Archived — Government of Canada Celebrates Opening of Innovative Food Processing Institute

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
November 15, 2012

Cambridge, Ontario — With today's official opening of the Institute of Food Processing Technology, graduates trained in the newest food processing technologies will soon be bringing their skills to southern Ontario, home to one of North America's largest and most competitive food clusters. The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), celebrated this important milestone at the School of Engineering and Information Technology, part of Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning.

"Our government is committed to helping southern Ontario's manufacturers be more competitive, adaptive and innovative," said Minister Goodyear. "By supporting the Institute of Food Processing Technology, we are helping to ensure that our region's food processing and manufacturing sector has the skilled workforce it needs to grow and prosper."

The contribution of $2.3 million through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative has allowed Conestoga to equip its new pilot plant with modern food processing lines that simulate real work environments. The hands-on training, in areas such as food safety, electronic instrumentation techniques, robotics, and plant supervision, provided by the Institute of Food Processing Technology is producing graduates who will be able to meet the current and future demands of a highly competitive and evolving industry.

For more information about the Institute of Food Processing Technology, visit: http://ifpt.ca/.

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations, and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified, and competitive economy. Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada célèbre l'ouverture d'un institut novateur de transformation des aliments

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 15 novembre 2012

Cambridge (Ontario) — Avec l'ouverture officielle aujourd'hui de l'Institute of Food Processing Technology, les diplômés spécialisés dans les plus récentes technologies de transformation des aliments feront bientôt bénéficier de leurs compétences le Sud de l'Ontario, centre de l'un des pôles les plus importants et les plus compétitifs de l'industrie alimentaire en Amérique du Nord. L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a célébré cet important événement à la School of Engineering and Information Technology, un département de l'Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning, du Conestoga College.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à aider les fabricants du Sud de l'Ontario à devenir plus compétitifs, adaptatifs et novateurs, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En aidant l'Institute of Food Processing Technology, nous contribuons à garantir que le secteur de la transformation des aliments et de fabrication des produits alimentaires de notre région dispose de la main d'œuvre spécialisée dont il a besoin pour croître et prospérer. »

Cette contribution de 2,3 millions de dollars, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, a permis au Conestoga College de doter sa nouvelle usine pilote de lignes modernes de transformation des aliments qui simulent les environnements de travail réels. Les étudiants qui suivront la formation pratique offerte par l'Institute of Food Processing Technology, dans des domaines comme la salubrité alimentaire, les techniques d'instrumentation électronique, la robotique et la supervision d'usine, pourront une fois leur diplôme en poche être à la hauteur de la demande actuelle et future d'une industrie hautement compétitive et en évolution constante.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Institute of Food Processing Technology, veuillez consulter le site : http://ifpt.ca/ [disponible en anglais seulement].

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région. Les demandes sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :