Archived — Government of Canada Investment Will Help Innovative Online Auction Firm Expand

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
November 21, 2012

Kingston, Ontario — Online auction company YouBidLocal Inc. will develop and launch the next generation of its web-based software platform thanks to a $50,000 Government of Canada investment announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our government is investing in the ideas and the people of southern Ontario to create jobs, growth and long-term prosperity," said Minister of State Goodyear. "This investment in YouBidLocal Inc. will allow the company to expand its innovations, resulting in increased sales and new jobs for our region."

The investment in YouBidLocal Inc. is being provided through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative. The funding will allow YouBidLocal Inc. to leverage an additional $375,000 in private sector investment from a member of York Angel Investors Inc., a southern Ontario angel investment network. YouBidLocal Inc. will use the funding to complete development of the next generation of its technologies and processes.

Based in Kingston, Ontario, with an office in Toronto and staff across Ontario, YouBidLocal Inc. offers clearance auctions for estate sales, downsizing situations, business liquidations, and inventory reductions through online auctions. The company has held more than 300 auctions in 30 months, selling 99 per cent of available items.

"This funding will help us build capabilities to serve our customers in an entirely revolutionary manner," said Sushee Perumal, CEO of YouBidLocal Inc. "We are pleased to receive this funding from FedDev Ontario."

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds. Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'expansion d'une entreprise innovatrice locale

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 21 novembre 2012

Kingston (Ontario) — L'entreprise de vente aux enchères en ligne YouBidLocal Inc. mettra au point et lancera sa plateforme Web de prochaine génération grâce à un investissement de 50 000 dollars du gouvernement du Canada, annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement investit dans les idées et les gens du Sud de l'Ontario pour favoriser la création d'emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, a déclaré le ministre d'État Goodyear. Cet investissement permettra à la société YouBidLocal Inc. d'étendre ses innovations de sorte qu'elle pourra augmenter ses ventes et créer de nouveaux emplois dans notre région. »

Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans la société YouBidLocal Inc. dans le cadre du programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario. Le financement permettra à YouBidLocal Inc. d'avoir accès à des fonds supplémentaires de 375 000 dollars provenant du secteur privé, notamment d'un membre de York Angel Investors Inc., un réseau d'investissement providentiel du Sud de l'Ontario. YouBidLocal Inc. utilisera les fonds pour terminer le développement de ses technologies et procédés de prochaine génération.

La société YouBidLocal Inc., dont le siège se trouve à Kingston, en Ontario, a aussi des bureaux à Toronto et du personnel dans tout l'Ontario. Cette société offre des services d'enchères sur Internet pour la vente de biens successoraux, les situations de rationalisation et de liquidation d'entreprises, et de réduction d'inventaire. La société a tenu plus de 300 enchères en 30 mois et a vendu 99 pour cent des articles offerts.

« Grâce à cette aide financière, nous serons en mesure de servir notre clientèle d'une façon tout à fait révolutionnaire, a déclaré Sushee Perumal, président-directeur général de YouBidLocal Inc. Nous sommes heureux de recevoir ces fonds de FedDev Ontario. »

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises a pour objet d'accroître l'investissement du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, procédés et pratiques et de les mettre sur le marché. L'initiative vise aussi à aider les réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et leurs associations à attirer de nouveaux investissements et à soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiels. Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :