Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Cytec Canada's Niagara Expansion

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
July 17, 2012

Minister Nicholson stands alongside dignitaries at Cytec Canada after announcing a $10 million federal investment under FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative

(l-r) Jim Diodati, Mayor of Niagara Falls; the Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., Q.C., Member of Parliament for Niagara Falls, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada; Kim Craitor, Member of Provincial Parliament for Niagara Falls; Martin Court, Vice-President of In-Process Separations for Cytec Canada; and Rene Lemay, Site Manager for Cytec Canada.
Source : FedDev Ontario

Niagara Falls, Ontario — With a $10 million investment from the Government of Canada, Cytec Canada will expand its Niagara plant to introduce new innovative products, help to grow the regional chemical sector, create jobs, and increase productivity. The Honourable Rob Nicholson, P.C., Q.C., Member of Parliament for Niagara Falls, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), made the announcement today alongside representatives of the Government of Ontario and the company.

"Our Government's top priority remains creating high-value jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Canadians," said Minister Nicholson. "Our investment is supporting the expansion of Cytec Canada to meet growing global demand for its innovative made-in-Niagara products."

FedDev Ontario's $10 million contribution, in addition to Cytec's own investment of more than $100 million, will be used to build a new chemical plant beside its existing plant in Niagara. This expansion will create 30 new jobs and help maintain 105 existing positions. Cytec is currently operating at capacity and, through support from the federal government, the company will be able to introduce new products and double its production of phosphine and phosphine derivatives. These products are used in a wide range of materials, including electronics for LEDs, mineral processing, solvent extraction and fumigation.

"This significant expansion will allow us to meet the growing needs of the global markets we service and we are very thankful to have the strong support from the Government of Canada," said Rene Lemay, Site Manager, Cytec Canada.

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

The investment announced today supports the Government of Canada's science, technology, and innovation agenda, which is focused on increasing the country's productivity, creating jobs, and growing the economy.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative, and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.feddevontario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to Cytec Canada

FedDev Ontario is providing Cytec Canada with a repayable contribution of up to $10 million through its Prosperity Initiative. Cytec has been operating a phosphine and phosphine derivatives plant in Niagara Falls for more than 40 years. As the largest of only three such plants in the world, it produces the most diverse range of phosphine-based products. These products are used as agricultural fumigants and catalysts in various chemical processes, and are used in solvent extraction, mining and microelectronics.

This investment, in addition to a contribution from the Ontario Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation, will allow Cytec to complete its expansion project. Cytec will build a new phosphine plant, which will be used for production, packaging and warehouse operations. As part of this project, research staff at the Niagara facility will also be working to bring new products to market, which will now be possible due to the plant expansion. Construction of the buildings is underway and is expected to be completed by March 31, 2014.

For more information, please visit www.cytec.com.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans l'agrandissement de Cytec Canada à Niagara

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 juillet 2012

Le ministre Nicholson pose en compagnie de dignitaires à Cytec Canada après avoir annoncé un investissement fédéral de 10 millions de dollars dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario.

(g-d) Jim Diodati, maire de Niagara Falls; l'honorable Rob Nicholson, C.P., c.r., député de Niagara Falls, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada; Kim Craitor, député provincial de Niagara Falls; Martin Court, vice-président de In-Process Separations pour Cytec Canada; René Lemay, directeur de site pour Cytec Canada.
Source : FedDev Ontario

Niagara Falls (Ontario) – À la suite d'un investissement de 10 millions de dollars du gouvernement du Canada, Cytec Canada agrandira son usine de Niagara afin d'introduire de nouveaux produits novateurs, de contribuer à la croissance du secteur chimique de la région, de créer des emplois et d'augmenter la productivité. L'honorable Rob Nicholson, C.P., c.r., député fédéral de Niagara Falls, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui en compagnie de représentants du gouvernement de l'Ontario et de l'entreprise.

« La création d'emplois de haute qualité, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme des Canadiens constituent toujours la priorité absolue de notre gouvernement, a déclaré le ministre Nicholson. Notre investissement soutient l'agrandissement de Cytec Canada, qui sera bientôt en mesure de répondre à la demande mondiale croissante à l'aide de ses produits novateurs fabriqués à Niagara. »

La contribution de 10 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, qui s'ajoute à un investissement de plus de 100 millions de dollars réalisé par Cytec, servira à construire une nouvelle usine chimique à côté de son usine existante à Niagara. On s'attend à ce que cet investissement conduise à la création de 30 emplois et au maintien de 105 autres emplois à Niagara. Cytec fonctionne actuellement à plein rendement, et, à l'aide du soutien du gouvernement fédéral, l'entreprise sera en mesure d'introduire de nouveaux produits et de doubler sa production de phosphine et de dérivés de phosphine. Ces produits sont utilisés dans une large gamme de matériaux, y compris les DEL dans l'électronique ainsi que les matériaux destinés à la minéralurgie, à l'extraction au solvant et à la fumigation.

« Cet important agrandissement nous permettra de répondre aux besoins croissants des marchés mondiaux que nous desservons, et nous sommes très reconnaissants du grand soutien du gouvernement du Canada », a affirmé René Lemay, directeur de site chez Cytec Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce projet et sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

L'investissement annoncé aujourd'hui soutient le programme des sciences, de la technologie et de l'innovation du gouvernement du Canada, qui est axé sur l'augmentation de la productivité, la création d'emplois et la croissance économique du pays.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.feddevontario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Cytec Canada

FedDev Ontario octroie à l'entreprise Cytec Canada une contribution remboursable pouvant aller jusqu'à 10 millions de dollars par l'entremise de l'Initiative pour la prospérité. Cytec exploite une usine de production de phosphine et de dérivés de phosphine à Niagara Falls depuis plus de 40 ans. Étant la plus grande des trois seules usines de ce genre dans le monde, elle produit la gamme la plus variée de produits à base de phosphine. Ces produits sont utilisés comme fumigants agricoles et catalyseurs dans divers processus chimiques et sont employés dans le cadre de l'extraction au solvant, de l'exploitation minière et de la microélectronique.

Cet investissement, ainsi qu'une contribution du ministère ontarien du Développement économique et de l'Innovation, permettra à Cytec d'achever son projet d'agrandissement. Cytec construira une nouvelle usine de production de phosphine, qui sera destinée aux opérations de production, d'emballage et d'entreposage. Dans le cadre de ce projet, le personnel de recherche de l'installation de Niagara s'emploiera également à mettre de nouveaux produits sur le marché, ce qui sera dorénavant possible en raison de l'agrandissement de l'usine. La construction des édifices est en cours et devrait être achevée d'ici le 31 mars 2014.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site www.cytec.com (en anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorer la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouveaux procédés, de nouvelles technologies et compétences qui améliorent les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario, et ce, dans le but d'augmenter leur productivité par rapport à leurs investissements;
  • favoriser la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettre en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario en créant ou en élargissant les regroupements économiques et en accroissant leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus et pour soumettre une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.feddevontario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :