Investing in Business Innovation – Capital Angel Network/eSight

FedDev Ontario: Leveraging Resources to Support Emerging Innovation

Region: Ottawa

[Opening graphic sequence]

[Text on screen – Leveraging Resources to Support Emerging Innovation]

[Parm Gill - Executive Director, Capital Angel Network, Ottawa]

Capital Angel Network is a non-profit organization based here in Ottawa. And we provide monthly pitch sessions for entrepreneurs to come in and pitch to the group—the membership at large—and potentially from that, hopefully they'll generate some interest, and those members who are interested will follow on and do some due diligence and potentially invest in the opportunities that they see.

Strong angel and venture capital investment is very important for businesses in Ontario, in southern Ontario in particular.

The funding we received through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation program allows us to run our monthly meetings, support the local entrepreneurial ecosystem and drive our membership and growth of that membership base. We also help find other international sources for financing and help those entrepreneurs leverage those connections to raise further financing and follow-on financing.

[Switch to Bill McPhee - Boston Harbor Angels Member, Boston]

Well we joined the Capital Angel Network because we believe that there is tremendous opportunity to invest in emerging technologies in Canada. And that relationship, coupled with other relationships with angel groups in southern Ontario, has opened our eyes to new and exciting investment opportunities.

FedDev Ontario's robust commitment to supporting early-stage companies was really critical to our decision to cross the border and invest in a revolutionary technology like eSight.

[Switch to Kevin Rankin - CEO, eSight, Ottawa]

eSight Eyewear is an assistive technology and a new class of product that brings enhanced vision to those with low vision. We incorporate high definition camera technology into the wearable eyewear that changes people's lives.

Without FedDev Ontario's support and the leverage of additional resources, we would not be able to launch this product right now.

The Investing in Business Innovation program is a brilliant example of how the public sector can be a catalyst for collaboration and partnership within the investment community.

eSight is supported by a broad syndicate of angel investors from Canada and the U.S. They've helped us to better position the company and the business strategy, they provided key capital, and we anticipate working with these organizations for years to come.

[Switch to Parm Gill]

The funding from FedDev Ontario is critical for continuing growth of investment initiatives and the success of innovative businesses in southern Ontario.

[Text on screen – www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca Follow us @FedDevOntario]

[FedDev Ontario identifier and Canada wordmark]

Date modified:

Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises – Capital Angel Network/eSight

FedDev Ontario : Obtenir des ressources pour soutenir l'innovation émergente

Région : Ottawa

[Séquence graphique d'ouverture]

[Texte à l'écran – Obtenir des ressources pour soutenir l'innovation émergente]

[Parm Gill - directeur général, Capital Angel Network, à Ottawa]

Capital Angel Network est un organisme à but non lucratif établi ici, à Ottawa. Nous offrons tous les mois des séances de présentation pour inciter les entrepreneurs à venir présenter leurs projets au groupe – l'ensemble de nos membres – et à partir de là ils pourront susciter un intérêt, de sorte que les membres intéressés feront un suivi et diligence raisonnable et investiront peut-être dans les possibilités qu'ils auront constatées. 

De solides investissements providentiels et un capital de risque élevé sont très importants pour les entreprises de l'Ontario, en particulier du Sud de l'Ontario.

Les fonds que nous recevons du programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario nous permettent de tenir nos réunions mensuelles, de soutenir l'écosystème entrepreneurial local, de motiver nos membres et d'augmenter leur nombre. Nous aidons aussi à trouver d'autres sources internationales de financement, nous aidons les entrepreneurs à tirer parti de ces relations pour obtenir des fonds supplémentaires et nous faisons le suivi des projets financés.

[Passer à Bill McPhee - membre du réseau Boston Harbor Angels, à Boston]

Nous sommes devenus membres du Capital Angel Network parce que nous croyons qu'il offre des possibilités formidables d'investir dans les nouvelles technologies au Canada. Cette relation, ainsi que celles avec d'autres investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario, nous a fait prendre conscience de nouvelles et intéressantes possibilités d'investissement.

L'engagement ferme de FedDev Ontario à soutenir les entreprises en démarrage a joué un rôle essentiel dans notre décision de traverser la frontière et d'investir dans une technologie révolutionnaire comme la technologie eSight.

[Passer à Kevin Rankin - chef de la direction, eSight, à Ottawa]

eSight Eyewear est une technologie d'assistance et une nouvelle catégorie de produits qui améliorent la vue des personnes dont la vision est faible. En intégrant une caméra à haute définition dans les lunettes, nous changeons la vie des gens. 

Sans le soutien de FedDev Ontario et l'apport de ressources supplémentaires, nous n'aurions pas pu lancer ce produit à l'heure actuelle.

Le programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises est un exemple frappant de la façon dont le secteur public peut servir de catalyseur sur le plan de la collaboration et du partenariat au sein de la communauté des investisseurs.

eSight est soutenu par un vaste syndicat d'investisseurs providentiels du Canada et des États-Unis, qui nous ont aidés à mieux positionner notre entreprise et notre stratégie commerciale et qui nous ont fourni des capitaux clés. Nous souhaitons travailler avec ces organisations pour des années à venir. 

[Passer à Parm Gill]

Le financement provenant de FedDev Ontario est essentiel pour assurer la continuité des initiatives de financement et la réussite des entreprises innovatrices du Sud de l'Ontario.

[Texte à l'écran – www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca Suivez-nous @FedDev_Ontario]

[Identificateur de FedDev Ontario et mot-symbole du Canada]

Date de modification :