Scientists and Engineers in Business – RIC Centre

FedDev Ontario:  Harnessing the Potential of Emerging Businesses

Region: Mississauga

[Opening graphic sequence]

[Text on screen – Harnessing the Potential of Emerging Businesses]

[Pam Banks - Executive Director, RIC Centre, Mississauga]

The Mississauga Research Innovation Commercialization Centre, or RIC centre, supports technology entrepreneurs and their innovations. We're part of a broader provincial network, and our job is to help start-ups grow their businesses.

Our VentureStart program is fully funded through FedDev Ontario through the Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative. It serves twelve RICs across the province.

VentureStart program received $7.5 million to cultivate entrepreneurship in graduates from the fields of science, technology, engineering and math. Program participants receive training, mentoring and seed financing to actually carry out their business idea.

[Switch to James Sbrolla - Entrepreneur in Residence, RIC Centre, Mississauga]

The VentureStart program is terrific and has a real positive impact. I work with about half a dozen different graduates, providing advice, coaching and mentorship. And the business training component is available online, so it works really well.

One grad that really stands out for me has developed and is already piloting an innovative clean technology product.

[Switch to Andrew White - President and Co-Founder, CHAR Technologies, Toronto]

CHAR Technologies was founded to commercialize our Sulfa CHAR technology, which is a way to purify renewable natural gas, such as landfill gas or biogas.

Sulfa CHAR is a cost-effective, convenient and zero-waste method of purifying these gas streams. And right now we're in our pilot at the Grober Group farm just outside of Clyde, Ontario.

I'd been searching for funding for about a year before we applied to the VentureStart program. Going through the process really helped strengthen the business plan and really helped provide some capital to get things going. It would have been a real struggle without the support.

[Switch to Pam Banks]

FedDev Ontario is helping to create a whole new entrepreneurial landscape in southern Ontario. Through programs like VentureStart, they harness the potential of start-ups and help them successfully manage their businesses.

When we see a company like CHAR Technologies, we know we are going to see significant commercial gains from the creation of the product. We also see the potential for significant job creation, innovation and long-term benefits to the community.

[Switch to Andrew White]

Thanks to FedDev Ontario and the VentureStart program, I've really been able to see my idea transform into a product and have a demo at a lead customer site, which has led us to have sales forecasts of $10 million by 2017.

[Text on screen – www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca Follow us @FedDevOntario]

[FedDev Ontario identifier and Canada wordmark]

Date modified:

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires – centre RIC

FedDev Ontario : Exploiter le potentiel des entreprises émergentes

Région : Mississauga

[Séquence graphique d'ouverture]

[Texte à l'écran – Exploiter le potentiel des entreprises émergentes]

[Pam Banks - directrice générale, centre RIC, à Mississauga]

Le Mississauga Research Innovation Commercialization Centre, ou centre RIC, appuie les entrepreneurs des domaines technologiques et leurs innovations. Nous faisons partie d'un vaste réseau provincial et notre travail consiste à aider les entreprises en démarrage à accroître leurs activités commerciales.

Notre programme VentureStart est entièrement financé par FedDev Ontario dans le cadre de l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires. Il est utilisé par douze centres RIC partout dans la province.

Le programme VentureStart a reçu un montant de 7,5 millions de dollars pour favoriser l'entrepreneuriat auprès des diplômés en sciences, en technologie, en ingénierie et en mathématiques. Les participants au programme reçoivent une formation, un encadrement et un financement de départ pour mettre en pratique leur concept d'affaires.

[Passer à James Sbrolla - entrepreneur en résidence, centre RIC, à Mississauga]

Le programme VentureStart est formidable et ses effets sont vraiment positifs. Je travaille avec une demi-douzaine de diplômés dans diverses disciplines; j'offre des conseils et des services d'encadrement et de mentorat. Le cours de formation en affaires est offert en ligne et fonctionne très bien.

Un des diplômés se démarque vraiment. Il a mis au point une technologie propre novatrice et a même lancé un projet pilote.

[Passer à Andrew White - président et cofondateur, CHAR Technologies, à Toronto]

L'entreprise CHAR Technologies a été fondée pour commercialiser notre technologie Sulfa CHAR qui sert à purifier le gaz naturel renouvelable, comme le gaz d'enfouissement ou biogaz. Sulfa CHAR est une méthode économique, commode et sans gaspillage de purifier ces flux gazeux. À l'heure actuelle, notre projet pilote est en cours à la ferme du groupe Grober à l'extérieur de la localité de Clyde, en Ontario.

J'ai cherché un financement un an avant de présenter une demande dans le cadre du programme VentureStart. Le processus qu'il nous a fallu suivre a renforcé notre plan d'affaires et nous a vraiment aidés à obtenir des fonds pour démarrer. Cela aurait été vraiment difficile sans aide.

[Passer à Pam Banks]

FedDev Ontario contribue à créer un tout nouveau paysage entrepreneurial dans le Sud de l'Ontario et, dans le cadre de programmes comme VentureStart, exploite le potentiel des entreprises en démarrage et les aide à bien gérer leurs activités commerciales.

Lorsque nous voyons ce qui arrive à une entreprise comme CHAR Technologies, nous savons que nous tirerons de la création de son produit des gains commerciaux. Nous voyons aussi le potentiel sur le plan de la création d'emplois, de l'innovation et des avantages à long terme pour la collectivité.

[Passer à Andrew White]

Grâce à FedDev Ontario et au programme VentureStart, j'ai vu mon concept devenir un produit et en faire la démonstration sur le site d'un important client, ce qui m'a permis de prévoir des ventes de l'ordre de 10 millions de dollars d'ici 2017.

[Texte à l'écran – www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca Suivez-nous @FedDev_Ontario]

[Identificateur de FedDev Ontario et mot-symbole du Canada]

Date de modification :