Archived — Minister Goodyear Visits Sarnia to Discuss Future Plans for Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
August 28, 2013

Sarnia, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), along with Patricia Davidson, Member of Parliament for Sarnia–Lambton, made a number of stops in the Sarnia area today to discuss the role of FedDev Ontario in the region and seek input on future Agency programs for southern Ontario.

"Our Government is focused on the priorities of Canadians, including creating jobs and strengthening the economy here in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "I'm pleased to be here in Sarnia with my colleague MP Davidson and to make a significant announcement for the region; to participate in a roundtable discussion to make certain we continue to create programs that help the businesses and workers in this community; and to tour an exciting and innovative project in the region."

"I am very pleased to welcome Minister Goodyear to Sarnia," stated MP Davidson. "Our discussions today were centered around generating prosperity and a healthy economic climate and I am glad that the Minister shares our vision for creating this climate in southern Ontario."

Minister Goodyear and MP Davidson first stopped at BioAmber for a meeting and to announce FedDev Ontario funding of $12 million for its bio-succinic acid plant. Following this, the Minister and MP Davidson met with stakeholders for a roundtable discussion.

At today's roundtable, stakeholders provided their views on potential areas of focus for FedDev Ontario programs including: support for innovation and commercialization, business growth, productivity and communities.

The Minister and MP finished up the day with a tour of Woodland Biofuels Inc. which received $800,000 in FedDev Ontario funding to operate a plant to demonstrate the efficiency and scalability of cellulosic ethanol production using its unique technology. The patented technology uses a series of chemical reaction steps to produce cellulosic ethanol biofuel from plant materials, including agricultural and forestry waste.

Since its launch in 2009, the Agency has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and strive to access new markets.

In the Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear visite Sarnia pour discuter des plans futurs touchant les emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 28 août 2013

Sarnia (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et Mme Patricia Davidson, députée fédérale de Sarnia–Lambton, se sont arrêtés en divers endroits dans la région de Sarnia aujourd'hui, pour discuter du rôle de FedDev Ontario dans la région et obtenir des commentaires sur ce que devraient être les futurs programmes de l'Agence destinés au Sud de l'Ontario.

« Notre gouvernement tient compte d'abord et avant tout des priorités des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, dont la création d'emplois et le renforcement de l'économie ici dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Je me réjouis d'être ici à Sarnia avec ma collègue députée, Mme Davidson, pour faire une annonce importante pour la région, participer à une table ronde visant à nous assurer que nous continuerons à concevoir des programmes qui aideront les entreprises et les travailleurs dans cette collectivité et visiter un projet fort intéressant et novateur dans la région. »

« Je suis très heureuse de recevoir le ministre Goodyear à Sarnia, a affirmé la députée Davidson. Nos discussions d'aujourd'hui ont porté sur la création de la prospérité et d'un climat économique sain et je suis ravie de constater que le ministre partage notre vision pour créer ce climat dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

Le ministre Goodyear et la députée Davidson se sont arrêtés en premier chez BioAmber où ils ont participé à une réunion et ont annoncé un financement de 12 millions de dollars, de FedDev Ontario, qui ira à l'usine d'acide succinique bio‑sourcé de l'entreprise. Le ministre et la députée Davidson ont ensuite participé à une table ronde et discuté avec les intervenants. 

Lors de la table ronde d'aujourd'hui, les intervenants ont donné leurs points de vue sur ce que devraient viser les programmes de FedDev Ontario, y compris le soutien à l'innovation et à la commercialisation, la croissance des entreprises, la productivité et les collectivités.

Le ministre et la députée ont terminé la journée par une visite à Woodland Biofuels Inc., une entreprise qui a reçu un financement de 800 000 dollars de la part de FedDev Ontario pour exploiter une usine démontrant l'efficacité et le potentiel d'exploitation à l'échelle commerciale de la production d'éthanol cellulosique à l'aide d'une technologie unique. Cette technologie brevetée utilise une série de réactions chimiques pour produire un biocombustible d'éthanol cellulosique avec des végétaux, y compris les déchets agricoles et forestiers.

Depuis sa création en 2009, l'Agence a grandement contribué à créer des emplois et à générer la croissance économique. Toutefois, le Sud de l'Ontario subit encore des pressions considérables et, plus que jamais, les entreprises et les travailleurs doivent faire preuve d'innovation et de productivité et s'efforcer d'ouvrir de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, FedDev Ontario dispose d'un budget de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, ce qui comprend un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, débutant le 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de favoriser le développement d'entreprise, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans la région rurale de l'Est de l'Ontario, en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario de cinq ans.

Avec ces fonds renouvelés, FedDev Ontario continuera de se faire le champion de la région sur le plan du soutien au développement d'une économie prospère et concurrentielle mondialement propre au Sud de l'Ontario.

Les détails sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés dans le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca à mesure qu'ils deviennent disponibles. Nous recommandons aux intervenants de consulter le site régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :