Archived — Government of Canada Supports Business Growth in Barrie

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 17, 2012

Barrie, Ontario — A new investment from the Government of Canada will allow Southmedic Inc. to automate key aspects of its medical device production, and will create 18 new jobs in the Barrie area. Patrick Brown, Member of Parliament for Barrie, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), announced the investment today alongside representatives of the company.

"Our Government's top priority is jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for all Canadians," said MP Brown. "Investments such as this one demonstrate our Government's commitment to helping businesses in southern Ontario become more innovative, productive and competitive in the global market."

This $900,000 investment is being provided through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, which aims to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Southmedic will use the investment to automate the assembly process of its patented OxyMask. This automation will allow Southmedic to integrate into its Barrie facilities various finishing processes (such as painting) that are currently being outsourced, while more than doubling the production capacity of the mask. The company will also be able to centralize scalpel blade manufacturing processes. These enhancements will allow Southmedic to better meet the needs of export customers and supply chain demands, and to stay globally competitive in the medical device field.

"We have already begun to put FedDev Ontario's investment to work by automating our OxyMask line, functioning in our plant today with extremely encouraging results," said Lee McDonald, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Southmedic Inc. "In addition, we're looking forward to this investment helping us implement equipment—currently on order—which will further augment automation, while replacing blades purchased elsewhere with manufacturing here in Barrie."

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to Southmedic Inc.

FedDev Ontario is providing Southmedic Inc. with a repayable contribution of up to $900,000 through its Prosperity Initiative. Established in 1983, Southmedic Inc. is a manufacturer and distributor of custom and proprietary medical devices. Located in Barrie, the company produces a range of devices such as oxygen masks and scalpels, and owns over 50 patents worldwide.

This contribution will allow Southmedic Inc. to adopt new technology that will automate its oxygen mask assembly process. This will allow Southmedic to introduce long-term efficiencies in the production method, and increase manufacturing capacity by 2.75 million units annually. The company will be able to centralize scalpel blade manufacturing processes as well.

As a result, Southmedic anticipates creating 18 new jobs, meeting the current and anticipated needs of their customers and improveing supply chain efficiency, increasing productivity and building a competitive advantage for southern Ontario's medical device manufacturing cluster in global markets.

For more information, please visit www.southmedic.com.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

  • Share
Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient la croissance d'une entreprise à Barrie

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 août 2012

Barrie (Ontario) – Grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada, Southmedic Inc. pourra automatiser certaines étapes importantes de sa production d'instruments médicaux, et elle créera 18 nouveaux emplois dans la région de Barrie. Patrick Brown, député fédéral de Barrie, en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui, en compagnie de représentants de l'entreprise, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« La création d'emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes sont la première priorité de notre gouvernement, a déclaré M. Brown. Les investissements comme celui-ci démontrent notre engagement à aider les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario à devenir plus innovatrices, productives et concurrentielles sur le marché mondial. »

Cet investissement de 900 000 dollars est réalisé dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario. Cette initiative vise à inciter les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus concurrentielle dans la région.

Southmedic Inc. utilisera cet investissement pour automatiser le processus d'assemblage de son produit breveté OxyMask. Cette automatisation permettra à Southmedic d'intégrer dans ses installations de Barrie plusieurs processus de finition (comme le peinturage) qui sont actuellement réalisés à l'extérieur, en plus de doubler la capacité de production pour le masque. L'entreprise pourra également centraliser le processus de fabrication de la lame du scalpel. Ces améliorations permettront à Southmedic Inc. de mieux satisfaire aux besoins des clients exportateurs et aux demandes de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, tout en demeurant concurrentielle dans le secteur mondial des instruments médicaux.

« Nous avons déjà commencé à utiliser l'investissement de FedDev Ontario pour automatiser notre chaîne de production de l'OxyMask dans nos installations. La chaîne est aujourd'hui opérationnelle et les résultats sont encourageants, a déclaré Lee McDonald, fondateur et président-directeur général de Southmedic Inc. De plus, nous utiliserons cet investissement pour installer le matériel que nous avons commandé afin d'accroître davantage l'automatisation, dans le but de remplacer l'achat de lames à l'extérieur par sa fabrication ici à Barrie. »

Pour plus de renseignements sur ce projet et sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Southmedic Inc.

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) verse à Southmedic Inc. une contribution remboursable pouvant aller jusqu'à 900 000 dollars dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité. Fondée en 1983, Southmedic Inc. est une entreprise de fabrication et de distribution d'instruments médicaux sur mesure et exclusifs. Située à Barrie, l'entreprise fabrique une gamme complète d'instruments médicaux, tels que des masques à oxygène et des scalpels, et possède plus de 50 brevets partout dans le monde. 

Cette contribution permettra à Southmedic Inc. d'adopter une nouvelle technique afin d'automatiser sa chaîne d'assemblage des masques à oxygène et de réaliser des économies à long terme quant à la méthode de production et d'accroître sa capacité de production de 2,75 millions d'unités par année. L'entreprise pourra aussi centraliser le processus de fabrication de la lame du scalpel.

En raison de cette contribution, Southmedic Inc. s'attend à créer 18 nouveaux emplois, à satisfaire aux besoins actuels et éventuels de ses clients, à améliorer l'efficacité de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, à accroître sa productivité et à créer un avantage concurrentiel sur les marchés internationaux pour la grappe oeuvrant à la fabrication d'instruments médicaux dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site : www.southmedic.com (en anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouveaux procédés, de nouvelles technologies et compétences qui améliorent à leur tour les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario en augmentant la productivité en lien avec leurs investissements;
  • favorisent la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario en s'appuyant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou élargir les regroupements économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus et pour présenter une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

  • Partager
Date de modification :