Archived — Minister Goodyear Consults Stakeholders on Manufacturing and Future Plans for Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
May 13, 2013

Ottawa, Ontario—The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), met with manufacturers and stakeholders today at Invest Ottawa to seek input on the new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario and future Agency programs for southern Ontario.

"With Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada remains focused on the priorities of Canadians, including creating jobs and growing the economy in Ontario and across Canada," said Minister Goodyear. "My colleagues and I are participating in roundtable discussions to ensure we continue to develop programs that work for businesses, workers and communities."

Since its launch in 2009, the Agency has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and strive to access new markets.

In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

Minister Goodyear and Members of Parliament are meeting with manufacturers, business and academia across Ontario to gather feedback on challenges, opportunities and ideas for the development and implementation of new programs.

This morning, Minister Goodyear met with a group of firms and manufacturing stakeholders to discuss the Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario. Input was provided on the expected outcomes of the Fund, as well as on proposed program parameters.

At a second meeting, stakeholders provided their views on potential areas of focus for FedDev Ontario programs including: support for innovation and commercialization, business growth, productivity and communities.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a convenor, advocate and catalyst to support the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear consulte les intervenants au sujet du secteur de la fabrication et des plans futurs pour faciliter la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 13 mai 2013

Ottawa (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a rencontré aujourd'hui des fabricants et des intervenants, dans les locaux d'Investir Ottawa, pour obtenir leurs points de vue sur le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario et les futurs programmes de l'Agence pour le Sud de l'Ontario.

« Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada demeure axé sur les priorités des Canadiens, y compris la création d'emplois et la croissance de l'économie en Ontario et partout au Canada, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Mes collègues et moi participons à des tables rondes de discussion afin de nous assurer que nous continuons à concevoir des programmes qui bénéficient aux entreprises, aux travailleurs et aux collectivités. »

Depuis son lancement en 2009, l'Agence a beaucoup contribué à créer des emplois et à renforcer l'économie. Toutefois, l'Ontario subit toujours des pressions considérables et plus que jamais nos entreprises et nos travailleurs doivent être plus innovateurs et productifs et s'efforcer de pénétrer de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario.

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fournit 920 millions de dollars pour l'Agence sur cinq ans, y compris 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à partir du 1er avril 2014.

Le ministre Goodyear et des députés rencontrent des fabricants et des leaders du monde des affaires et du monde universitaire de l'Ontario pour recueillir des commentaires sur les défis, les possibilités et les idées liés à l'élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de nouveaux programmes pour l'Agence.

Ce matin, le ministre Goodyear a rencontré des intervenants des secteurs des services et de la fabrication pour discuter du nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario. Il a reçu des commentaires sur les résultats attendus du Fonds et sur les paramètres des programmes proposés.

Lors d'une deuxième réunion, les intervenants ont donné leur point de vue sur les secteurs potentiels que devraient cibler les programmes de FedDev Ontario, dont l'aide à l'innovation et à la commercialisation, la croissance des entreprises, la productivité et les collectivités.

Avec un financement renouvelé, FedDev Ontario continuera d'agir comme rassembleur, défenseur des intérêts régionaux et catalyseur pour appuyer le développement d'une économie du Sud de l'Ontario prospère et concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale.

Les renseignements sur la programmation future seront affichés dans le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca au fur et à mesure qu'ils seront disponibles. Nous recommandons aux intervenants d'y revenir régulièrement.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le site www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :