Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Innovative Technologies for Alzheimer’s Care

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 23, 2012

Toronto, Ontario — The Government of Canada is investing nearly $5.4 million to bring southern Ontario businesses, researchers and not-for-profit organizations together to work on developing new technologies for Alzheimer's care. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), accompanied by Mark Adler, Member of Parliament for York Centre, made the announcement today at the new B'nai Brith Alzheimer's Home.

"The Harper Government is committed to finding solutions in partnership with southern Ontario's businesses to improve the treatment and care of Alzheimer's patients," said Minister Goodyear. "Our Government is taking action to turn the tide on Alzheimer's disease, recognizing its growing social and economic cost on families in Canada and around the world."

"Our Government is proud to support the Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care," said MP Adler. "Today's announcement demonstrates our Government's commitment to unleashing the potential of Canadian innovation to help Alzheimer's patients and their caregivers."

FedDev Ontario's $5.4 million contribution through the Prosperity Initiative will allow B'nai Brith to create an innovation laboratory to develop and test new technologies, products and services related to Alzheimer's disease, in partnership with the Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation.

Participating companies, specializing in healthcare and information communication technologies, will be working with the Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care to bring their innovative solutions to market, including medical devices, diagnostic tests and a variety of technologies used to monitor and treat patients. These collaborations are designed to bring advanced Alzheimer's care solutions to world markets as well as increase the concentration of companies devoted to Alzheimer's disease and dementia care in the region, helping businesses in southern Ontario compete internationally.

"Since 1875, B'nai Brith Canada has remained at the forefront of Canadian life, serving all communities and providing cutting-edge care for those most in need. The grassroots Jewish organization has taken upon itself the mission of enhancing our communities, from youth programming to seniors care, human rights advocacy to community outreach," said Eric Bissell, National President, B'nai Brith Canada. "Continuing in this rich tradition, B'nai Brith is pleased to be partners with FedDev Ontario and the Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation in the creation of B'nai Brith's Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care, a world-class, state-of-the-art facility for those suffering from Alzheimer's disease."

"The Centre for Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care will partner with the non-profit and health sectors, government, industry and academia in their shared commitment to economic growth and development with the goal of improving patient care," said Dr. Anne Snowdon, Chair, International Centre for Health Innovation. "Through our expertise, the Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation will support the assessment and commercialization of new technologies and devices that will strengthen Alzheimer's care. We are pleased to be a part of today's announcement and congratulate FedDev Ontario and B'nai Brith on their leadership."

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to B'nai Brith

FedDev Ontario is providing B'nai Brith with a non-repayable contribution of up to $5,368,882 through its Prosperity Initiative. This contribution will allow B'nai Brith to create the Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care.

The Centre will be housed within the new B'nai Brith Alzheimer's Home, and will be managed in partnership with the Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation of the Richard Ivey School of Business at Western University.

FedDev Ontario's investment will be used to complete construction of the Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care and hire eight dedicated employees, who will lead collaborations among industry, research and not-for-profit partners. Within the Centre, partners will develop, test and commercialize new Alzheimer's technologies, products, and care approaches, with the ultimate goal of reaching international markets.

The following are examples of the technologies that will be evaluated in the Centre:

  • a technology that helps people stay digitally connected to their loved ones to reduce social isolation and provides support to enhance the health and safety of patients;
  • a technology that uses sensors on a bed frame to detect patient movement, heart rate and breathing, which automatically notifies care providers when to attend to the patient; and
  • a wireless medical device that automatically senses the use of hand washing devices to ensure proper infection control.

For more information, please visit www.bnaibrith.ca.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans des technologies innovatrices pour traiter la maladie d'Alzheimer

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 août 2012

Toronto (Ontario) – Le gouvernement du Canada investit près de 5,4 millions de dollars pour inciter des entreprises, des chercheurs et des organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario à travailler ensemble afin de développer de nouvelles technologies pour traiter l'Alzheimer, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en compagnie de Mark Adler, député fédéral de York-Centre, à la nouvelle B'nai Brith Alzheimer's Home.

« Le gouvernement Harper s'est engagé à trouver des solutions en partenariat avec les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario pour améliorer le traitement et les soins des patients atteints d'Alzheimer, a affirmé le ministre Goodyear. Notre gouvernement agit pour opérer un tournant dans le combat contre la maladie d'Alzheimer, et il prend en compte les coûts sociaux et économiques croissants de la maladie pour les familles canadiennes et à travers le monde. »

« Ce gouvernement est fier d'appuyer le Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care, a affirmé le député Adler. L'annonce d'aujourd'hui montre bien l'engagement de notre gouvernement à favoriser le potentiel canadien dans le domaine de l'innovation pour aider les patients atteints d'Alzheimer et leurs aidants. »

La contribution de 5,4 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, versée dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, permettra à B'nai Brith de créer un laboratoire de recherche afin de développer et de tester de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux produits et services liés à la maladie d'Alzheimer, en partenariat avec le Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation.

Les entreprises participantes, spécialisées dans les technologies de la santé, de l'information et des communications, travailleront avec le Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care pour commercialiser leurs solutions novatrices, notamment des appareils médicaux, des tests de diagnostic et diverses technologies servant à surveiller et à traiter les patients. Ces collaborations visent à mettre en marché, à l'échelle internationale, des méthodes de traitement avancées contre la maladie d'Alzheimer et à accroître le nombre d'entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario qui se consacrent à cette maladie et au problème de la démence, pour qu'elles puissent ainsi se tailler une place sur les marchés internationaux.

« Depuis 1875, B'nai Brith Canada joue un rôle d'avant plan au sein de la société canadienne, en étant au service de toutes les collectivités et en offrant des soins de pointe pour ceux qui en ont le plus besoin. Cette organisation communautaire juive s'est donnée pour mission d'améliorer la qualité de vie dans nos collectivités grâce, notamment, à des programmes pour les jeunes et des soins aux aînés, à la défense des droits de la personne et à des activités d'approche communautaire, a expliqué Eric Bissell, président national de B'nai Brith Canada. Toujours dans l'esprit de cette riche tradition, B'nai Brith est fière de collaborer avec FedDev Ontario et le Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation pour créer le Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care, un centre de recherche de pointe de calibre mondial voué au traitement de ceux et celles qui souffrent de la maladie d'Alzheimer. »

« Le Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care formera des partenariats avec des organismes à but non lucratif et du secteur de la santé, le gouvernement, l'industrie et les universités et partagera leur engagement commun à l'égard de la croissance économique et du développement, dans le but d'améliorer les soins aux patients, a affirmé la Dre Anne Snowdon, présidente du International Centre for Health Innovation. Grâce à notre expertise, le Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation appuiera l'évaluation et la commercialisation de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux appareils qui contribueront à améliorer le traitement de l'Alzheimer. Nous sommes fiers d'être partie prenante dans l'annonce d'aujourd'hui et félicitons FedDev Ontario et B'nai Brith pour leur leadership dans ce dossier. »

Pour plus de renseignements sur ce projet et sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution à B'nai Brith

FedDev Ontario verse à B'nai Brith une contribution non remboursable de 5 368 882 dollars dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité. Cette contribution permettra à B'nai Brith de créer le Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care.

Le centre sera installé dans la nouvelle B'nai Brith Alzheimer's Home et sera administré en partenariat avec le Ivey International Centre for Health Innovation de la Richard Ivey School of Business de l'université Western.

L'investissement de FedDev Ontario servira à terminer les travaux de construction du Centre of Innovation Excellence for Alzheimer's Care et à engager huit employés qui seront chargés d'orchestrer les collaborations avec l'industrie, les chercheurs et les organismes à but non lucratif. Au centre même, les partenaires développeront, testeront et commercialiseront des technologies, des produits et des traitements visant à lutter contre cette maladie, dans le but de les vendre sur les marchés internationaux.

Voici des exemples de technologies qui seront évaluées au centre :

  • une technologie qui aide les patients à demeurer en contact avec leurs proches par voie électronique afin d'atténuer le sentiment d'isolement et d'améliorer leur santé et leur sécurité;
  • une technologie faisant appel à des capteurs fixés au cadre du lit qui permet de détecter les mouvements des patients, leur rythme cardiaque et leur respiration; les soignants sont donc automatiquement informés de l'état du patient et peuvent intervenir en conséquence;
  • un appareil médical sans fil qui détecte automatiquement l'utilisation des dispositifs de lavage des mains, pour ainsi garantir un contrôle adéquat des infections.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez visiter www.bnaibrith.ca (en anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouveaux procédés, de nouvelles technologies et compétences qui améliorent à leur tour les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario en augmentant la productivité en lien avec leurs investissements;
  • favorisent la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario en s'appuyant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou élargir les regroupements économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes seront acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus et pour soumettre une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :