Archived — Government of Canada Supports Business Growth and Exports in Toronto

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
May 17, 2013

Toronto, Ontario—The Honourable Peter Van Loan, Member of Parliament for York–Simcoe, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today announced contributions of up to $3.27 million for two projects. The projects will support the efforts of Ontario businesses to increase international market share for their high-value exports. The announcement was made at Polar Mobile's office in Toronto.

"The Canadian business environment is robust," said MP Van Loan. "We have the people, the knowledge, the skills and the entrepreneurial spirit to succeed. The contributions announced today demonstrate our Government's commitment to helping small businesses access the skills and capital they need to bring Canadian products and services to new markets around the world."

Through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, the Ontario Chamber of Commerce (OCC) is receiving a contribution of up to $2.67 million to support the expansion of its Global Growth Fund. Through the Fund, the OCC provides support to small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario, including access to training and expertise as they develop and execute export market access strategies for their products and services.

Through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, Polar Mobile is receiving a contribution of up to $600,000 to help further develop its MediaEverywhere software platform for media companies globally to develop and deploy mobile websites and applications across all devices. Built exclusively for media, the platform addresses mobile complexities, accelerates time-to-market and reduces costs, all while providing maximum flexibility. In 2012, Polar Mobile received $6 million in venture capital investment led by Georgian Partners, of which up to $1.3 million will be used for this project. The company expects that this project will create up to 10 full-time jobs.

For more information on these projects, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014. As part of the renewal, FedDev Ontario will be allocating $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care most about: their families, the safety of their streets and communities, their pride in being citizens of this country, and their personal financial security.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contributions to Ontario Chamber of Commerce and Polar Mobile Inc.

FedDev Ontario is investing up to $3,270,000 in two projects to support small business growth and expanded international reach for Canadian products and services.

The Ontario Chamber of Commerce (OCC) is a not-for-profit organization that has been representing Ontario businesses for more than 100 years. Through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, the OCC is receiving a non-repayable contribution of up to $2,670,000 to expand its support of small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) that are developing and executing export strategies for their products and services. Through its Global Growth Fund, OCC provides funds to small- and medium-sized businesses through two program streams: Export Market Access (EMA) and Ontario Exporters Fund (OEF). EMA helps businesses expand their growth into foreign markets and OEF provides support to develop export market strategies. It is expected that this project will increase the number of Ontario exports of products and services as it encourages Ontario small- and medium-sized enterprises to explore new markets to enhance their productivity. For more information, visit www.occ.on.ca.

Polar Mobile Group Inc. is a digital media company based in Toronto, with a focus on mobile devices. Through FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, the company is receiving a repayable contribution of up to $600,000 to help develop its MediaEverywhere software platform for the delivery of digital media across multiple devices. Currently, the company has clients in over 12 countries worldwide. The MediaEverywhere platform is a software interface that enables digital content to be viewed on mobile devices, smartphones, or computer operating systems from a single (and often existing) source. Rather than having to create multiple formats of the same digital content (i.e. separate mobile websites) clients can create and maintain one source of content while users experience the same functionality across a variety of devices. This platform offers significant cost-savings to clients and is a real advantage for the company. Polar Mobile has also attracted investment of up to $1.3 million for this project from a group of venture capital firms lead by Georgian Partners. The company expects that this project will create up to 10 full-time jobs. For more information, visit www.polarmobile.com.

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, as part of the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, is encouraging businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects resulting in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

Investing in Business Innovation, as part of the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, provides improved access to financing for start-up businesses, boosts private sector investment in start-up businesses, and helps accelerate the research and development of new products and ideas and bring them to the marketplace.

To date, over $420 million in funding has been committed to over 240 projects under the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,000 organizations, and over $1.2 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources.

For more information please visit the website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient la croissance des entreprises et les exportations à Toronto

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 mai 2013

Toronto (Ontario) — Aujourd'hui, l'honorable Peter Van Loan, député fédéral de York–Simcoe, a annoncé, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), des contributions jusqu'à concurrence de 3,27 millions de dollars pour deux projets. Les projets appuieront les efforts que déploient les entreprises de l'Ontario pour accroître la part du marché international de leurs exportations de grande valeur. L'annonce a été faite au bureau de Polar Mobile à Toronto.

« Le contexte commercial canadien est solide, a déclaré le député Van Loan. Nous possédons les gens, les connaissances, les compétences et l'esprit d'entreprise nécessaires pour réussir. Les contributions annoncées aujourd'hui démontrent l'engagement de notre gouvernement à aider les petites entreprises à acquérir les compétences et les capitaux dont elles ont besoin pour offrir les produits et les services canadiens sur de nouveaux marchés dans le monde entier. »

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, la Ontario Chamber of Commerce (OCC) recevra une contribution jusqu'à concurrence de 2,67 millions de dollars à l'appui de l'expansion de son fonds de croissance mondial. Par le truchement de ce fonds, l'OCC aide les petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario qui élaborent et mettent en œuvre des stratégies d'accès aux marchés d'exportation pour leurs produits et leurs services, notamment en leur donnant accès à une formation et à de l'expertise.

Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario, Polar Mobile recevra une contribution jusqu'à concurrence de 600 000 $. Cette contribution lui permettra de continuer à élaborer sa plateforme de logiciel MediaEverywhere, dont des entreprises médiatiques à l'échelle mondiale se serviront pour créer et mettre en œuvre des sites Web et des applications utilisables sur tous les appareils. Conçue exclusivement pour les médias, la plateforme répond aux complexités du service mobile, accélère le délai de lancement des produits et réduit les coûts, tout en offrant un maximum de flexibilité. En 2012, Polar Mobile a reçu un investissement de six millions de dollars en capital de risque, dirigé par Georgian Partners, dont un montant de 1,3 million de dollars sera utilisé aux fins de ce projet. La société s'attend à que ce projet puisse créer jusqu'à 10 emplois à plein temps.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ces projets, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada démontre son engagement envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario. Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fournit 920 millions de dollars pour l'Agence sur cinq ans, à partir du 1er avril 2014. Dans le cadre du renouvellement, FedDev Ontario allouera 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour mettre en place un nouveau Fonds pour la fabrication de pointe en Ontario. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez visiter le site www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, le gouvernement du Canada reste concentré sur ce dont se soucient le plus les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de leurs rues et de leurs collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière personnelle.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contributions à la Ontario Chamber of Commerce et à Polar Mobile Inc.

L'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) investit jusqu'à concurrence de 3 270 000 $ dans deux projets, afin de soutenir la croissance des petites entreprises et d'accroître le rayonnement international des produits et services canadiens.

La Ontario Chamber of Commerce (OCC) est un organisme à but non lucratif qui représente les entreprises de l'Ontario depuis plus de 100 ans. Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, l'OCC recevra une contribution non remboursable jusqu'à concurrence de 2 670 000 $ pour élargir son appui aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) qui élaborent et mettent en œuvre des stratégies d'exportation pour leurs produits et leurs services. Par le truchement de son fonds de croissance mondial, l'OCC finance de petites et moyennes entreprises dans le cadre de ses deux volets : le programme Accès aux marchés d'exportation (AME) et le Fonds pour les exportateurs de l'Ontario (FEO). L'AME aide les entreprises à prendre de l'expansion sur les marchés étrangers et le FEO permet de mettre au point des stratégies ciblées en matière d'accès aux marchés d'exportation. On prévoit que ce projet aura pour effet d'accroître le nombre d'exportations de produits et de services de l'Ontario, puisqu'il encourage les petites et moyennes entreprises de l'Ontario à explorer de nouveaux marchés en vue d'améliorer leur productivité. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web à l'adresse www.occ.on.ca (anglais seulement).

Polar Mobile Group Inc. est une entreprise de médias numériques basée à Toronto, qui cible les appareils mobiles. Dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises de FedDev Ontario, la société recevra une contribution remboursable jusqu'à concurrence de 600 000 $. Cette contribution lui permettra d'élaborer sa plateforme de logiciel MediaEverywhere, qui vise la diffusion de médias numériques sur de multiples appareils. Actuellement, la société compte des clients dans plus de 12 pays du monde. La plateforme MediaEverywhere est une interface de logiciel qui permet d'afficher un contenu numérisé sur des appareils mobiles, des téléphones intelligents ou des systèmes d'exploitation d'ordinateur à partir d'une seule source (qui existe déjà dans beaucoup de cas). Plutôt que de devoir créer de multiples formats du même contenu numérisé (c'est à dire des sites Web mobiles distincts), les clients peuvent créer et mettre à jour une source de contenu, tandis que les utilisateurs bénéficient de la même fonctionnalité sur divers appareils. Cette plateforme permet aux clients de réaliser des économies substantielles et constitue un avantage réel pour la société. Polar Mobile a aussi attiré un investissement jusqu'à concurrence de 1,3 million de dollars aux fins de ce projet, qui a été offert par un groupe de sociétés de capital de risque sous la direction de Georgian Partners. La société s'attend à que ce projet puisse créer jusqu'à 10 emplois à plein temps. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web à l'adresse www.polarmobile.com (anglais seulement).

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, qui s'inscrit dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, qui s'inscrit dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, permet d'améliorer l'accès au financement pour les entreprises en démarrage et d'intensifier les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage. L'initiative aide aussi à accélérer la recherche et le développement de nouveaux produits et de nouvelles idées, et à les mettre en marché.

À ce jour, plus de 420 millions de dollars ont été engagés pour financer plus de 240 projets dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario. Cela a donné lieu à l'établissement de partenariats avec plus de 5 000 organisations et plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars d'investissement supplémentaires obtenus par effet de levier à partir de sources de financement presque exclusivement non gouvernementales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web à l'adresse www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :