Archived — Government of Canada Supports New Battery System in Ottawa

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
April 23, 2013

Ottawa, Ontario—Thanks to an investment from the Government of Canada, Ottawa-based Panacis Inc. will be able to accelerate the commercialization of a new lithium-ion battery system targeting the defence market. The investment was announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"By investing in Panacis Inc.'s new battery system, we are helping to ensure that soldiers have the resources they need to effectively protect people and goods," said Minister Goodyear. "Our government's support for innovations like these helps to foster competitiveness and creates opportunities for jobs and growth here in Ottawa."

Under FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, Panacis will receive up to $613,457 to accelerate the commercialization of the Soldier Sharepack™, a wearable energy storage system. The system is both a battery and an energy management device that uses flexible energy sharing, harvesting and scavenging techniques that allow a user's movement and renewable sources such as solar to supplement the battery charge and provide reliable power.

FedDev Ontario's investment has also enabled Panacis to attract private investment of up to $1,226,916 from members of the Capital Angel Network.

Panacis designs and manufactures advanced lithium battery systems for a broad range of devices and markets. This investment will help the company commercialize the Soldier Sharepack™ and increase the scale of its manufacturing operations in Ontario. It is expected that the project will create up to 15 full-time jobs in the Ottawa area.

"Government support for small business innovation is critical for remaining competitive in the global marketplace," said Janet Mason, Chief Executive Officer of Panacis. "The FedDev Ontario investment supports engineering and marketing development activities, which are both essential to the successful launch of the Soldier Sharepack™ product into international markets."

Investing in Business Innovation is designed to boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. The Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario. The investor community includes accredited angel investors from recognized angel investor networks in southern Ontario registered with the Network of Angel Organizations – Ontario and venture capital providers who are members of Canada's Venture Capital & Private Equity Association.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014, including $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, as well as the extension of the Eastern Ontario Development Program. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care most about: their families, the safety of our streets and communities, their pride in being a citizen of this country, and their personal financial security.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans un nouveau système de batterie à Ottawa

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 avril 2013

Ottawa (Ontario) — Grâce à un investissement du gouvernement du Canada, l'entreprise Panacis Inc. d'Ottawa, sera en mesure d'accélérer la commercialisation d'un nouveau système de batterie lithium-ion destiné au marché de la défense. Cet investissement a été annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« En investissant dans le nouveau système de batterie de Panacis Inc., nous aidons à faire en sorte que les militaires disposent des ressources dont ils ont besoin pour protéger efficacement les gens et les biens, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. L'aide de notre gouvernement pour des innovations comme celle-ci contribue à favoriser la compétitivité et à créer des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique ici, dans la région d'Ottawa. »

Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, Panacis recevra jusqu'à 613 457 dollars pour accélérer la commercialisation du système « Soldier SharepackMC », un système portable de stockage de l'énergie. Le système est une batterie doublée d'un dispositif de gestion de l'énergie qui utilise des techniques flexibles de partage, d'accumulation et de récupération de l'énergie et qui permet d'utiliser le mouvement d'un utilisateur et des ressources renouvelables, telles que le soleil, pour recharger la batterie et obtenir une énergie fiable.

L'investissement de FedDev Ontario dans ce projet a également permis à Panacis Inc. d'obtenir un investissement privé allant jusqu'à 1 226 916 dollars émanant des membres du Capital Angel Network.

Panacis conçoit et fabrique des systèmes de batterie lithium évolués pour une vaste gamme de dispositifs et de marchés. Cet investissement aidera l'entreprise à commercialiser le système Soldier SharepackMC et à augmenter le volume de ses opérations de fabrication en Ontario. Le projet devrait créer jusqu'à 15 emplois à temps plein dans la région d'Ottawa.

« Le soutien du gouvernement en ce qui concerne l'innovation pour les petites entreprises est essentiel pour qu'elles restent concurrentielles sur le marché mondial, a indiqué Mme Janet Mason, présidente-directrice générale de Panacis. L'investissement de FedDev Ontario soutient les activités d'ingénierie et de mise en marché, deux volets essentiels à la réussite du lancement du système Soldier SharepackMC sur les marchés internationaux. »

Le programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises permet d'intensifier les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage, afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux procédés et de nouvelles pratiques et d'aider à les mettre en marché. Le gouvernement du Canada favorise la création d'un portefeuille d'entreprises en démarrage qui sont reconnues par le milieu des investisseurs comme ayant le potentiel d'une croissance élevée et pouvant générer des avantages économiques nets à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le milieu des investisseurs compte des investisseurs providentiels accrédités membres de réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario reconnus et inscrits auprès du Network of Angel Organizations – Ontario et des sociétés de capital de risque membres de l'Association canadienne du capital de risque et d'investissement.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario. Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement alloue 920 millions sur cinq ans à l'Agence, à compter du 1er avril 2014, y compris 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans à un nouveau fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, ainsi qu'à la prolongation du Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario. Pour en apprendre davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, notre gouvernement demeure concentré sur les quatre priorités qui comptent le plus pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de nos rues et de nos collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :