Archived — Minister Goodyear Visits Belleville to Discuss Future Plans for Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
July 24, 2013

Belleville, Ontario—The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), along with Daryl Kramp, Member of Parliament for Prince Edward–Hastings, made a number of stops today in Belleville to discuss the role of FedDev Ontario in the region and seek input on future Agency programs for southern Ontario.

"Our Government is focused on the priorities of Canadians, including creating jobs and strengthening the economy here in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "I'm pleased to be here in Belleville with my colleague MP Kramp and to participate in these roundtable discussions to make certain we continue to create programs that help the businesses and workers in this community."

"I am pleased to host Minister Goodyear today in order to give community leaders an opportunity to discuss local economic projects and opportunities," said MP Kramp.

Minister Goodyear and MP Kramp first stopped at the Belleville Industrial Park for a tour of the facilities. Following the visit to the industrial park, they did a radio interview on CJBQ's Lorne Brooker Show. The pair finished off the day with a number of meetings and a roundtable discussion.

At today's roundtable, stakeholders provided their views on potential areas of focus for FedDev Ontario programs including: support for innovation and commercialization, business growth, productivity, and communities.

Since its launch in 2009, the Agency has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and strive to access new markets.

In the Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural Eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a convenor, advocate and catalyst to support the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear visite Belleville pour discuter de plans futurs visant l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 24 juillet 2013

Belleville (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), ainsi que Daryl Kramp, député de Prince Edward-Hastings, ont fait un certain nombre d'arrêts à Belleville aujourd'hui afin de discuter du rôle de FedDev Ontario dans la région et de recueillir des commentaires sur de futurs programmes de l'Agence pour le Sud de l'Ontario.

« Notre gouvernement est axé sur les priorités des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, ce qui comprend la création d'emplois et la croissance de l'économie ici même dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Je suis heureux d'être ici à Belleville avec mon collègue, le député Kramp, et de participer à ces tables rondes pour nous assurer que nous continuons de créer des programmes qui viennent en aide aux entreprises et aux travailleurs de cette collectivité. »

« Je suis heureux d'accueillir le ministre Goodyear aujourd'hui pour offrir aux dirigeants communautaires une occasion de discuter de projets et de possibilités économiques à l'échelle locale », a affirmé le député Kramp.

Le ministre Goodyear et le député Kramp se sont d'abord arrêtés au parc industriel de Belleville pour visiter les installations. Après la visite du parc industriel, ils ont accordé une entrevue radiophonique sur les ondes de CJBQ, lors de l'émission Lorne Brooker Show. Les deux hommes ont terminé la journée avec un certain nombre de réunions et une table ronde.

Lors de la table ronde d'aujourd'hui, les intervenants ont donné leur avis sur des secteurs d'intervention possibles pour les programmes de FedDev Ontario, dont les suivants : le soutien à l'innovation et à la commercialisation, la croissance des entreprises, la productivité et les collectivités.

Depuis son lancement en 2009, l'Agence a réalisé des progrès importants dans la création d'emplois et la croissance de l'économie. Cependant, le Sud de l'Ontario continue de subir de grandes pressions, et les entreprises et les travailleurs ont besoin plus que jamais de faire preuve d'innovation et de productivité, ainsi que de chercher à pénétrer de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada démontre son engagement envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario.

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 alloue 920 millions de dollars pour FedDev Ontario sur cinq ans, y compris 200 millions de dollars pour un nouveau Fonds de la fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à compter du 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera également de promouvoir le développement commercial, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans les régions rurales de l'Est de l'Ontario en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario pour cinq autres années.

Avec ce financement renouvelé, FedDev Ontario continuera d'agir comme rassembleur, défenseur des intérêts régionaux et catalyseur afin d'appuyer le développement d'une économie du Sud de l'Ontario prospère et concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale.

Des renseignements sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca au fur et à mesure qu'ils seront disponibles; les intervenants sont donc invités à y revenir régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stephanie Thomas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-960-7728

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :