Archived — Government of Canada Supports Increased Number of Angel Investors in Vaughan

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
January 23, 2013

Vaughan, Ontario — York Angel Investors, Inc. will be able to attract a larger number of active angel investors in the Vaughan region thanks to a $100,000 investment from the Government of Canada, announced today by the Honourable Peter Kent, Minister of the Environment and Member of Parliament for Thornhill, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"The Government of Canada is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for southern Ontario," said Minister Kent. "By encouraging greater angel investment in the ideas of entrepreneurs in our region, we are strengthening relationships between start-up companies, investors and our government and helping to drive innovation in southern Ontario for years to come."

York Angel Investors, Inc. is an incorporated, not-for-profit angel network located in Vaughan. The group aims to support economic development in southern Ontario, foster an entrepreneurial spirit, identify and act on investment opportunities, and promote investor best practices. The members of York Angel Investors, Inc. entertain a range of investment opportunities.

The funding through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative will enable York Angel Investors, Inc. to develop a base of 60 or more active angel investors to respond to the funding needs of early-stage, entrepreneurial companies in the commercialization of innovative technologies.

"We are grateful for the support of FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative," said Scott MacCannell, president of York Angel Investors, Inc. "Angel investments often make the difference between success and failure for an early-stage company, and we are pleased when we can help young companies grow and be successful. It helps create jobs in our region, and leads to economic prosperity in southern Ontario and across Canada."

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. Funding under the initiative is also available for angel investor networks and their associations to attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds. Applications for funding are being accepted and assessed on an ongoing basis. For more information, please refer to the program guidelines available on the FedDev Ontario website.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. The Agency has launched a number of initiatives to create a Southern Ontario Advantage and place the region in a strong position to compete in the global economy. These initiatives are designed to encourage partnerships and support projects that help the region's businesses and communities become more competitive, innovative and diversified. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie un nombre accru d'investisseurs providentiels dans la région de Vaughan

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 janvier 2013

Vaughan (Ontario) — York Angel Investors Inc. pourra attirer un grand nombre d'investisseurs providentiels dans la région de Vaughan, grâce à un investissement de 100 000 dollars du gouvernement du Canada, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'honorable Peter Kent, ministre de l'Environnement et député fédéral de Thornhill, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à créer des emplois, à stimuler la croissance et à assurer la prospérité à long terme dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Kent. En favorisant des investissements accrus de la part des investisseurs providentiels dans les idées des entrepreneurs de notre région, nous renforçons les relations entre les entreprises en démarrage, les investisseurs et notre gouvernement et nous contribuons à faire progresser l'innovation dans le Sud de l'Ontario pour des années à venir. »

York Angel Investors Inc. est un réseau d'investisseurs constitué en société à but non lucratif situé à Vaughan. Le groupe a comme but de soutenir le développement économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario, de promouvoir l'esprit d'entrepreneur, de déceler les possibilités d'investissement et d'en tirer parti, et de faire connaître les pratiques exemplaires des investisseurs. Les membres de York Angel Investors Inc. examinent un grand nombre de possibilités d'investissement.

Ce financement, dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario, permettra à York Angel Investors Inc. de constituer une base d'au moins 60 investisseurs providentiels actifs pour satisfaire aux besoins de financement des entreprises de type entrepreneurial en démarrage qui s'emploient à commercialiser des techniques de pointe novatrices.

« Nous sommes reconnaissants du soutien de FedDev Ontario dans le cadre de son initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, a déclaré M. Scott MacCannell, président de York Angel Investors Inc. Les investissements providentiels font souvent la différence entre la réussite et l'échec pour une entreprise en démarrage, et nous sommes heureux quand nos pouvons aider une jeune entreprise à croître et à prospérer. Nous créons ainsi des emplois dans notre région et contribuons à créer la prospérité économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario et au Canada. »

Le programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises permet d'intensifier les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage, afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux procédés et de nouvelles pratiques et de les mettre en marché. Elle offre également un appui aux réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et à leurs associations, dans le but d'attirer de nouveaux investissements et de soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiels. Les demandes de financement sont acceptées et évaluées en tout temps. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les lignes directrices du programme, veuillez consulter le site Web de FedDev Ontario.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. L'Agence a lancé une série d'initiatives pour créer un Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario et pour que la région puisse soutenir la vive concurrence sur le marché mondial. Ces initiatives visent à favoriser l'établissement de partenariats et soutiennent des projets qui aident les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à devenir plus concurrentielles, plus novatrices et plus diversifiées. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :