Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Innovative Reusing of Recycled Plastics

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
January 11, 2013

Brantford, Ontario — GreenMantra Recycling Technologies Ltd. will market new industrial wax products created from recycled plastic in North America and be able to licence its innovative production process to European customers, thanks to a new investment from the Government of Canada. The investment was announced today by Phil McColeman, Member of Parliament for Brant, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"This is another example of how Brantford businesses are innovating, modernizing and capitalizing on new opportunities in the 21st century economy to bring jobs and prosperity to our community," said MP McColeman. "This investment will support the growth of GreenMantra Technologies, creating high-value jobs for southern Ontario and a competitive advantage in local and international markets."

Under FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, GreenMantra Technologies Ltd. will receive up to $750,000 to complete final commercialization testing of its proprietary technology to produce industrial waxes from recycled plastics. The waxes produced will be used in such products as asphalt, wood products, adhesives and polishes. The project is expected to create up to 13 high-value jobs in Brantford during its course and up to 45 additional jobs by 2017.

GreenMantra Technologies Ltd. was founded in 2010 and is based in Brantford, with strategic partners located in Toronto and Europe. The company is a pioneer in the industry and was founded on the model of commercializing innovative technologies to produce synthetic industrial fuels and lubricants from abundantly available recycled plastics. Its proprietary technology produces high yields with low start-up, operating and transportation costs, allowing for a wide range of products with significant environmental benefits.

"GreenMantra is delighted to be a recipient of funding from FedDev Ontario," said President and CEO Pushkar Kumar. "The funding is instrumental in getting GreenMantra's operations off the ground and bringing our unique and environmentally friendly waxes to market."

The success of the Investing in Business Innovation initiative relies on leveraging private sector investments and partnerships. For this project, the company has raised up to $1 million through the MaRS Clean Tech Fund and up to $500,000 from the MaRS Investment Accelerator Fund. With a history of product development from innovative technology, GreenMantra Technologies Ltd. is poised for expansion of production and its market share upon completion of this project.

The Investing in Business Innovation initiative is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds. Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the website.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans la réutilisation innovatrice des plastiques recyclés

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 11 janvier 2013

Brantford (Ontario) — GreenMantra Recycling Technologies Ltd. mettra en marché de nouveaux produits à base de cire créés à partir de plastique recyclé en Amérique du Nord et sera en mesure d'obtenir un permis pour son processus de production novateur à l'intention des clients européens, grâce à un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada. Phil McColeman, député fédéral de Brant, au nom de l'honorable Garry Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), en a fait l'annonce aujourd'hui.

« Cela est un autre exemple de la façon par laquelle les entreprises de Brantford sont en train d'innover, de se moderniser et de tirer profit des nouvelles possibilités au sein de l'économie du 21e siècle pour attirer les emplois et la prospérité dans notre collectivité, a déclaré le député McColeman. Cet investissement soutiendra la croissance de GreenMantra Technologies, tout en créant des emplois de haute qualité pour le Sud de l'Ontario ainsi qu'un avantage concurrentiel dans les marchés locaux et internationaux. »

Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario, GreenMantra Technologies Ltd. recevra jusqu'à concurrence de 750 000 dollars pour achever la mise à l'essai finale de la commercialisation de sa technique brevetée de production de cires industrielles à partir de plastiques recyclés. Les cires produites seront utilisées dans des produits tels l'asphalte, les produits du bois, les colles et les encaustiques. Le projet devrait créer 13 emplois de haute qualité à Brantford pendant qu'il est en vigueur et jusqu'à 45 emplois supplémentaires d'ici juin 2017.

Fondée en 2010, GreenMantra Technologies Ltd. a son siège à Brantford, avec des partenaires stratégiques situés à Toronto et en Europe. La société est pionnière dans l'industrie et a été créée sur le modèle des technologies de commercialisation innovatrices pour la production de carburants et de lubrifiants synthétiques à partir de plastiques recyclés abondamment disponibles. Sa technique brevetée produit un rendement élevé avec des coûts de démarrage, d'exploitation et de transports faibles, offrant un large éventail de produits avec d'importants avantages environnementaux.

« GreenMantra est ravie de recevoir le financement alloué par FedDev Ontario, a affirmé le président et directeur général Pushkar Kumar. Le financement permet le démarrage de l'exploitation de GreenMantra et la mise en marché de nos cires uniques et écologiques. »

La réussite du programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises est tributaire de l'optimisation des investissements du secteur privé et des partenariats. Pour ce projet, la société a recueilli jusqu'à concurrence de 1 million de dollars au moyen du fond pour les technologies propres de MaRS (le MaRS Clean Tech Fund), et jusqu'à concurrence de 500 000 dollars au moyen du fonds d'accélération des investissements de MaRS (le MaRS Investment Accelerator Fund). Avec des antécédents de développement de produits au moyen de technologies innovatrices, GreenMantra Technologies Ltd. est bien placée pour augmenter sa production et avoir sa part du marché lorsque ce projet sera achevé.

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises a pour objet d'accroître les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, procédés et pratiques et de les mettre sur le marché. L'initiative vise aussi à aider les réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et leurs associations à attirer de nouveaux investissements et à soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiels. Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :