Archived — Harper Government Supports Green Building Partnerships

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 28, 2012

Toronto, Ontario — Businesses in southern Ontario working on innovations in sustainable construction will benefit from George Brown College's new Green Building Centre, thanks to an investment from the Harper Government. The Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada and Member of Parliament for Haldimand–Norfolk, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), made the announcement today at the centre.

"Our Government's top priority remains creating high-value jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Canadians," said Minister Finley. "By supporting the growing green building market, our Government is not only helping to create smarter, more energy efficient buildings while creating high quality jobs here at home, but we are also strengthening Canada's leadership in the sustainable building industry on the world stage."

With FedDev Ontario's $6.6 million contribution, in addition to George Brown College's own investment of $6.8 million, the college will be bringing together the resources to create a full-scale applied research, technology development, and industry innovation service centre that will focus on green building construction, also known as green construction or sustainable building. These innovations will help meet consumer demand for healthier, more environmentally friendly places to live and work.

The Green Building Centre will offer a range of services aimed at providing small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) with the resources they need to accelerate the lab-to-market process. These include business development, intellectual property management, venture creation, product development, third-party validation and testing through the Business Accelerator and Entrepreneurship Centre, the Advanced Prototyping Lab, the Building Science Lab, and the International Business Office.

This project will create opportunities for SMEs to develop and test novel building products, systems and materials such as building retrofit materials and smart building automation. The college's enhanced training programs will also ensure that more job-ready graduates enter the market and advance the building sector's adoption of new approaches, methods, standards and technologies. The project will support up to 80 research collaborations with industry partners and will also create 35 new full-time, high-value jobs.

"This generous and strategic investment will allow George Brown College to build upon our success in serving the innovation economy and creating the workforce that Canada needs," said Anne Sado, President, George Brown College. "Students in our Centre for Construction and Engineering Technologies will be at the forefront of the sustainable building industry and our industry partners will be able to bring new services, techniques and products to market faster. The Green Building Centre is an excellent example of how industry and colleges like George Brown can work together to serve the economy."

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to George Brown College

FedDev Ontario, through its Prosperity Initiative, is providing George Brown College with a non-repayable contribution of up to $6.6 million to create the Green Building Centre.

The Green Building Centre is located at the Centre for Construction and Engineering Technologies (CCET) on the Casa Loma Campus. This new centre will conduct applied research in partnership with local businesses, while training students in advanced construction systems, green energy, and computer-enabled, efficient buildings. In particular, this centre will focus on construction practices that are environmentally responsible and resource-efficient throughout a building's life-cycle: from site selection to design, construction, operation, maintenance, renovation, and demolition.

The Green Building Centre will offer the following services:

  • The Advanced Prototyping Lab, which will rapidly develop new products for advanced building technology and energy management;
  • The Building Science Lab, which will provide a test site and demonstration lab for technology companies that want to refine prototypes and test innovative green building systems, materials and technologies in a realistic setting;
  • The Business Accelerator and Entrepreneurship Centre, which will pair applied research experts, including faculty and students from the college, with industry partners to work on projects in the appropriate lab environment and to help these companies with information gathering and analysis, product prototype development and testing, market development and commercialization, all with a view to bringing products to market efficiently; and
  • The International Business Office, which will search out new international markets for green technologies and keep track of emerging trends around the world.

In addition, the Green Building Centre will act as a third-party validator of green building system technologies and new products.

For more information, please visit www.georgebrown.ca/CET/.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative encourages businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy.

Funding is available for projects that meet the following objectives:

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to achieve higher output in relation to investment;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement Harper soutient les partenariats axés sur la construction de bâtiments écologiques

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 28 septembre 2012

Toronto (Ontario) – Les entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario travaillant à des innovations dans le domaine de la construction durable profiteront du nouveau Green Building Centre du George Brown College, grâce à un investissement du gouvernement Harper. L'honorable Diane Finley, ministre de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada et députée de Haldimand–Norfolk, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui au centre.

« La priorité numéro un de notre gouvernement reste la création d'emplois de grande valeur, de croissance et de prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiens, a déclaré la ministre Finley. En appuyant le marché des bâtiments écologiques qui est en pleine expansion, notre gouvernement contribue non seulement à concevoir des bâtiments plus intelligents et plus écoénergétiques tout en créant des emplois de grande qualité ici au pays, mais il aide aussi à renforcer la place de chef de file du Canada dans l'industrie de la construction durable sur la scène internationale. »

Grâce à la contribution de 6,6 millions de dollars consentie par FedDev Ontario, en plus de l'investissement de 6,8 millions de dollars réalisé par le George Brown College, l'établissement réunira sous un même toit les ressources nécessaires pour constituer un centre de services de taille complète en recherche appliquée, en développement technologique et en innovation industrielle, qui se concentrera sur la construction de bâtiments écologiques, aussi appelée construction écologique ou construction durable. Ces innovations permettront de répondre à la demande des consommateurs qui recherchent des lieux plus respectueux de l'environnement et plus sains où vivre et travailler.

Le Green Building Centre offrira un large éventail de services visant à fournir aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) les ressources dont elles ont besoin pour accélérer le processus allant du laboratoire au marché. Parmi ces services, citons le développement d'entreprise, la gestion de la propriété intellectuelle, la création d'entreprise, le développement de produit, la validation par une tierce partie et la mise à l'essai dans le cadre du centre de l'entrepreneuriat et accélérateur d'entreprises, du laboratoire de prototypage avancé, du laboratoire des sciences du bâtiment et du bureau des affaires internationales.

Ce projet offrira aux PME des possibilités de développer et de mettre à l'essai des produits, des systèmes et des matériaux de construction novateurs, comme des matériaux de modernisation de bâtiments et l'automatisation de bâtiments intelligents. Les programmes de formation améliorés du collège permettront aussi qu'un plus grand nombre de diplômés aptes à travailler entrent sur le marché et fassent avancer l'adoption de nouvelles approches, méthodes, normes et technologies par le secteur de la construction. Le projet appuiera jusqu'à 80 collaborations dans le domaine de la recherche avec des partenaires de l'industrie, et il créera 35 nouveaux emplois de grande valeur à temps plein.

« Ce généreux investissement stratégique permettra au George Brown College de miser sur son succès à servir l'économie de l'innovation et à créer la main-d'œuvre dont le Canada a besoin, a déclaré Anne Sado, présidente du George Brown College. Les étudiants dans notre Centre for Construction and Engineering Technologies seront à l'avant-garde de l'industrie de la construction durable, et nos partenaires de l'industrie auront la capacité de mettre en marché de nouveaux services, techniques et produits plus rapidement. Le Green Building Centre constitue un excellent exemple de la manière dont l'industrie et des collèges comme George Brown peuvent travailler ensemble au service de l'économie. »

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le projet et sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution accordée au George Brown College

Aux termes de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, FedDev Ontario octroie au George Brown College une contribution non remboursable maximale de 6,6 millions de dollars afin de créer le Green Building Centre, un centre axé sur la construction de bâtiments écologiques.

Le Green Building Centre se trouve au Centre for Construction and Engineering Technologies (CCET) sur le campus Casa Loma. Ce nouveau centre mènera des activités de recherche appliquée en partenariat avec les entreprises locales, tout en formant les étudiants dans les domaines des systèmes de construction avancés, de l'énergie verte et des bâtiments écoénergétiques informatisés. Ce centre se concentrera plus particulièrement sur les pratiques de construction qui sont responsables sur le plan environnemental et écoefficaces tout au long du cycle de vie d'un bâtiment : de la sélection de l'emplacement à la conception, à la construction, au fonctionnement, à l'entretien, à la rénovation et à la démolition.

Le Green Building Centre offrira les services suivants :

  • le laboratoire de prototypage avancé qui développera rapidement de nouveaux produits pour les technologies de construction avancées et la gestion de l'énergie;
  • le laboratoire des sciences du bâtiment qui fournira un lieu d'essai et un laboratoire de démonstration pour les entreprises de technologie qui veulent peaufiner des prototypes et mettre à l'essai des systèmes, des matériaux et des technologies de construction écologique dans un environnement réaliste;
  • le centre de l'entrepreneuriat et accélérateur d'entreprises qui mettra en relation des experts en recherche appliquée, y compris des professeurs et des étudiants du collège, avec des partenaires de l'industrie afin de travailler à des projets dans l'environnement de laboratoire approprié et d'aider ces entreprises dans leurs activités de collecte et d'analyse des renseignements, de développement et de mise à l'essai de prototypes de produits, et de développement des marchés et de commercialisation, dans le seul but de mettre les produits en marché efficacement;
  • Le bureau des affaires internationales qui cherchera de nouveaux marchés internationaux pour les technologies écologiques et suivra les tendances émergentes dans le monde entier.

Par ailleurs, le Green Building Centre jouera le rôle de validateur tiers des technologies de systèmes de construction écologique et de nouveaux produits.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site www.georgebrown.ca/CET/ (en anglais seulement).

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouveaux procédés, de nouvelles technologies et compétences qui améliorent à leur tour les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario en augmentant la productivité en lien avec leurs investissements;
  • favorisent la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario en s'appuyant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou élargir les regroupements économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus et pour présenter une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :