Archived — Harper Government Takes Action to Improve Community Facilities Across the Country

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear Launches the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund in Ontario

For immediate release
July 5, 2012

Minister Goodyear at the Mississauga YMCA to launch the new Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund.

(l-r) Judy McLeod, Chief Development Officer of the YMCA of Greater Toronto; the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario); and Wladyslaw Lizon, Member of Parliament for Mississauga East-Cooksville alongside youth members of the Mississauga YMCA.
Source : Tim Fraser

Mississauga, Ontario – The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced the launch of the new Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund in Ontario. Community and recreational facilities are now eligible for repairs and upgrades through the Fund.

"The Harper Government is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity in our communities," said Minister of State Goodyear. "The Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund will boost economic activity in communities and help support job creation in Ontario. By improving the quality of our community facilities, we are also contributing to building prosperous communities for Canadian families for years to come."

FedDev Ontario is delivering the Fund in Ontario with an allocation of $49.6 million over two years.

Through the Fund, FedDev Ontario will support, on a cost-shared basis, repairs and improvements to existing community infrastructure that is accessible for use by the public. Local, regional and First Nation governments, as well as not-for-profit organizations with projects that can be completed before March 31, 2014 are invited to apply for funding.

Eligible recipients may receive contributions of up to $1 million and must leverage a minimum of 50 per cent of funding from other sources. In Ontario, priority may be given to projects that require a federal contribution of just 33.3 per cent of total project costs.

Applications for projects in Ontario must be submitted by 5:00 p.m. EDT on August 24, 2012. For detailed program guidelines and information on how to apply, please refer to www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca/ciif.

This national program provides $150 million over two years to be delivered by regional development agencies across the country. For more information, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region’s strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region’s businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917


Backgrounder

Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund

Through the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF), the Harper Government has committed to supporting communities and creating jobs through repairs and improvements to existing community facilities over the next two years. Expansions such as adding ramps to improve accessibility to a facility, adding a roof to an outdoor rink or extending a trail or bike path are eligible. The construction of new infrastructure and repairs to facilities that are primarily for commercial or for-profit activities are ineligible. Priority will be given to projects that can demonstrate anticipated economic benefits to their communities and the use of new technologies and innovation. Facilities must be accessible for use by the public and not limited to a private membership. All projects are required to be completed by March 31, 2014.

The Fund is being delivered by the regional development agencies across Canada and will support projects on a cost-shared basis. Funding recipients may receive up to 50 per cent of total eligible costs. The Government of Canada may provide up to $1 million per project. Municipal, regional and First Nation governments, as well as not-for-profit organizations are eligible to apply.

The Fund has been allocated as follows:

Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund
Regional Development Agency Region Fiscal year 2012–13 Fiscal year
2013–14
Total
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island $8,300,000 $8,300,000 $16,600,000
Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec Quebec $15,600,000 $15,600,000 $31,200,000
Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario Ontario $24,800,000 $24,800,000 $49,600,000
Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency Yukon, Northwest Territories, Nunavut $3,200,000 $3,200,000 $6,400,000
Western Economic Diversification Canada British Columbia, Alberta,
Saskatchewan, Manitoba
$23,100,000 $23,100,000 $46,200,000

More information on the delivery of the Fund in each region is available by contacting each regional development agency. In Ontario, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca/ciif, email infrastructure@feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

  • RSS
  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper prend des mesures pour améliorer les installations communautaires partout au pays

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear lance le Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire en Ontario

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 5 juillet 2012

Le ministre Goodyear au YMCA de Mississauga pour le lancement du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire en Ontario

(g-d) Judy McLeod, chef du développement du YMCA du Grand Toronto; l’honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d’État responsable de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario); et Wladyslaw Lizon, député de Mississauga-Est–Cooksville, à côté de jeunes membres du YMCA de Mississauga.
Source : Tim Fraser

Mississauga, Ontario – L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui le lancement du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire en Ontario. Les installations communautaires et récréatives sont maintenant admissibles à une aide financière pour la remise en état et l'amélioration.

« Le gouvernement Harper s'est engagé à créer de nouveaux emplois, de la croissance et de la prospérité à long terme pour nos communautés, a déclaré le ministre d'État Goodyear. Le Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire stimulera l'activité économique dans les collectivités et contribuera à créer des emplois en Ontario. En améliorant la qualité de nos installations communautaires, nous contribuons aussi à bâtir des collectivités prospères pour les familles canadiennes dans les années à venir. »

FedDev Ontario administre le Fonds en Ontario et dispose d'un budget de 49,6 millions de dollars sur deux ans.

Dans le cadre du Fonds, FedDev Ontario participera à des projets à frais partagés visant à remettre en état et à améliorer les infrastructures communautaires existantes accessibles au grand public. Les administrations municipales et régionales, les gouvernements des Premières nations et les organisations à but non lucratif sont invités à présenter des projets qui peuvent prendre fin avant le 31 mars 2014.

Les bénéficiaires admissibles pourraient recevoir une contribution allant jusqu'à 1 million de dollars et doivent fournir au moins 50 pour cent des fonds provenant d'autres sources. En Ontario, la priorité pourrait être accordée aux projets qui requièrent une contribution fédérale de seulement 33,3 pour cent du total des coûts d'un projet.

Les demandes d'approbation de projet en Ontario doivent être présentées au plus tard à 17 h (HAE) le 24 août 2012. Pour obtenir des détails sur les lignes directrices du programme et des renseignements sur la façon de présenter une demande, veuillez consulter le site : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca/faic.

Ce programme national dispose d'un budget de 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans et sera administré par les organismes de développement économique de partout au pays. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
519-585-2917


Fiche d'information

Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire

Par l'entremise du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (FAIC), le gouvernement Harper s'est engagé à appuyer les communautés et à créer des emplois en effectuant des travaux de réparation et d'amélioration à des installations communautaires existantes au cours des deux prochaines années. Les travaux d'agrandissement, tels que l'ajout de rampes pour améliorer l'accessibilité à une installation, l'ajout d'un toit à une patinoire extérieure ou le prolongement d'un sentier ou d'une piste cyclable, sont admissibles. La construction d'une nouvelle infrastructure et la remise en état d'installations servant principalement à la tenue d'activités commerciales ou lucratives ne sont pas admissibles. La priorité sera accordée aux projets pouvant démontrer les avantages économiques prévus auprès de leurs collectivités et qui favoriseront les nouvelles technologies et l'innovation. Les installations doivent être accessibles au public et non limitées aux membres d'une organisation quelconque. Tous les projets doivent être terminés d'ici le 31 mars 2014.

Le Fonds est distribué par les organismes de développement régional de l'ensemble du Canada et il appuiera les projets à frais partagés. Les bénéficiaires du financement pourraient recevoir jusqu'à concurrence de 50 pour cent du total des coûts admissibles. Le gouvernement du Canada pourrait fournir jusqu'à un million de dollars par projet. Les administrations municipales et régionales, les gouvernements des Premières Nations ainsi que les organismes à but non lucratif peuvent présenter une demande.

Le Fonds a été réparti comme suit :

Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire
Organisme de développement régional Région Exercice 2012-2013 Exercice 2013-2014 Total
Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse et Île-du-Prince-Édouard 8 300 000 $ 8 300 000 $ 16 600 000 $
Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec Québec 15 600 000 $ 15 600 000 $ 31 200 000 $
Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario Ontario 24 800 000 $ 24 800 000 $ 49 600 000 $
Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord Yukon, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut 3 200 000 $ 3 200 000 $ 6 400 000 $
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan et Manitoba 23 100 000 $ 23 100 000 $ 46 200 000 $

Pour plus de renseignements sur l'attribution du Fonds dans chaque région, veuillez communiquer avec l'organisme de développement régional de celle-ci. En Ontario, veuillez consulter le site www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca/faic, envoyer un courriel à : infrastructure@feddevontario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

  • RSS
  • Partager
Date de modification :