Archived — Government of Canada Encourages Private Investment in Oakville Area Start-Up Businesses

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
December 17, 2012

Oakville, Ontario — Angel One Investor Network will be able to connect more angel investors with promising new start-up businesses in the Oakville region, thanks to a $100,000 Government of Canada investment announced today by Terence Young, Member of Parliament for Oakville, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"The Government of Canada is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for southern Ontario by investing in business innovation," said MP Young. "By encouraging greater angel investment in the innovations of entrepreneurs in our region, we are strengthening relationships between start-up companies, investors and our government, and equipping businesses with the tools they need to succeed."

Angel One Investor Network is a not-for-profit angel network based in Oakville, Ontario. The group aims to develop a group of more than 30 active angel investors to respond to the funding needs of early-stage, entrepreneurial companies in the Oakville, Burlington and Hamilton areas that are working to bring new technologies to market.

The investment through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative will allow Angel One Investor Network to expand its membership base and increase its pool of angel investors through outreach activities such as recruiting and training seminars, a web site and other promotional tools.

"The introduction of a formal angel organization in the region is expanding the investing breadth and depth of the local investors. Angel investing has become an important component in the effective commercialization of innovation," said Karen Grant, executive director of Angel One Investor Network. "Individually and in groups, angel investors fund at least $1.9 billion a year in Canada, complementing the $871 million invested by venture capital in early-stage companies."

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds. Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada encourage les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage de la région d'Oakville

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 décembre 2012

Oakville (Ontario) — Le réseau d'investisseurs Angel One (Angel One Investor Network) aura la capacité de mettre en relation plus d'investisseurs providentiels avec de nouvelles entreprises en démarrage prometteuses dans la région d'Oakville grâce à un investissement de 100 000 dollars consenti par le gouvernement du Canada. L'annonce en a été faite aujourd'hui par Terence Young, député fédéral d'Oakville, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à créer des emplois, de la croissance et de la prospérité à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario en investissant dans l'innovation des entreprises, a déclaré le député Young. En encourageant des investissements providentiels plus importants dans les innovations des entrepreneurs dans notre région, nous renforçons les relations entre les entreprises en démarrage, les investisseurs et notre gouvernement, et fournissons aux entreprises les outils dont elles ont besoin pour réussir. »

Angel One est un réseau d'investisseurs providentiels à but non lucratif établi à Oakville, en Ontario. Le groupe a pour objectif de créer un groupe comptant plus de 30 investisseurs providentiels actifs afin de répondre aux besoins de financement d'entreprises entrepreneuriales en démarrage dans les régions d'Oakville, de Burlington et de Hamilton qui s'emploient à mettre sur le marché de nouvelles technologies.

L'investissement accordé aux termes de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario permettra à Angel One de recruter de nouveaux membres et d'augmenter son bassin d'investisseurs providentiels au moyen d'activités de rayonnement, comme des séminaires de recrutement et de formation, un site Web et d'autres outils promotionnels.

« La création d'une organisation officielle d'investisseurs providentiels dans la région permet de développer la portée des investisseurs locaux en matière d'investissement. Les investissements providentiels sont devenus un élément important dans la commercialisation efficace de l'innovation, a déclaré Karen Grant, directrice générale d'Angel One. Individuellement et collectivement, les investisseurs providentiels financent au moins 1,9 milliard de dollars par an au Canada, en complément des 871 millions de dollars investis par des sociétés de capital de risque dans des entreprises en démarrage. »

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises a pour objet d'accroître l'investissement du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, procédés et pratiques et de les mettre sur le marché. L'initiative vise aussi à aider les réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et leurs associations à attirer de nouveaux investissements et à soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiels. Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :