Archived — Government of Canada Celebrates Partnerships Between Western University and Southern Ontario Businesses

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
July 13, 2012

London, Ontario – Western University has worked with 11 businesses across southern Ontario on innovative, industry-driven research projects in fields such as renewable energy production and medical-imaging technology. Susan Truppe, Member of Parliament for London North Centre and Parliamentary Secretary for Status of Women, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), congratulates the university on its partnerships with small- and medium-sized businesses.

"The Government of Canada is committed to investing in innovation to create jobs and economic growth," said MP Truppe. "I am pleased that our government has supported Western University's partnerships with 11 businesses to strengthen this region's competitiveness."

In 2010, through FedDev Ontario's Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative, Western University was approved for a contribution of up to $750,000 to partner with small- and medium-sized enterprises on activities such as applied research, engineering design, technology development, product testing, and certification.

"The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative helped kick start a number of promising products and partnerships between industry and our institutions that should sustain themselves in the coming years and give local business a competitive edge in the global economy," said Paul Paolatto, Executive Director, WORLDiscoveries®, which is the business development arm of Western University, the Robarts Research Institute and the Lawson Health Research Institute.

For more information on the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative and Western University's partners, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative – Western University

The Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative helps small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario access applied research and development and pre-commercialization expertise found in post-secondary institutions.

Since its launch in 2010, the Applied Research and Commercialization Initiative has invested more than $14.5 million in 24 colleges and universities across southern Ontario so they could work with the private sector to bring new products and innovative processes to the marketplace faster. In December 2011, FedDev Ontario announced the extension of the initiative until March 31, 2013 with additional funding to further support innovation efforts in southern Ontario.

Western University has worked with the following 11 small- and medium-sized businesses on the following projects:

Admira Distributed Hybrid Energy Systems Inc. (Mississauga)

Admira Distributed Hybrid Energy Systems Inc. (Admira DHES) is a joint venture with Bhagwati Gases Limited, India. It delivers turn-key engineering of renewable energy products, energy efficient and green building projects and chemical process plants, including industrial gas plants. The focus of this project with Western University was to develop a sustainable energy system capable of generating heat, cooling and power simultaneously. In addition to the production of renewable energy, this project helps to reduce the use of fossil fuels and the carbon footprint for Ontario, Canada and India.

Enable Imaging Technologies Inc. (London)

Enable Imaging Technologies Inc. develops low-cost add-on hardware and software to expand the capabilities of existing ultrasound machines. Its current focus is the advancement of a three-dimensional imaging platform developed by Western University to assess cardiovascular disease risk. The collaboration with Western has further transitioned the prototype to a final product, and has provided the basis for pending regulatory submissions. More information is available at www.enableimagingtech.com

Gudgeon Thermfire (London)

Gudgeon Thermfire is a manufacturer of gas-fired thermal sand reclaimers for foundry metal castings. The Institute for Chemicals and Fuels from Alternative Resources (ICFAR) at Western University teamed up with Gudgeon Thermfire to develop and manufacture a system to convert waste wood into a renewable, carbon neutral coal substitute for power generation in Ontario. More information is available at www.gudgeon.on.ca

H&C Heat Transfer Solutions Inc. (Sarnia)

H&C Heat Transfer Solutions Inc. is an engineering organization that provides heat transfer solutions to clients in the chemical, petrochemical and oil refining and gas industries for projects of all sizes. Through its partnership with Western University, H&C worked on the commercialization of a patented stationary power generation technology known as the BioGenerator. It has applications in more efficient delivery of electrical power from renewable supplies such as wind and solar, as well as large-scale power storage. As a result of the project, H&C will become a partner in a new company that will commercialize the BioGenerator for sale to power generators and local distribution companies.

Hassco Industries (London)

Hassco Industries manufactures steel tanks. The company collaborated with Western University to develop a technology to produce Silica and energy from rice straws by developing a new product line. The main challenge in the process is the chopping and feeding of wet straws to the reactor. The research partnership assisted in the pre-process development of the equipment needed for creating a full prototype of the process. The equipment has many applications beyond rice straw, as it can be used in processing various types of bio-mass materials. More information is available at www.hassco.ca

Line-X Coatings (London)

Line-X Coatings specializes in the manufacturing and application of high performance polyurethane and polyurea coatings. Polyurethane foams are very difficult to degrade or to recycle due to their manufacturing process. The goal of this project with Western University is to develop polyurethane foams that decompose when exposed to sunlight, which can be used in the packaging, insulation and industrial sectors. More information is available at www.line-x.ca

London Hydro (London)

London Hydro is the electricity utility provider for the City of London and surrounding areas. The company has been exploring ways to integrate more renewable energy sources into the grid. Solar farms are idle at night and only partially utilized during the day. The research activities with Western University have led to the development of a prototype that will be demonstrated for the first time in Canada in December 2012 at a 10-kilowatt solar farm. More information is available at www.londonhydro.com

Modus Medical Devices Inc. (London)

Modus Medical Devices Inc. develops and manufactures innovative and cost-effective quality assurance tools for advanced radiotherapy. The goal of the collaboration between Modus, Western University and the London Regional Cancer Program of the Lawson Health Research Institute was to develop educational laboratory courseware packages. Real-time acquisition, reconstruction and display of radiographs and computed tomography (CT) enable classroom demonstrations. Each lab is designed to help students understand medical imaging, both in theory and in application and are suitable for all levels of undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate programs. More information about Modus is available at www.modusmed.com. For more information about the DeskCAT™ Optical CT Scanner for Education please visit www.deskcat.com

Renix Inc. (London)

Renix Inc. is commercializing a patented new technique that allows the power of ion exchange to be used in a continuous rather than a batch process. The partnership with Western University aims to adapt the Renix ion-exchange technology to extract valuable components from agricultural feed stocks. This will help the company develop and market its technology to food processors for making value-added proteins and other extracts on a commercial scale, without the drawbacks of current techniques. More information is available at www.renix.ca

Rosstech Signals Inc. (Orillia)

Rosstech Signals Inc. develops and manufactures light-emitting diode (LED) applications and controls. The company offers in-house electronics design, computer-aided design (CAD) and software development to take projects from concept to manufacturing. The goal of this project was to build a prototype of a hybrid solar energy conversion system with multiple functions including: self-cleaning, water disinfection, water heating, and energy generation. This new hybrid solar system aims to make full use of the entire solar spectrum to produce three kilowatts of electricity and hot water for a family of four-to-six people, while avoiding the buildup of bacteria in the warm water tank. More information is available at www.rosstech.ca

Whitecrest Mushrooms (Putnam)

Whitecrest Mushrooms produces Cremini and Portobello mushrooms on a farm in Putnam, Ontario. The partnership with Western University explored the conversion of their zero value mushroom-growing medium into a valuable, carbon negative biochar. Biochar is highly porous charcoal made from biological materials. This project investigated a means to isolate carbon and could mean a new revenue stream for mushroom farmers around the world. More information is available at www.whitecrestmushrooms.com

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada célèbre les partenariats entre l'université Western et les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
13 juillet 2012

London (Ontario) – L'université Western a collaboré avec onze entreprises dans l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario à des projets de recherche novateurs dirigés par l'industrie dans des domaines comme la production d'énergie renouvelable et la technologie d'imagerie médicale. Susan Truppe, députée fédérale de London-Centre-Nord et secrétaire parlementaire pour la Condition féminine, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), félicite l'université pour ses partenariats avec des petites et moyennes entreprises.

« Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à investir dans l'innovation pour créer des emplois et de la croissance économique, a déclaré la députée Truppe. Je suis ravie que notre gouvernement ait soutenu les partenariats de l'université Western avec onze entreprises afin de renforcer la compétitivité de cette région. »

En 2010, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation de FedDev Ontario, l'université Western s'est vu octroyer une contribution maximale de 750 000 dollars afin de nouer des partenariats avec des petites et moyennes entreprises pour des activités comme la recherche appliquée, la conception technique, le développement technologique, la mise à l'essai de produits et l'homologation.

« L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation a permis de lancer un certain nombre de produits prometteurs et d'établir des partenariats intéressants entre l'industrie et nos instituts qui devraient subvenir à leurs besoins dans les années à venir et donner aux entreprises locales un avantage concurrentiel dans l'économie mondiale, a déclaré Paul Paolatto, directeur général, WORLDiscoveriesMD, qui est l'organe de développement des affaires de l'université Western, de l'Institut de recherche Robarts et de l'Institut de recherche en santé Lawson.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation et les partenaires de l'université Western, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation – l'université Western

L'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation aide les petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario à accéder à du savoir-faire que possèdent les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire dans les domaines de la recherche-développement appliquée et de la précommercialisation.

Depuis son lancement en 2010, plus de 14,5 millions de dollars ont été investis dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la recherche appliquée et la commercialisation pour soutenir 24 collèges et universités dans l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario, afin qu'ils puissent travailler avec le secteur privé en vue de mettre plus rapidement de nouveaux produits et des procédés novateurs sur le marché. En décembre 2011, FedDev Ontario a annoncé la prolongation de cette initiative jusqu'au 31 mars 2013 ainsi qu'un financement supplémentaire visant à soutenir davantage les efforts en matière d'innovation déployés dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

L'université Western a travaillé avec les onze petites et moyennes entreprises suivantes sur les projets décrits ci-dessous :

Admira Distributed Hybrid Energy Systems Inc. (Mississauga)

Admira Distributed Hybrid Energy Systems Inc. (Admira DHES) est une coentreprise avec Bhagwati Gases Limited, située en Inde. Elle fournit la conception clé en main de produits d'énergie renouvelable, de projets de bâtiments éconergétiques et écologiques et d'usines de traitement des produits chimiques, y compris des usines à gaz industrielles. Le but de ce projet mené avec l'université Western était de mettre au point un système d'énergie durable qui soit capable de générer de la chaleur, de l'air froid et de l'énergie en même temps. En plus de la production d'énergie renouvelable, ce projet contribue à réduire l'utilisation de combustibles fossiles et l'empreinte carbone en Ontario, au Canada et en Inde.

Enable Imaging Technologies Inc. (London)

Enable Imaging Technologies Inc. développe du matériel et des logiciels compagnons peu coûteux afin d'accroître les capacités des machines à ultrasons actuelles. Sa priorité actuelle est le développement d'une plateforme d'imagerie en trois dimensions mise au point par l'université Western de façon à évaluer le risque de maladies cardiovasculaires. La collaboration avec l'université Western a permis de transformer le prototype en un produit final, et a ouvert la voie pour des demandes d'homologation en attente. De plus amples renseignements figurent sur le site www.enableimagingtech.com (en anglais seulement).

Gudgeon Thermfire (London)

Gudgeon Thermfire est un fabricant de récupérateurs thermiques de sable alimentés au gaz pour les moulages des fonderies. L'Institute for Chemicals and Fuels from Alternative Resources (institut des produits chimiques et des carburants provenant de ressources de rechange) à l'université Western s'est joint à Gudgeon Thermfire afin de mettre au point et de fabriquer un système pour transformer les déchets ligneux en un substitut de charbon renouvelable et carboneutre pour la production d'énergie en Ontario. Des renseignements complémentaires se trouvent sur le site www.gudgeon.on.ca (en anglais seulement).

H&C Heat Transfer Solutions Inc. (Sarnia)

H&C Heat Transfer Solutions Inc. est un groupement d'ingénieurs qui fournit des solutions de transfert de chaleur à des clients dans les industries chimique, pétrochimique et gazière et dans l'industrie du raffinage du pétrole pour des projets de toutes les tailles. Dans le cadre de son partenariat avec l'université Western, H&C a travaillé à la commercialisation d'une technique de pointe de production d'énergie fixe brevetée, connue sous le nom de BioGenerator (biogénérateur). Cette technique de pointe a des applications dans la fourniture plus efficace d'électricité à partir de sources renouvelables comme le vent et le soleil, ainsi que dans le stockage d'énergie à grande échelle. À la suite de ce projet, H&C deviendra partenaire dans une nouvelle entreprise qui commercialisera le biogénérateur afin de le vendre à des producteurs d'énergie et à des sociétés de distribution locales.

Hassco Industries (London)

Hassco Industries fabrique des cuves en acier. L'entreprise a collaboré avec l'université Western en vue de développer une technique pour produire de la râche et de l'énergie à partir de pailles de riz en mettant au point une nouvelle gamme de produits. Le principal défi dans le procédé consiste à hacher les pailles mouillées et à les mettre dans le réacteur. Le partenariat de recherche a contribué, préalablement au procédé, à la conception de l'équipement nécessaire à la création d'un prototype complet du procédé. L'équipement a de nombreuses applications hormis les pailles de riz, puisqu'il peut être utilisé pour transformer divers types de matériaux de biomasse. De plus amples renseignements figurent sur le site www.hassco.ca (en anglais seulement).

Line-X Coatings (London)

Line-X Coatings se spécialise dans la fabrication et l'application de revêtements au polyuréthane et à la polyurée de haute performance. Les mousses de polyuréthane sont très difficiles à dégrader ou à recycler en raison de leur procédé de fabrication. L'objectif de ce projet mené avec l'université Western est de mettre au point des mousses de polyuréthane qui se décomposent lorsqu'elles sont exposées à la lumière du soleil, lesquelles peuvent être utilisées dans les secteurs de l'emballage et de l'isolation et dans le secteur industriel. Des renseignements complémentaires se trouvent sur le site www.line-x.ca.

London Hydro (London)

London Hydro est le fournisseur du service d'électricité pour la ville de London et ses environs. L'entreprise a étudié des moyens d'intégrer plus de sources d'énergie renouvelable dans le réseau. Les centrales solaires sont au ralenti la nuit et utilisées seulement en partie la journée. Les activités de recherche réalisées avec l'université Western ont conduit à la conception d'un prototype dont on fera la démonstration pour la première fois au Canada en décembre 2012 à une centrale solaire de 10 kilowatts. De plus amples renseignements figurent sur le site www.londonhydro.com (en anglais seulement).

Modus Medical Devices Inc. (London)

Modus Medical Devices Inc. met au point et fabrique des outils d'assurance de la qualité novateurs et économiques pour la radiothérapie de pointe. L'objectif de la collaboration entre Modus, l'université Western et le programme régional d'oncologie de London de l'Institut de recherche en santé Lawson était de créer des ensembles de didacticiels pour les laboratoires d'enseignement. L'acquisition, la reconstruction et l'affichage de radiographies et de tomographies par ordinateur en temps réel permettent des démonstrations en salle de classe. Chaque laboratoire est conçu pour aider les étudiants à comprendre l'imagerie médicale, à la fois en théorie et en pratique, et convient à tous les niveaux des programmes du premier cycle, des deuxième et troisième cycles, et du postdoctorat. Des renseignements complémentaires se trouvent sur le site www.modusmed.com (en anglais seulement). Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le tomodensitomètre optique DeskCATMC aux fins d'enseignement, veuillez consulter le site www.deskcat.com (en anglais seulement).

Renix Inc. (London)

Renix Inc. commercialise une nouvelle technique brevetée qui permet d'utiliser l'énergie de l'échange d'ions dans un procédé continu plutôt que dans un procédé discontinu. Le partenariat avec l'université Western vise à adapter la technologie d'échange d'ions Renix afin d'extraire des composantes utiles des matières biologiques agricoles. Cela aidera l'entreprise à mettre au point sa technique et à la vendre aux fabricants de produits alimentaires pour qu'ils fabriquent des protéines à valeur ajoutée et d'autres extraits à une échelle commerciale, sans les inconvénients des techniques actuelles. De plus amples renseignements figurent sur le site www.renix.ca (en anglais seulement).

Rosstech Signals Inc. (Orillia)

Rosstech Signals Inc. met au point et fabrique des applications et des contrôles à diode électroluminescente (DEL). L'entreprise offre des services internes de conception électronique, de conception assistée par ordinateur et de développement de logiciels en vue de faire passer les projets de l'étape de concept à celle de la fabrication. Le but de ce projet était de construire un prototype de système hybride de conversion de l'énergie solaire doté de fonctions multiples, notamment : l'autonettoyage, la désinfection de l'eau, le chauffage de l'eau et la production d'énergie. Ce nouveau système solaire hybride vise à utiliser pleinement le spectre solaire complet afin de produire trois kilowatts d'électricité et de l'eau chaude pour une famille de quatre à six personnes, tout en évitant l'accumulation de bactéries dans le chauffe-eau. Des renseignements complémentaires se trouvent sur le site www.rosstech.ca (en anglais seulement).

Whitecrest Mushrooms (Putnam)

Whitecrest Mushrooms produit des champignons crimini et portobellos dans une exploitation agricole à Putnam, en Ontario. Le partenariat avec l'université Western a étudié la conversion de son moyen de culture des champignons sans valeur en un biochar utile carboneutre. Le biochar est un charbon très poreux fait à partir de matières biologiques. Ce projet a permis de chercher un moyen d'isoler le carbone et pourrait se traduire par une nouvelle source de revenus pour les cultivateurs de champignons dans le monde entier. De plus amples renseignements figurent sur le site www.whitecrestmushrooms.com (en anglais seulement).

Date de modification :