Archived — Minister Goodyear Visits Pickering to Discuss Future Plans for Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity in Southern Ontario

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 3, 2013

Pickering, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), was in Pickering today to discuss the role of FedDev Ontario in the region. Minister Goodyear was joined by Corneliu Chisu, Member of Parliament for Pickering-Scarborough East.

"Our Government is focused on the priorities of Canadians, including creating jobs and strengthening the economy here in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "I am pleased to be here in Pickering and to have a chance to meet with people here as we continue to create programs that help businesses, workers and communities."

"It is a pleasure to host Minister Goodyear here in the Pickering area, and to give community and business leaders an opportunity to discuss local innovative economic projects and opportunities," said MP Chisu. "The Government of Canada remains committed to creating jobs and long-term economic growth by furthering our regional development through FedDev Ontario programs."

Minister Goodyear and MP Chisu first stopped at the Pickering Civic Complex where the Minister highlighted some of the positive impacts the Agency has had over the past four years, and spoke about the renewal and future of FedDev Ontario. Following the speech, the Minister and MP Chisu met with stakeholders for a roundtable discussion.

At today's roundtable, stakeholders provided their views on potential areas of focus for FedDev Ontario programs including: support for innovation and commercialization, business growth, productivity and communities.

The Minister and the MP finished up the day with a tour of the city which included a number of visits with local businesses.

Since its launch in 2009, FedDev Ontario has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and strive to access new markets.

In Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region, supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear rend visite à Pickering pour discuter des plans futurs touchant les emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme dans le sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 3 septembre 2013

Pickering (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), était à Pickering aujourd'hui pour discuter du rôle de FedDev Ontario dans la région. Il était accompagné de M. Corneliu Chisu, député de Pickering-Scarborough East.

« Notre gouvernement met l'accent sur les priorités des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, dont la création d'emplois et le renforcement de l'économie ici dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Je me réjouis d'être à Pickering et d'avoir l'occasion de rencontrer les gens d'ici tandis que nous continuons à concevoir des programmes qui aideront les entreprises, les travailleurs et les collectivités. »

« Je suis très heureux de recevoir le ministre Goodyear ici dans la région de Pickering et d'offrir aux gens de la collectivité et aux chefs d'entreprise l'occasion de discuter des possibilités de lancer localement des projets économiques novateurs, a affirmé le député Chisu. Le gouvernement du Canada reste déterminé à créer des emplois et à assurer la croissance économique à long terme en favorisant le développement de notre région dans le cadre des programmes de FedDev Ontario. »

Le ministre Goodyear et le député Chisu se sont d'abord arrêtés au Pickering Civic Complex où le ministre a souligné certaines des retombées engendrées par l'Agence, au cours des quatre dernières années. Il a aussi parlé du renouvellement et de l'avenir de FedDev Ontario. Après le discours, le ministre et le député Chisu ont ensuite participé à une table ronde et discuté avec les intervenants.

Lors de la table ronde d'aujourd'hui, les intervenants ont donné leurs points de vue sur ce que devraient viser les programmes de FedDev Ontario, avec entre autres le soutien à l'innovation et à la commercialisation, la croissance des entreprises, la productivité et les collectivités.

Le ministre et le député ont terminé la journée par une visite de la ville incluant la visite de certaines entreprises locales.

Depuis sa création en 2009, l'Agence a grandement contribué à créer des emplois et à générer la croissance économique. Toutefois, le Sud de l'Ontario subit encore des pressions considérables et, plus que jamais, les entreprises et les travailleurs doivent faire preuve d'innovation et de productivité et réussir à ouvrir de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, FedDev Ontario dispose d'un budget de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, ce qui comprend un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à compter du 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de favoriser le développement d'entreprise, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans la région rurale de l'Est de l'Ontario, en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario de cinq ans.

Avec ces fonds renouvelés, FedDev Ontario continuera de se faire le champion de la région sur le plan du soutien au développement d'une économie prospère et concurrentielle mondialement du Sud de l'Ontario.

Les détails sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca à mesure qu'ils deviennent disponibles. Nous recommandons aux intervenants de consulter le site régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :