Archived — Government of Canada Supports Expansion of Manufacturing in Chatham-Kent

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
December 20, 2012

Wallaceburg, Ontario — Lambton Conveyor Limited will expand its grain handling and storage equipment manufacturing operations thanks to a contribution from the Government of Canada. The investment was announced today by Bev Shipley, Member of Parliament for Lambton—Kent—Middlesex, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario). He made the announcement alongside representatives from municipal and provincial governments.

"Our Government's top priority is creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Canadians," said MP Bev Shipley. "This funding will allow Lambton Conveyor Limited to expand its facilities, invest in new equipment, and diversify the manufacturing base in the Chatham-Kent area."

Since 1965, Lambton Conveyor Limited has been a manufacturer of grain handling and storage equipment serving the grain storage and handling, food processing and feed manufacturing industries. The family-owned company has grown from a regional manufacturer to a global operation with dealers in 25 countries around the world, offering a complete line of grain storage and handling equipment ranging from grain elevators and conveyor systems to mixers and crumblers.

Through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, Lambton Conveyor Limited will receive up to $3.1 million in a repayable contribution to consolidate two existing facilities in Florence and Bothwell to one larger facility in Wallaceburg, Ontario, more than doubling its current space. The company will also use funds to invest in new equipment and increase production and storage capacity for its grain manufacturing operations. This project is expected to maintain 110 jobs and create up to 150 new jobs by 2015 in the Chatham-Kent area.

"Our goals of growth, expansion and job creation were embraced by all levels of government," said Chris Moorhouse, President, Lambton Conveyor Limited. "With the help of FedDev Ontario, Lambton Conveyor is undertaking this multi-million dollar expansion. This is a win for both us and the community."

"Our municipality is working closely with the federal government, the provincial government and the business leaders of our community to rebuild Chatham-Kent's economy and create jobs," said Chatham-Kent Mayor Randy Hope. "Together, over almost two years we have worked to ensure that Lambton Conveyor Limited has the business environment and resources needed to succeed in Chatham-Kent. Thanks and congratulations go to everyone involved."

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient l'expansion du secteur manufacturier dans Chatham-Kent

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 20 décembre 2012

Wallaceburg (Ontario) — Lambton Conveyor Limited élargira ses opérations de fabrication de matériel de manutention et d'entreposage du grain, grâce à une contribution du gouvernement du Canada. L'investissement a été annoncé aujourd'hui par Bev Shipley, député fédéral de Lambton-Kent-Middlesex, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario). M. Shipley a fait l'annonce en compagnie de représentants de l'administration municipale et du gouvernement provincial.

« Créer des emplois, favoriser la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour l'ensemble des Canadiens et des Canadiennes constituent la première priorité de notre gouvernement, a déclaré le député Bev Shipley. Ces fonds permettront à Lambton Conveyor Limited d'agrandir ses installations, d'investir dans du nouvel équipement et de diversifier son assise manufacturière dans la région de Chatham-Kent. »

Depuis 1965, Lambton Conveyor Limited fabrique du matériel de manutention et d'entreposage du grain pour les industries de l'entreposage et de la manutention du grain, de la transformation des aliments et de la provenderie. Cette entreprise familiale, active au départ à l'échelle régionale, l'est maintenant à l'échelle mondiale et compte des concessionnaires dans 25 pays du monde. Elle offre une gamme complète de matériel d'entreposage et de manutention du grain, allant des élévateurs à grains et des convoyeurs, aux mélangeurs et aux broyeurs.

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, Lambton Conveyor Limited recevra une contribution remboursable allant jusqu'à 3,1 millions de dollars pour consolider ses deux installations à Florence et Bothwell en une seule à Wallaceburg, en Ontario, doublant ainsi sa superficie actuelle. L'entreprise utilisera aussi ces fonds pour acheter du nouvel équipement et accroître la capacité de production et de stockage de ses opérations de fabrication liées au grain. Ce projet permettra de préserver 110 emplois et d'en créer éventuellement 150 nouveaux d'ici 2015 dans la région de Chatham-Kent.

« Nos objectifs de croissance, d'expansion et de création d'emplois ont été approuvés par tous les ordres de gouvernement, a souligné Chris Moorhouse, président de Lambton Conveyor Limited. Grâce à FedDev Ontario, Lambton Conveyor est en mesure d'entreprendre cette expansion de plusieurs millions de dollars. Notre entreprise et notre collectivité en sortent toutes deux gagnantes. »

« Notre municipalité collabore étroitement avec le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement provincial et les dirigeants d'entreprise de notre collectivité afin de rebâtir l'économie de Chatham-Kent et de créer des emplois, a ajouté Randy Hope, maire de Chatham-Kent. Tous ensemble, depuis presque deux ans, nous avons travaillé pour que Lambton Conveyor Limited dispose du contexte commercial et des ressources requises pour réussir dans la région de Chatham-Kent. Je remercie et félicite tous ceux et celles qui ont participé à cette réussite. »

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :