Archived — Minister Goodyear Visits Vaughan to Discuss Future Plans for Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 5, 2013

Vaughan (Ontario) — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), along with Julian Fantino, Member of Parliament for Vaughan and Minister of Veterans Affairs, was in Vaughan today to meet with stakeholders about the role of FedDev Ontario in the region and seek input on future Agency programs for southern Ontario.

"Our Government is focused on the priorities of Canadians, including creating jobs and strengthening the economy here in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "I'm pleased to be here in Vaughan with my colleague MP Fantino to participate in a roundtable discussion to make certain we continue to create programs that help the businesses and workers in this community."

"I am very pleased to welcome Minister Goodyear to Vaughan," said MP Fantino. "Our discussions today focused on generating prosperity and a healthy economic climate and I am glad that the Minister shares our vision for creating this climate in southern Ontario."

While in Vaughan, Minister Goodyear and MP Fantino visited Vida Holdings Corp. which received an investment of up to $750,000 from FedDev Ontario to develop and commercialize its new catalytic converter technology, which aims to reduce costs and improve fuel economy.

Since its launch in 2009, FedDev Ontario has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and must strive to access new markets.

In Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region by supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear se rend à Vaughan pour discuter de plans futurs visant l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 5 septembre 2013

Vaughan (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et M. Julian Fantino, député fédéral de Vaughan, était sur place aujourd'hui pour rencontrer les intervenants afin de discuter du rôle de FedDev Ontario dans la région et d'obtenir des commentaires sur les futurs programmes de l'Agence destinés au Sud de l'Ontario.

« Notre gouvernement met l'accent sur les priorités des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, dont la création d'emplois et le renforcement de l'économie ici dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Je me réjouis d'être ici à Vaughan, avec mon collègue le député Fantino, pour participer à un échange en table ronde visant à nous s'assurer que nous continuerons à concevoir des programmes qui aideront les entreprises et les travailleurs de cette collectivité. »

« Je suis très heureux de recevoir le ministre Goodyear à Vaughan, a affirmé le député Fantino. Nos discussions d'aujourd'hui ont porté principalement sur la création de la prospérité et d'un climat économique sain et je suis ravi de constater que le ministre partage notre vision pour créer ce climat dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

À Vaughan, le ministre Goodyear et le député Fantino ont visité Vida Holdings Corp., une entreprise qui a reçu un investissement de 750 000 dollars de la part de FedDev Ontario pour mettre au point et commercialiser une nouvelle technologie de convertisseur catalytique visant à réduire les coûts et à améliorer l'économie de carburant.

Depuis sa création en 2009, FedDev Ontario a fait des progrès considérables dans le domaine de la création d'emplois et de la croissance économique. Toutefois, le Sud de l'Ontario subit encore des pressions considérables et, plus que jamais, nos entreprises et nos travailleurs doivent être plus innovateurs et productifs et s'efforcer d'accéder à de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, FedDev Ontario dispose d'un budget de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, ce qui comprend un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, débutant le 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de favoriser le développement d'entreprise, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans la région rurale de l'Est de l'Ontario, en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario de cinq ans.

Avec ces fonds renouvelés, FedDev Ontario continuera de se faire le champion de la région en appuyant le développement d'une économie prospère et concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Les détails sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca à mesure qu'ils deviennent disponibles. Nous recommandons aux intervenants de consulter le site régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :