Archived — Minister Goodyear Talks to Manufacturers and Stakeholders

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
May 14, 2013

Toronto, Ontario—The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), highlighted the Government of Canada's support for manufacturers at the PACKEX Manufacturing Conference at the Toronto Congress Centre today. Following the Conference, Minister Goodyear met with manufacturers and stakeholders to seek input on the new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario.

"With Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada remains focused on enhancing the conditions for creating and growing businesses so that manufacturers and businesses can succeed in the global economy," said Minister Goodyear. "My colleagues and I are participating in roundtable discussions to ensure the Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario will support new, innovative technologies and processes and improve the long-term productivity of manufacturers across the province."

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

This morning, Minister Goodyear heard feedback first hand from manufacturers on the expected outcomes of the Fund, as well as on proposed program parameters.

Since its launch in 2009, the Agency has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and strive to access new markets.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a convenor, advocate and catalyst to support the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy by supporting innovation and commercialization, business growth, productivity and communities.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear s'adresse à des fabricants et à des intervenants

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 14 mai 2013

Toronto (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a souligné le soutien du gouvernement aux fabricants lors de la PACKEX Manufacturing Conference, au Toronto Congress Centre aujourd'hui. Après la conférence, le ministre Goodyear a rencontré des fabricants et des intervenants pour obtenir leurs points de vue sur le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario.

« Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada demeure axé sur l'amélioration des conditions favorisant la création d'entreprises et la croissance des entreprises, afin que les fabricants et les entreprises puissent réussir au sein de l'économie mondiale, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Mes collègues et moi participons à des tables rondes de discussion afin de nous assurer que le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario soutiendra des technologies et des processus nouveaux et novateurs et contribuera à améliorer la productivité à long terme des fabricants de partout dans la province. »

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fournit 920 millions de dollars pour l'Agence sur cinq ans, y compris 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à partir du 1er avril 2014.

Ce matin, le ministre Goodyear a reçu des commentaires directement des fabricants sur les résultats attendus du Fonds et sur les paramètres des programmes proposés.

Depuis son lancement en 2009, l'Agence a beaucoup contribué à créer des emplois et à renforcer l'économie. Toutefois, l'Ontario subit toujours des pressions considérables et plus que jamais nos entreprises et nos travailleurs doivent être plus innovateurs et productifs et s'efforcer de pénétrer de nouveaux marchés.

Avec un financement renouvelé, FedDev Ontario continuera d'agir comme rassembleur, défenseur des intérêts régionaux et catalyseur pour appuyer le développement d'une économie du Sud de l'Ontario prospère et concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale en soutenant l'innovation et la commercialisation, la croissance des entreprises, la productivité et les collectivités.

Les renseignements sur la programmation future seront affichés dans le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca dès qu'ils seront disponibles. Nous recommandons aux intervenants de vérifier régulièrement.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le site www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Michele-Jamali Paquette
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-947-2956

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :