Archived — Government of Canada Supports Expansion of Peterborough Aviation Company

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
January 16, 2013

Peterborough, Ontario — Dean Del Mastro, Member of Parliament for Peterborough, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency of Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced an investment in Flying Colours Corporation to support the company's business expansion at the Peterborough airport. He made the announcement alongside Barry Devolin, Member of Parliament for Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock.

"Our Government is committed to giving businesses and communities in southern Ontario the tools they need to innovate and grow," said MP Del Mastro. "That's why we continue to support companies like Flying Colours that are able to create jobs and compete and win in international markets."

Located in Peterborough, Flying Colours Corporation is a leader in aircraft completion and maintenance. With its base of operations at the Peterborough airport and a subsidiary in St. Louis, Missouri, Flying Colours is already a strong competitor in the field of corporate aviation in markets all over the world. Flying Colours is well positioned to grow by accommodating increased traffic in Peterborough and rising demand for customized business jets internationally.

Through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, Flying Colours will receive a repayable contribution of up to $900,000 to expand its facilities and acquire new technologies to service a growing number of business opportunities arising from the expansion of the Peterborough airport. This project is expected to create up to 40 highly skilled full-time equivalent jobs at the company's facility and increase reach in Canadian and international markets. An additional benefit of this business expansion was that it allowed Flying Colours Corporation to pursue Authorized Service Facility (ASF) status with Bombardier Aerospace.

"We are very honoured and proud to have both facilities joining the Bombardier Authorized Service Facility network. Bombardier's confidence in the quality of work that Flying Colours Corp. provides further demonstrates our continued commitment to develop quality and reliability in all our maintenance endeavours," stated John Gillespie, President and CEO, Flying Colours Corp.

"This business expansion will allow our company to compete on a global platform, offering our customers state-of-the-art facilities with superior products and services," said Kate Ahrens, VP, Corporate Development.

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to Flying Colours

FedDev Ontario is providing Flying Colours with a repayable contribution of up to $900,000 to support the company's business expansion at the Peterborough airport. The airport was recently upgraded to accommodate larger planes such as Boeing 737 and Airbus 320 series. This project enables Flying Colours to expand its facilities and upgrade technologies used for aircraft maintenance, avionics and interior capabilities.

Flying Colours Corporation is an aviation service provider specializing in executive conversions of aircraft including interior completions, refurbishment and modification. Established in 1989, the company remains family-owned and operated. Flying Colours is based at the Peterborough airport with a subsidiary located in St. Louis, Missouri.

Upgrades to the company's facility will keep pace with growth at the airport and allow Flying Colours to reach a larger international share in this niche market.

FedDev Ontario's investment in Flying Colours will also support regional diversification in the Peterborough area and will further expand the number of opportunities and growth resulting from the Peterborough airport and runway expansion project.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative is designed to encourage businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects that will result in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Funding is available for projects that

  • enhance productivity, by accelerating the adoption of new technologies, processes and skills to enhance businesses and sectors in southern Ontario to achieve higher output in relation to their investments;
  • diversify the regional economy, by increasing the number of new industries or opportunities in southern Ontario communities or regions with the potential to have long-term impacts on their economic diversity; and
  • build a competitive advantage for southern Ontario, by building on the assets and strengths of southern Ontario businesses and regions to create or expand economic clusters and enhance their global competitiveness.

Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information and to apply, please refer to the Program Guidelines available on the website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'expansion d'une entreprise d'aviation de Peterborough

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 16 janvier 2013

Peterborough (Ontario) — L'honorable Dean Del Mastro, député fédéral de Peterborough, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement dans la Flying Colours Corporation afin d'appuyer l'expansion des activités de cette entreprise à l'aéroport de Peterborough. Il a fait l'annonce en compagnie de Barry Devolin, député de Haliburton—Kawartha Lakes—Brock.

« Le gouvernement est déterminé à offrir aux entreprises et aux collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario les outils dont elles ont besoin pour innover et prospérer, a déclaré M. Del Mastro. C'est pour cette raison que nous continuons d'appuyer des entreprises comme Flying Colours, qui sont en mesure de créer des emplois, de soutenir la concurrence sur les marchés internationaux et de réussir. »

La Flying Colours Corporation, qui est située à Peterborough, est un chef de file dans le domaine du montage et de l'entretien d'avions. L'entreprise, dont le siège social est situé à l'aéroport de Peterborough et qui a une filiale à St. Louis, au Missouri, est déjà un concurrent solide dans le domaine de l'aviation d'affaires sur les marchés mondiaux. Flying Colours est bien placée pour se développer puisqu'elle pourra répondre à l'augmentation du trafic à Peterborough et à l'accroissement de la demande internationale visant des jets d'affaires faits sur mesure.

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, Flying Colours recevra une contribution remboursable pouvant aller jusqu'à 900 000 dollars pour agrandir ses installations et acquérir de nouvelles technologies qui lui permettront de saisir de plus en plus de possibilités d'affaires découlant de l'expansion de l'aéroport de Peterborough. Ce projet devrait créer jusqu'à 40 emplois équivalents temps plein hautement spécialisés dans les installations de l'entreprise et permettre à celle ci de percer de nouveaux marchés au Canada et à l'étranger. En outre, cette expansion permet aussi à la Flying Colours Corporation de demander le statut d'établissement de service autorisé à Bombardier Aéronautique.

«  Nous sommes très honorés et fiers que nos deux établissements fassent maintenant partie du réseau des établissements de service autorisés de Bombardier. La confiance manifestée par Bombardier à l'égard de la qualité du travail accompli par Flying Colours montre une fois de plus que nous demeurons déterminés à assurer la qualité et la fiabilité de toutes les activités que nous menons dans le domaine de l'entretien d'avions », a déclaré John Gillespie, président et chef de la direction de Flying Colours.

« Cette expansion commerciale permettra à notre entreprise de soutenir la concurrence à l'échelle internationale et d'offrir à ses clients des installations à la fine pointe de la technologie, de même que des produits et services de qualité supérieure », a mentionné Kate Ahrens, vice présidente, Développement de l'entreprise.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce projet et sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité, consultez la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Flying Colours

FedDev Ontario accorde à Flying Colours une contribution remboursable pouvant aller jusqu'à 900 000 dollars pour appuyer l'expansion de ses activités à l'aéroport de Peterborough. L'aéroport a récemment été rénové pour pouvoir accueillir de plus gros avions, comme des Boeing 737 et des Airbus 320. Ce projet permettra à Flying Colours d'agrandir ses installations et de mettre à niveau les technologies utilisées pour l'entretien des avions, l'avionique et les capacités intérieures.

La Flying Colours Corporation est un fournisseur de services aéronautiques qui se spécialise dans la conversion des avions pour en faire des avions d'affaires, y compris la finition intérieure, la remise en état et la modification. L'entreprise, qui a été établie en 1989, est demeurée une entreprise familiale. Le siège social de Flying Colours est situé à l'aéroport de Peterborough, et l'entreprise a une filiale à St. Louis, au Missouri.

La mise à niveau des installations de l'entreprise lui permettra de suivre la croissance de l'aéroport et d'avoir accès à une part plus importante de ce marché à créneaux sur la scène internationale.

L'investissement de FedDev Ontario dans Flying Colours appuie également la diversification régionale dans la région de Peterborough et permettra d'offrir encore plus de possibilités d'affaires et de croissance découlant du projet d'agrandissement de l'aéroport et de la piste de Peterborough.

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

Un financement est accordé aux projets qui répondent aux critères suivants :

  • améliorent la productivité, en accélérant l'adoption de nouveaux procédés, de nouvelles technologies et compétences qui améliorent à leur tour les entreprises et les secteurs dans le Sud de l'Ontario en augmentant la productivité en lien avec leurs investissements;
  • favorisent la diversification de l'économie régionale en augmentant le nombre de nouvelles industries ou de possibilités qui pourraient avoir des retombées à long terme sur la diversité économique de la région;
  • mettent en place un avantage concurrentiel pour le Sud de l'Ontario en s'appuyant sur les atouts et les forces des entreprises et des régions du Sud de l'Ontario pour créer ou élargir les regroupements économiques et accroître leur compétitivité mondiale.

Les demandes sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour en savoir plus et pour présenter une demande, veuillez consulter les lignes directrices du programme sur le site Web de FedDev Ontario à l'adresse suivante : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :