Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Innovation for Bio-Pharmaceutical Sector

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 30, 2012

Burlington, Ontario — The Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Labour and Member of Parliament for Halton, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced an investment of up to $990,000 that will allow Natrix Separations to develop and bring to market innovative products for use in the development and manufacturing of biopharmaceuticals and vaccines.

"Our Government is investing in the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario to create jobs, growth and long-term prosperity," said Minister Raitt. "Businesses face many challenges getting access to capital. Through the Investing in Business Innovation initiative, we are helping companies like Natrix Separations develop new ideas and take their innovations to market, so people in southern Ontario and around the world can benefit."

The funding is being provided through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative. The funding will allow Natrix to leverage more than $4 million in additional private sector investments from Canadian and International venture capital investors. This will result in the creation of ten high-quality jobs in the life sciences sectors in southern Ontario over the next two years.

Natrix Separations produces chromatographic products for purification processes using a patented technology. Chromatography is the term used to describe techniques for the separation of target molecules from contaminants. This funding will help Natrix design a prototype and develop single-use membrane-based chromatography products for large-scale biopharmaceutical manufacturing.

The new chromatography techniques and products being developed by Natrix under this project will improve the manufacturing process for biopharmaceuticals, helping to reduce processing costs and increase productivity for the bio-pharmaceutical industry.

Natrix President & CEO John Chickosky commented, "Natrix is extremely grateful for the support of Minister Raitt and FedDev Ontario. Our team has made exceptional progress in the past year, and the leaders of the global biopharmaceutical industry are enthusiastic about the promise of Natrix's proprietary technologies. This investment will play a critical role in accelerating the commercialization of these products."

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to Natrix Separations Inc.

Natrix Separations Inc. was founded in 2004 by scientists from McMaster University. In 2011, a team of bio-process industry leaders joined the company and are now leading the commercialization of its proprietary chromatography technology for the capture and purification of biotherapeutics. Natrix is located in an ISO 9001 manufacturing facility in Burlington, Ont.

FedDev Ontario is providing Natrix Separations with a repayable contribution of up to $990,000 to develop a suite of high performance, single-use and multi-cycle disposable chromatographic products. FedDev's investment leverages an additional $4 million Canadian and international venture capital investments from GrowthWorks, BDC Venture Capital, DE Shaw, and the Ontario Emerging Technologies Fund. The innovation is expected to deliver significant improvements in the production process of biopharmaceutical products, thereby reducing costs and improving productivity. This investment is also expected to lead to ten high-quality jobs in the life sciences sectors in southern Ontario over the next two years

Investing in Business Innovation

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. The Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario. The investor community includes accredited angel investors from recognized angel investor networks in southern Ontario registered with the National Angel Organization – Ontario and venture capital providers who are member of Canada's Venture Capital & Private Equity Association.

Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit pour soutenir l'innovation dans le secteur biopharmaceutique

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 30 août 2012

Burlington (Ontario) – L'honorable Lisa Raitt, ministre du Travail et députée fédérale de Halton, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement d'une valeur maximale de 990 000 dollars qui permettra à Natrix Separations de concevoir et de commercialiser des produits novateurs en vue de leur utilisation dans la mise au point et la fabrication de produits biopharmaceutiques et de vaccins.

« Notre gouvernement investit dans les gens, les entreprises et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario afin de stimuler l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, a déclaré la ministre Raitt. Les entreprises rencontrent de nombreuses difficultés pour accéder à du capital. Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, nous aidons des entreprises comme Natrix Separations à développer de nouvelles idées et à commercialiser leurs innovations, de façon que les gens dans le Sud de l'Ontario et dans le monde entier puissent en profiter. »

Le financement est alloué dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario. Les fonds permettront à Natrix d'obtenir des investissements supplémentaires de plus de 4 millions de dollars auprès du secteur privé de la part de sociétés de capital de risque canadiennes et internationales. Ce projet se traduira par la création de dix emplois de grande qualité dans le secteur des sciences de la vie dans le Sud de l'Ontario au cours des deux prochaines années.

Natrix Separations fabrique des produits chromatographiques pour des procédés de purification au moyen d'une technologie brevetée. La chromatographie est le terme utilisé pour décrire les techniques permettant la séparation des molécules cibles des contaminants. Ce financement aidera Natrix à concevoir un prototype et à mettre au point des produits chromatographiques sur membrane à usage unique pour la fabrication biopharmaceutique à grande échelle.

Les nouveaux produits et techniques de chromatographie élaborés par Natrix dans le cadre de ce projet permettront d'améliorer le procédé de fabrication des produits biopharmaceutiques, ce qui contribuera à réduire les coûts de transformation et à accroître la productivité de l'industrie biopharmaceutique.

« Les représentants de Natrix remercient vivement la ministre Raitt et FedDev Ontario pour leur soutien, a déclaré le président-directeur général de Natrix, John Chickosky. Notre équipe a accompli des progrès incroyables au cours de la dernière année, et les chefs de file de l'industrie mondiale de la biopharmaceutique sont enthousiasmés par la promesse des techniques brevetées de Natrix. Cet investissement jouera un rôle essentiel en vue d'accélérer la commercialisation de ces produits. »

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution versée à Natrix Separations Inc.

Des scientifiques de la McMaster University ont fondé l'entreprise Natrix Separations Inc. en 2004. Une équipe de chefs de file de l'industrie de la biotransformation s'est jointe à l'entreprise en 2011 et dirige désormais la commercialisation de sa technologie brevetée de chromatographie pour la capture et la purification de produits biothérapeutiques. Natrix est située dans une installation de fabrication ISO 9001 à Burlington, en Ontario.

FedDev Ontario accorde à Natrix Separations une contribution remboursable maximale de 990 000 dollars pour mettre au point un ensemble de produits chromatographiques jetables à usage unique ou multiple de haute performance. L'investissement de FedDev Ontario a permis d'obtenir des investissements supplémentaires de 4 millions de dollars sous forme de capital de risque provenant de sources canadiennes et étrangères, comme GrowthWorks, Capital de risque BDC, DE Shaw et le Fonds ontarien de développement des technologies émergentes. L'innovation générée devrait permettre d'améliorer considérablement le procédé de fabrication des produits biopharmaceutiques, ce qui devrait permettre de réduire les coûts et d'accroître la productivité. Cet investissement devrait également créer dix emplois de grande qualité dans le secteur des sciences de la vie dans le Sud de l'Ontario au cours des deux prochaines années.

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario vise à intensifier les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage dans le but d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux procédés et de nouvelles pratiques, et de les mettre en marché. Le gouvernement du Canada favorise la création d'un portefeuille d'entreprises en démarrage qui sont reconnues par le milieu des investisseurs comme ayant le potentiel d'une croissance élevée et pouvant générer des avantages économiques nets à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le milieu des investisseurs compte des investisseurs providentiels accrédités membres de réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario reconnus et inscrits auprès de la National Angel Organization – Ontario, et des sociétés de capital de risque membres de l'Association canadienne du capital de risque et d'investissement.

Le financement lié à cette initiative offre également un appui aux réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations dans le but d'attirer de nouveaux investissements et de soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissements providentiels.

Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus ou pour présenter une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme qui sont affichées sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :