Archived — Government of Canada Celebrates Opening of McMaster Automotive Resource Centre

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
May 9, 2013

Hamilton, Ontario—The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), officially opened the new McMaster Automotive Resource Centre (MARC) today during the Hamilton Economic Summit.

"Our Government is committed to bringing together the right tools and resources for businesses and manufacturers to succeed and for communities to prosper," said Minister Goodyear. "Our investment is creating high-quality jobs here in Hamilton and is helping put southern Ontario at the forefront of green automotive technology development, as well as advanced manufacturing."

Funding, announced by the Minister in August 2011, was provided through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative. McMaster University received up to $11.5 million toward a $26.4 million project to create the MARC for the research and development of innovations such as hybrid and electric powertrains, batteries and lightweight materials.

The MARC is expected to be home to approximately 120 to 150 workers in high-quality jobs related to research and development within the centre itself, and contribute to making the auto sector more competitive by providing southern Ontario businesses access to state-of-the-art equipment and teams of international experts in powertrain technology, automotive software, materials development, manufacturing processes, engineering design and sustainable infrastructure that will envision and prototype the next generation of vehicles.

MARC will move institutional research from the lab bench to the production line in commercialized products and accelerate innovation and productivity in small- and medium-sized enterprises, resulting in sales, exports and growth.

"The opening of this centre is especially gratifying because it brings together several important principles that are the focus of our work at the university," said McMaster president Patrick Deane. "It will allow our researchers to undertake exciting new projects and share new knowledge with our students. In creating modern manufacturing jobs, the centre will benefit the broader community, and will enable the development of cleaner, more efficient cars for drivers everywhere. Finally, in keeping with our commitment to sustainability, this will all happen in a reclaimed building."

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014. As part of the renewal, FedDev Ontario will be allocating $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care most about: their families, the safety of our streets and communities, their pride in being a citizen of this country, and their personal financial security.

To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to the McMaster Automotive Resource Centre

With a Prosperity Initiative contribution of up to $11.5 million, a former warehouse space has been renovated and equipped into a "green" automotive research facility that houses the McMaster Automotive Resource Centre – MARC. The new facility provides a total of approximately 80,000-square feet of space for new development, prototyping, and large-scale product trials to market newly developed automotive technology for mass production. This project will see approximately 120 to 150 people working in leading edge research, development and knowledge transfer. In addition, this project is fostering new partnerships between post-secondary and industry experts; and is providing training opportunities for hundreds of students in the field of innovative automotive technology.

The Centre is drawing upon McMaster University's automotive research strengths, which include the $10-million Canada Excellence Research Chair in Hybrid Powertrain (held by Dr. Ali Emadi), and MacAUTO, the University's coordinating body for automotive research and development. These assets will work in tandem with expertise found at CANMET, a federal government materials technology lab, which opened at the McMaster Innovation Park in February 2011 to assist academic and industry partners with developing new materials and metal technologies.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, as part of the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, is encouraging businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects resulting in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

To date, over $420 million in funding has been committed to 240 projects under the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,000 organizations, and over $1.2 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources.

For more information, please visit the website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada souligne l'ouverture du McMaster Automotive Resource Centre

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 9 mai 2013

Hamilton (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a procédé aujourd'hui à l'ouverture officielle du nouveau McMaster Automotive Resource Centre (MARC), durant le Sommet économique de Hamilton.

« Notre gouvernement s'est engagé à fournir les outils et les ressources requises pour veiller à la réussite des entreprises et des fabricants et à la prospérité des collectivités, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre investissement crée des emplois de haute qualité ici à Hamilton et contribue à placer le Sud de l'Ontario à l'avant-garde du développement des technologies automobiles écologiques et de la fabrication de pointe. »

Cet octroi de fonds, annoncé par le ministre en août 2011, a été fait dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario. La McMaster University a reçu jusqu'à 11,5 millions de dollars pour un projet de 26,4 millions de dollars visant à créer le MARC, un centre de recherche-développement axé sur les produits novateurs, comme les groupes motopropulseurs hybrides et électriques, les batteries et les matériaux légers.

Le MARC devrait créer, approximativement, de 120 et 150 emplois de haute qualité en recherche-développement au sein du centre et contribuer à rendre le secteur automobile plus concurrentiel en donnant aux entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario accès à un matériel d'avant-garde et à des équipes d'experts internationaux dans les domaines de la technologie des groupes motopropulseurs, des logiciels automobiles, du développement des matériaux, des procédés de fabrication, de la conception technique et de l'infrastructure durable. Ces ressources serviront à la conception des prototypes de la prochaine génération de véhicules.

Le MARC apportera la recherche institutionnelle en laboratoire à la chaîne de production de produits commercialisables et accélérera l'innovation et la productivité au sein des petites et moyennes entreprises, ce qui favorisera les ventes, les exportations et la croissance.

« L'ouverture de ce centre est particulièrement réjouissante du fait qu'elle amalgame plusieurs importants principes qui sont au cœur de notre travail à l'université, a commenté M. Patrick Deane, recteur de la McMaster University. Il permettra à nos chercheurs d'entreprendre d'intéressants nouveaux projets et de partager de nouvelles connaissances avec nos étudiants. En créant des emplois modernes dans le secteur de la fabrication, le centre bénéficiera à l'ensemble de la collectivité et permettra le développement de voitures plus propres et plus efficaces pour les conducteurs de partout. En terminant, j'ajouterai que dans la foulée de notre engagement à favoriser la durabilité, le centre verra le jour dans un bâtiment restauré. »

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario. Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement consacrera 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans au renouvellement de l'Agence à compter du 1er avril 2014. Dans le cadre de ce renouvellement, FedDev Ontario allouera 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour la création d'un nouveau Fonds pour la fabrication de pointe en Ontario.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, notre gouvernement demeure concentré sur les quatre priorités qui comptent le plus pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de nos rues et de nos collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière.

Pour en connaître davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution au McMaster Automotive Resource Centre

Grâce à une contribution pouvant atteindre 11,5 millions de dollars, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité, un ancien entrepôt a été rénové et transformé en une installation de recherche dans le domaine des technologies automobiles « écologiques », que l'on nomme le McMaster Automotive Resource Centre (MARC). Cette nouvelle installation, d'une superficie d'environ 80 000 pieds carrés, sera utilisée pour créer des produits novateurs et des prototypes, mettre à l'essai à grande échelle des produits et commercialiser de nouvelles techniques de l'automobile pour la production de masse. Dans le cadre de ce projet, de 120 à 150 postes seront créés en recherche, en développement et en transfert du savoir de pointe. De plus, ce projet favorise l'établissement de nouveaux partenariats entre des experts des établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et de l'industrie et offre des possibilités de formation pour des centaines d'étudiants dans le domaine des technologies automobiles innovatrices.

Le centre tire parti des atouts de la McMaster University acquis dans le secteur de l'automobile, parmi lesquels on compte la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le groupe motopropulseur hybride, doté d'un budget de 10 millions de dollars (détenu par M. Ali Emadi), et MacAUTO, l'organisme de coordination de l'université pour la recherche-développement dans le secteur de l'automobile. Ces équipes travailleront en collaboration avec les experts de CANMET, un laboratoire fédéral de technologie des matériaux qui a ouvert ses portes en février 2011 pour aider les partenaires de l'université et de l'industrie à concevoir de nouveaux matériaux et de nouvelles technologies des métaux et qui est situé au McMaster Innovation Park.

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, qui s'inscrit dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

À ce jour, plus de 420 millions de dollars ont été engagés pour financer plus de 240 projets dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario. Cela a donné lieu à l'établissement de partenariats avec plus de 5 000 organisations et plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars d'investissement supplémentaires obtenus par effet de levier à partir de sources de financement presque exclusivement non gouvernementales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web à l'adresse www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :