Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Biotech Innovation at semiosBIO Technologies Inc.

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
July 23, 2013

Vineland Station, Ontario—A new Government of Canada investment will help semiosBIO Technologies Inc. to develop and commercialize the world's first pheromone-based bedbug management product. This investment was announced today at the company's Vineland Station location by Dean Allison, Member of Parliament for Niagara West–Glanbrook, on behalf of the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our Government is investing in the ideas and the people of southern Ontario to create jobs, growth and long-term prosperity," said MP Allison. "By supporting the innovative ideas here in southern Ontario, we are helping start-up companies and investors work together, and equipping businesses with the tools they need to succeed."

Under FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, semiosBIO Technologies Inc. will receive up to $474,000 to complete product development and pre-commercialization activities for a pest control management product known as SemiosGUARD. The product uses natural semio-chemicals, or pheromones, and offers an unprecedented alternative to traditional products. SemiosGUARD is expected to have a significant and positive impact on the hospitality sector and for emergency responders including fire fighters and paramedics. The company anticipates creating 21 positions during the implementation of the project activities, and an additional 35 jobs in southern Ontario by 2017 as a result of the project.

"FedDev Ontario's contribution to our project is essential to our goal of further developing and commercializing the world's first pheromone-based bedbug management product," said Dr. Michael Gilbert, founder and President of semiosBIO Technologies Inc. "We have the right innovative biotech expertise to take advantage of this market opportunity. This investment, and our own commitment along with the angel investment it has helped us to obtain, will position semiosBIO to bring a great new product to the world and to create local jobs in the process."

The success of the Investing in Business Innovation initiative relies on leveraging capital from venture capital and angel investors. FedDev Ontario funding for this project has allowed the company to attract up to $948,000 of investment from a group of an angel investors, who are members of the Niagara Angel Network, registered with the Network of Angel Organizations – Ontario.

Investing in Business Innovation, as part of the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, provides improved access to financing for start-up businesses, boosts private sector investment in start-up businesses, and helps accelerate the research and development of new products and ideas, and bring them to the marketplace.

To date, over $420 million in funding has been committed to over 240 projects under the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,000 organizations, and over $1.2 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014. As part of the renewal, FedDev Ontario will be allocating $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care most about: their families, the safety of our streets and communities, their pride in being a citizen of this country, and their personal financial security.

To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans l'innovation biotechnologique de semiosBIO Technologies Inc.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 23 juillet 2013

Vineland Station (Ontario) — Un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada aidera l'entreprise semiosBIO Technologies Inc. à mettre au point et à commercialiser le premier produit de gestion des punaises des lits communes à base de phéromones au monde. Cet investissement a été annoncé aujourd'hui dans les locaux de l'entreprise à Vineland Station par M. Dean Allison, député fédéral de Niagara-Ouest–Glanbrook, au nom de l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« Notre gouvernement investit dans les idées et les gens du Sud de l'Ontario pour favoriser la création d'emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme, a déclaré M. Allison. En soutenant les idées novatrices ici dans le Sud de l'Ontario, nous aidons les entreprises en démarrage et les investisseurs à travailler ensemble et nous fournissons aux entreprises les outils dont elles ont besoin pour réussir. »

Dans le cadre de l'initiative « Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises » de FedDev Ontario, semiosBIO Technologies Inc. recevra jusqu'à 474 000 dollars pour mener à bien les activités de mise au point et de précommercialisation d'un produit de lutte antiparasitaire connu sous le nom de SemiosGUARD. Ce produit utilise des substances sémiochimiques naturelles, que l'on appelle aussi phéromones, et constitue une solution de rechange sans pareil aux produits traditionnels. On s'attend à ce que SemiosGUARD ait des incidences à la fois importantes et positives pour le secteur de l'accueil et pour les intervenants d'urgence, comme les pompiers et les ambulanciers paramédicaux. L'entreprise s'attend à créer 21 postes pendant la période de mise en œuvre des activités liées au projet et 35 emplois supplémentaires dans le Sud de l'Ontario par l'intermédiaire du projet d'ici 2017.

« La contribution de FedDev Ontario à notre projet est essentielle à l'atteinte de notre objectif de poursuivre la mise au point et la commercialisation du premier produit de gestion des punaises des lits communes à base de phéromones au monde, a affirmé M. Michael Gilbert, fondateur et président de semiosBIO Technologies Inc. Nous avons les connaissances spécialisées innovatrices nécessaires en matière de biotechnologie pour profiter de cette occasion d'affaire. Cet investissement, jumelé à notre propre engagement et à l'investissement providentiel qu'il nous a aidé à obtenir, permettra à semiosBIO d'offrir au monde un nouveau produit remarquable et de créer des emplois locaux par la même occasion ».

La réussite de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises est tributaire de l'obtention, par effet de levier, de capital de risque et d'investissements providentiels. L'investissement de FedDev Ontario dans ce projet a permis à l'entreprise d'obtenir jusqu'à 948 000 dollars d'un groupe d'investisseurs providentiels, qui sont membres du Niagara Angel Network, inscrit auprès du Network of Angel Organizations – Ontario.

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, qui s'inscrit dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, permet d'améliorer l'accès au financement pour les entreprises en démarrage et d'intensifier les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage. L'initiative aide aussi à accélérer la recherche et le développement de nouveaux produits et de nouvelles idées, et à les mettre en marché.

À ce jour, plus de 420 millions de dollars ont été engagés pour financer plus de 240 projets dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario. Cela a donné lieu à l'établissement de partenariats avec plus de 5 000 organisations et plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars d'investissement supplémentaires obtenus par effet de levier à partir de sources de financement presque exclusivement non gouvernementales.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada démontre son engagement envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario. Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fournit 920 millions de dollars pour l'Agence sur cinq ans, à partir du 1er avril 2014. Dans le cadre du renouvellement, FedDev Ontario allouera 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour mettre en place un nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, le gouvernement du Canada reste concentré sur ce dont se soucient le plus les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de leurs rues et de leurs collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière personnelle.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez visiter le site www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :