Technology Development Program – Sunnybrook Research Institute

FedDev Ontario: Large-Scale Collaboration in Research and Innovation

Region: Toronto

[Opening graphic sequence]

[Text on screen – Large-Scale Collaboration in Research and Innovation]

[Dr. Michael Julius - Vice-President, Research, Sunnybrook Research Institute, Toronto]

Sunnybrook Research Institute is the research engine of Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. We're dedicated to understanding the root cause of disease—with that understanding, development of new medicines and remarkable new advances in imaging-guided delivery of this therapeutics, which is going to fundamentally change the way we're treating our patients.

FedDev Ontario's investment of $6.9 million through the Technology Development Program is unprecedented, has established a wonderful platform for multiple collaborative interactions with private sector partners, and we are collaborating with Western University toward getting innovative medical technologies to the marketplace faster.

We're using existing technology and instrumentation, creating new instrumentation that enable complex interventions without breaking skin. We are literally inventing tomorrow's health care today.

[Switch to Dr. Gregory Czarnota - Senior Scientist, Sunnybrook Research Institute, Toronto]

As part of our research here at Sunnybrook, we're developing a new technique known as optoacoustics, which is a hybrid between ultrasound and optical imaging methods.

Having medical manufacturers involved through all the stages—right from discovery to delivery—is crucial. It actually ensures that the context of what's developed in the laboratory, or in the research environment, reaches the people of Ontario and the people of Canada.

[Switch to Dr. Michael Julius]

Not all of the partners in this large-scale collaborative program are multinationals. A number of our partners are start-ups who were enabled by another FedDev Ontario program—the Applied Research and Commercialization program—that they successfully completed and made them ready to join this larger-scale initiative.

[Switch to Dr. Gregory Czarnota]

We're all feeling the pressures of rising health care costs. Investing in this research is really important. I think it will turn southern Ontario into a global leader of cost-saving solutions.

The type of funding that we've received from FedDev Ontario provides a practical stimulus for the innovative discoveries that we are making here at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre.

The collaborative component provides economic opportunities for southern Ontario, it creates jobs for Canadians, and most importantly it provides the best technology and the best health care for our patients when they need it the most.

[Text on screen – www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca Follow us @FedDevOntario]

[FedDev Ontario identifier and Canada wordmark]

Date modified:

Programme de développement de la technologie - Sunnybrook Research Institute

FedDev Ontario : Collaboration de grande envergure en recherche et innovation

Région : Toronto

[Séquence graphique d'ouverture]

[Texte à l'écran – Collaboration de grande envergure en recherche et innovation]

[Dr Michael Julius - vice-président, Recherche, Sunnybrook Research Institute, à Toronto]

Le Sunnybrook Research Institute est l'organisme de recherche du Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. Nous cherchons à comprendre la cause profonde des maladies. Dans ce contexte, la création de nouveaux médicaments et les récents progrès remarquables accomplis dans le domaine de l'imagerie ont guidé la mise au point de cette thérapie qui changera fondamentalement la façon dont nous traitons nos patients.

L'investissement sans précédent de 6,9 millions de dollars de FedDev Ontario, dans le cadre du Programme de développement de la technologie, a permis la création d'une extraordinaire plateforme d'interactions multiples de collaboration avec des partenaires du secteur privé et nous collaborons avec l'université Western pour accélérer la mise en marché de technologies médicales novatrices.

Nous utilisons des technologies et des instruments courants et nous créons de nouveaux instruments qui permettent des interventions complexes sans briser la peau. Nous inventons littéralement aujourd'hui les soins de santé de demain.

[Passer à Dr Gregory Czarnota - scientifique principal, Sunnybrook Research Institute, à Toronto]

Dans le cadre de nos recherches à Sunnybrook, nous mettons au point une nouvelle technique dite optoacoustique, une méthode hybride entre l'ultrason et l'imagerie optique.

Il est essentiel que les fabricants d'instruments médicaux soient présents à toutes les étapes, de la création à la livraison. Cela garantit que le contexte de ce qui est créé en laboratoire, ou dans un milieu de recherche, atteint la population de l'Ontario et du Canada.

[Passer à Dr Michael Julius]

Tous les partenaires au sein de ce vaste programme de collaboration ne sont pas des multinationales. Un certain nombre de nos partenaires sont des entreprises en démarrage qui ont été aidées dans le cadre d'un autre programme de FedDev Ontario, le programme Recherche appliquée et commercialisation, qu'elles ont mené à bonne fin et qui leur a permis de participer à cette initiative de grande envergure.

[Passer à Dr Gregory Czarnota]

Nous ressentons tous la pression de l'augmentation du coût des soins de santé. Investir dans ce type de recherche est vraiment important. Je crois que cela fera du Sud de l'Ontario un chef de file mondial dans le domaine des solutions économiques.

Le type de financement que nous recevons de FedDev Ontario agit comme incitatif pratique qui permet au Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre de faire des découvertes novatrices.

L'aspect collaboratif crée des possibilités économiques dans le Sud de l'Ontario, crée des emplois pour les Canadiens et surtout et nous permet d'offrir les meilleures technologies et les meilleurs soins de santé à nos patients lorsqu'ils en ont le plus besoin.

[Texte à l'écran – www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca Suivez-nous @FedDev_Ontario]

[Identificateur de FedDev Ontario et mot-symbole du Canada]

Date de modification :