nature-works.net
The Tree Specialists Inc. Oakville www.thetreespecialists.com

« Le soutien reçu de notre gouvernement fédéral joue un rôle déterminant dans le renforcement de la capacité économique de la région et il permet d'encourager la collaboration entre l'industrie et les collèges en matière de recherche. Lorsque l'industrie et les collèges collaborent en vue de développer des solutions innovatrices à des problèmes d'ordre technologique, le corps professoral, les étudiants et l'industrie profitent mutuellement de ce partage d'expertise. C'est ce type de collaboration qui stimule l'économie et fait avancer l'innovation, explique Tony Tilly, président du Fleming College. Au nom du Fleming College, de notre équipe de recherche, du personnel et de nos étudiants, j'aimerais remercier le gouvernement du Canada de nous avoir donné cette possibilité. »

Depuis son lancement en 2010, l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation a investi plus de 14,5 millions de dollars dans 24 collèges et universités de l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario afin que ces derniers collaborent avec le secteur privé en vue de mettre plus rapidement de nouveaux produits et des procédés novateurs sur le marché. En décembre 2011, FedDev Ontario a annoncé la prolongation de l'Initiative jusqu'au 31 mars 2013, et un financement supplémentaire pour soutenir davantage les efforts en matière d'innovation dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Brent Wootton
Directeur, Recherche appliquée
Fleming College
1-888-353-6464, poste 3226

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917

Date de modification :