Harper Government Takes Action to Improve Health Care Solutions for Canadians and Their Families

For immediate release
September 12, 2012

Toronto, Ontario — An investment by the Harper Government in innovative software will help Canadians, their families and their medical teams gain quick access to all their health records using cloud-based tools. The Connected Health and Wellness Project, announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) and Mark Adler, Member of Parliament for York Centre, is a collaborative project led by a partnership of York University, NexJ Systems and McMaster University.

"Our Government is committed to helping personalize health care for Canadians," said Minister Goodyear. "Our investment will bring integrated health and wellness solutions to market that will provide Canadians with new solutions to better manage their own health using innovative technology developed in our region."

The Connected Health and Wellness Project is a technology platform containing an integrated suite of compatible technologies and apps designed to improve the health of Canadians. This project will allow patients to access and share their health records with their family, friends and care teams, including a health coach, to collaboratively manage their health and wellness. This technology will also allow hospitals, physicians and other healthcare professionals to access and update this information on an ongoing basis.

For example, patients with diabetes will be able to track their biometric measurements, such as meals and exercise, using smartphones and share this information easily with their medical teams.

"Our Government is proud to support industry-research partnerships in southern Ontario that will strengthen the Canadian health system," said MP Adler. "This project will benefit Canadians by improving patient treatment through personalized health services and more efficient use of medical resources."

FedDev Ontario's contribution of up to $15,549,290 through the Technology Development Program will enable the Connected Health and Wellness Project to bring together 16 private sector, academic and not-for-profit partners. In addition to federal funding, this project has leveraged more than $23 million in private-sector investments.

This investment is creating the conditions to make southern Ontario's businesses and not-for-profit institutions global leaders in the development and delivery of integrated electronic healthcare software. It is also positioning the region as a leader in advancing health coaching, which is intended to help Canada and other countries around the world find new ways to decrease healthcare costs.

"York University is proud to partner with the Government of Canada, industry, academic and healthcare providers to deliver a new people-centred, technology-enabled health and wellness model," says Mamdouh Shoukri, president and vice-chancellor of York University. "York's creation of a training program and professional standards for the new health coach profession is a first in Canada to combine multiple skill sets in health promotion, disease prevention and behaviour change that highlight York's breadth and depth in health expertise."

For more information on this project or the Technology Development Program, please refer to the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to the Connected Health and Wellness Project

FedDev Ontario is providing a non-repayable contribution of up to $15,549,290 to the Connected Health and Wellness Project through its Technology Development Program.

This project will focus on building a network through which health and wellness tools and services will be delivered using a cloud-based software platform. The final product, an integrated suite of electronic healthcare software, will offer users an all-in-one health and wellness management solution that will provide patients with a consolidated view of their electronic medical records and personal health records from various healthcare providers.

This project has two main goals: to create the software applications to support integrated online health tools and to build an educational platform for healthcare professionals that will form the foundation for new standards in health coaching. This is an emerging profession that integrates the use of online tools with the practice of health promotion, behaviour change, disease prevention, and chronic disease management.

This investment will accelerate the development and commercialization of technologies being developed under the Connected Health and Wellness Project, which are currently anticipated to reach market in about two years. The project is expected to benefit Canada's healthcare system by improving patient outcomes through personalized health services and more efficient use of medical resources. It is also expected to lead to economic growth in the healthcare and information and communication technology sectors in southern Ontario and across the globe.

The Connected Health and Wellness Project is being led by the following three main partners:

  • York University, a leader in sustained health behaviour change, is leading a new training program and professional standard for the emerging health coach profession.
  • NexJ Systems, with expertise in enterprise software and people-centered health solutions, is providing its NexJ Connected Wellness Platform cloud-based software to the project.
  • McMaster University, renowned for research intensity innovation, has developed and is the lead organization for OSCAR, an electronic health record, and MyOSCAR, a personal health record managed by the patient. These technologies will be further developed through the project and will be core components of the new people-centred, technology-enabled health and wellness system.

The following is the complete list of partners in this project:

Private sector partners
Post-secondary institute partners
Not-for-profit research partners
  • NexJ Systems Inc.
  • OSCARService Inc.
  • PryLynx Corporation
  • Rogers Health Care
  • Research In Motion
  • Trivaris
  • Tyze Personal Networks
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (an affiliate of Harvard Medical School)
  • York University
  • McMaster University
  • Centennial College
  • George Brown College
  • Seneca College
  • Centre for Global eHealth Innovation (University Health Network)
  • North York General Hospital
  • Southlake Regional Health Centre

For more details on the project and its partners, please visit: www.chwp.org.

Technology Development Program

The Technology Development Program is designed to strengthen southern Ontario's economy by providing financial support to accelerate bringing innovative and transformative technologies to the global market.

Through the program, FedDev Ontario is investing in projects that will significantly contribute to the development of globally-competitive, market-ready technologies with the potential to develop new business opportunities or benefits for an industry, sector or region in southern Ontario.

The Technology Development Program encourages the private and public sectors to collaborate on innovative, breakthrough technologies that are one to seven years from market.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper prend des mesures pour améliorer les solutions en matière de soins de santé pour les canadiens et leurs familles

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 12 septembre 2012

Toronto (Ontario) – Un investissement du gouvernement Harper dans un logiciel novateur aidera les Canadiens, leurs familles et leurs équipes médicales a gagner un accès rapide à tous leurs dossiers de santé grâce à l'utilisation d'outils nuagiques. Le projet Connected Health and Wellness, annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et M. Mark Adler, député fédéral de York-Centre, est un projet concerté mené par un partenariat entre la York University, NexJ Systems et la McMaster University.

« Notre gouvernement œuvre à favoriser la personnalisation des soins de santé des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre investissement permettra d'offrir sur le marché des solutions intégrées liées à la santé et au mieux-être qui vont fournir aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes de nouvelles solutions pour mieux gérer leur propre santé en utilisant une technologie innovatrice élaborée dans notre région. »

Le projet Connected Health and Wellness est une plate-forme technologique composée d'une suite intégrée de technologies et d'applications compatibles conçues pour améliorer la santé des Canadiens et des Canadiennes. Ce projet permettra aux patients d'avoir accès à leurs dossiers médicaux et de les communiquer aux membres de leur famille, à leurs amis et à leurs équipes de soins, y compris leur entraîneur en matière de santé, en vue de gérer en collaboration leur santé et leur mieux-être. Cette technologie permettra également aux hôpitaux, aux médecins et autres professionnels de la santé d'avoir accès de façon continue à ces renseignements et de les mettre à jour.

Par exemple, les patients souffrant de diabète pourront faire le suivi de leurs mesures biométriques, tel que leurs repas et leurs exercices, à l'aide de téléphones intelligents, et partager ces informations facilement avec leur équipe médicale.

« Notre gouvernement est fier d'appuyer des partenariats entre l'industrie et la recherche dans le Sud de l'Ontario qui vont renforcer le système de soins de santé canadien, a déclaré le député Adler. Ce projet va profiter aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes en améliorant le traitement des patients à travers des services de soins de santé personnalisés et une utilisation plus efficiente des ressources médicales. »

La contribution de FedDev Ontario d'un montant jusqu'à concurrence de 15 549 290 dollars dans le cadre du Programme de développement de la technologie permettra au projet Connected Health and Wellness de regrouper 16 partenaires issus du secteur privé, du milieu universitaire et d'organisations à but non lucratif. En plus du financement fédéral, le secteur privé a injecté plus de 23 millions de dollars dans ce projet.

Cet investissement crée des conditions qui permettent à des entreprises et à des institutions à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario de devenir des chefs de file mondiaux en ce qui a trait au développement et à la prestation de logiciel intégré de soins de santé électroniques. Il permet également de positionner la région à titre de chef de file dans le domaine de la promotion de l'encadrement en santé en vue d'aider le Canada et d'autres pays à trouver de nouvelles façons de réduire les coûts liés aux soins de santé.

« La York University est fière de s'associer au gouvernement du Canada, à l'industrie, au milieu universitaire et aux fournisseurs de soins de santé en vue d'offrir un nouveau modèle en santé et en mieux-être axé sur les personnes et assisté par la technologie, a déclaré Mamdouh Shoukri, président et recteur de la York University. L'établissement par York d'un programme de formation et de normes professionnelles relativement à la nouvelle profession d'encadrement en santé, le premier du genre au Canada, regroupe plusieurs ensembles de compétences dans le cadre de la promotion de la santé, de la prévention des maladies et du changement de comportement qui soulignent l'ampleur et l'étendue de l'expertise de la York University en matière de santé. »

Pour en savoir plus sur ce projet et sur le Programme de développement de la technologie, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence du marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution au projet Connected Health and Wellness

FedDev Ontario investit jusqu'à concurrence de 15 549 290 dollars en contributions non remboursables dans le projet Connected Health and Wellness dans le cadre de son Programme de développement de la technologie.

Ce projet visera principalement à établir un réseau dans le cadre duquel les outils et les services de santé et de mieux-être seront offerts à l'aide d'une plate-forme en nuage. Le produit final, une suite logicielle intégrée de soins de santé électroniques, offrira aux utilisateurs une solution tout-en-un de gestion de la santé et du mieux-être qui offrira aux patients une vue d'ensemble de leurs dossiers médicaux électroniques et personnels provenant de divers fournisseurs de soins de santé.

Ce projet comporte deux principaux objectifs, dont celui de créer des applications logicielles intégrées en vue de prendre en charge les outils de santé en ligne et celui d'établir une base pédagogique à l'intention des professionnels de la santé qui constituera le fondement des nouvelles normes d'encadrement dans le domaine de la santé. Il s'agit d'une nouvelle profession qui intègre l'utilisation d'outils en ligne à la mise en pratique de la promotion de la santé, du changement de comportement, de la prévention des maladies et de la gestion des maladies chroniques.

Cet investissement permettra d'accélérer la mise au point et la commercialisation de technologies conçues dans le cadre du projet Connected Health and Wellness, dont la mise en marché est actuellement prévue dans deux ans. On s'attend à ce que le projet profite au système de soins de santé canadien en permettant d'améliorer les résultats des patients à l'aide de services de santé personnalisés et d'une utilisation plus efficace des ressources médicales. On s'attend également à ce qu'il favorise la croissance économique dans les secteurs des soins de santé et de la technologie de l'information et des communications dans le Sud de l'Ontario et partout dans le monde.

Le projet Connected Health and Wellness est mené par les trois principaux partenaires suivants :

  • La York University, chef de file en ce qui concerne le changement continu des comportements liés à la santé, mène un nouveau programme de formation et applique une nouvelle norme professionnelle aux fins de la nouvelle profession d'encadrement dans le domaine de la santé.
  • La NexJ Systems, ayant une expertise relative aux logiciels commerciaux et aux solutions en santé axées sur les personnes, offre l'application de son logiciel en nuage NexJ Connected Wellness Platform aux fins du projet.
  • La McMaster University, reconnue pour l'innovation relative à l'intensité des activités de recherche, a mis au point OSCAR, un dossier médical électronique dont elle est responsable, ainsi que MyOscar, un dossier médical personnel géré par le patient. Ces technologies seront développées davantage dans le cadre du projet et constitueront des composants principaux du nouveau système de santé et de mieux être axé sur les personnes et assisté par la technologie.

Voici la liste complète des partenaires à ce projet :

Partenaires du secteur privé
Partenaires qui sont des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire
Partenaires de recherche à but non lucratif
  • NexJ Systems Inc.
  • OSCARService Inc.
  • PryLynx Corporation
  • Rogers GroupeSanté
  • Research In Motion
  • Trivaris
  • Tyze Personal Networks
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (une affiliée de la Harvard Medical School)
  • York University
  • McMaster University
  • Centennial College
  • George Brown College
  • Seneca College
  • Centre for Global eHealth Innovation (University Health Network)
  • North York General Hospital
  • Southlake Regional Health Centre

Pour en savoir plus sur le projet et ses partenaires, veuillez consulter le site Web suivant : www.chwp.org.

Programme de développement de la technologie

Le Programme de développement de la technologie vise à renforcer l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en offrant un soutien financier afin de mettre plus rapidement des technologies innovatrices et évolutives sur le marché mondial.

Grâce à ce programme, FedDev Ontario investit dans des projets qui contribueront de manière significative à la mise au point d'une technologie immédiatement commercialisable et concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale et qui a le potentiel d'entraîner de nouvelles occasions d'affaires ou d'avantages pour une industrie, un secteur d'activité ou une région dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Le Programme de développement de la technologie vise à inciter les secteurs privé et public à collaborer à la mise au point de technologies novatrices de pointe, dont la mise en marché est prévue d'ici un à sept ans.

Les demandes sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus ou présenter une demande, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices sur le programme qui sont affichées sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :