Archived — Government of Canada Supports Cloud Security Innovator in Bolton

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 6, 2013

Bolton, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), joined by David Tilson, Member of Parliament for Dufferin–Caledon, announced today that PerspecSys Inc. is receiving support from the Government of Canada to accelerate the development of its cloud security solution.

"Support for businesses like PerspecSys Inc. will boost private sector investment, creating jobs and growth in Bolton," said Minister of State Goodyear. "With Economic Action Plan 2013, we have renewed our government's commitment to investing in innovation to create long-term prosperity in southern Ontario."

Under FedDev Ontario's Investing in Business Innovation initiative, PerspecSys is receiving a repayable contribution of up to $742,500 to accelerate commercialization of new versions of its cloud gateway solution, which provides data privacy, residency, security, and compliance capabilities for enterprises using cloud software platforms. The company's Cloud Data Protection Gateway intercepts sensitive data and secures it before it is shared in the cloud. This project will enable the company to expand and enhance its gateway solution.

"This investment through the Investing in Business Innovation initiative will position PerspecSys Inc. for continued success," said MP Tilson. "This is an example of how the Government of Canada is supporting businesses in southern Ontario as part of our commitment to bring jobs, growth and long-term prosperity to the region."

The company expects that this project will create up to 15 high-value, full-time jobs.

"FedDev Ontario's financial participation enables PerspecSys to accelerate our product development plans and rapidly expand the reach of our solution," said David Canellos, CEO of PerspecSys. "We are known to be the innovator in the marketplace and our product breakthroughs have enabled us to quickly establish ourselves as the leader in our space."

FedDev Ontario's investment has enabled PerspecSys to attract additional investment from GrowthWorks, Intel Capital, Paladin Capital, and Ascent Venture Partners.

Investing in Business Innovation is boosting private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market. The Government of Canada is focusing on a portfolio of early-stage businesses that are recognized by the investor community as having the potential for high-growth and a net long-term economic benefit for southern Ontario. The investor community includes accredited angel investors from recognized angel investor networks in southern Ontario registered with the Network of Angel Organizations – Ontario and venture capital providers who are members of Canada's Venture Capital & Private Equity Association.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014. As part of the renewal, FedDev Ontario will be allocating $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care most about: their families, the safety of our streets and communities, their pride in being a citizen of this country, and their personal financial security.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada soutient une entreprise innovatrice dans le domaine de la sécurité infonuagique à Bolton

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 6 septembre 2013

Bolton (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario, a annoncé aujourd'hui en compagnie de M. David Tilson, député fédéral de Dufferin–Caledon, que l'entreprise PerspecSys Inc. reçoit un appui de la part du gouvernement du Canada pour accélérer le développement de sa solution de sécurité infonuagique.

« Le soutien à des entreprises comme PerspecSys intensifiera les investissements du secteur privé, ce qui générera des emplois et favorisera la croissance à Bolton, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. En adoptant le Plan d'action économique de 2013, nous avons renouvelé l'engagement de notre gouvernement à investir dans l'innovation afin d'assurer la prospérité à long terme dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

Dans le cadre du programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, PerspecSys reçoit une contribution financière remboursable jusqu'à concurrence de 742 500 dollars pour accélérer la commercialisation de nouvelles versions de sa solution de sécurité infonuagique, une solution qui dote les entreprises recourant à des plateformes logicielles infonuagiques de la capacité d'assurer la confidentialité, l'hébergement, la sécurité et la conformité de leurs données. La passerelle Cloud Data Protection de l'entreprise intercepte les données sensibles et les sécurise avant de les diffuser dans le nuage. Ce projet permettra à l'entreprise d'élargir et d'améliorer sa solution passerelle.

« Cet investissement réalisé dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises permettra à PerspecSys Inc. de continuer à connaître du succès, a déclaré le député Tilson. Cela illustre en quoi le gouvernement du Canada soutient les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario dans le cadre de notre engagement à créer des emplois dans la région et à y favoriser la croissance et la prospérité à long terme. »

L'entreprise estime que son projet créera jusqu'à 15 emplois à temps plein à forte valeur ajoutée.

« La participation financière de FedDev Ontario permet à PerspecSys d'accélérer le développement de nos produits et d'élargir rapidement la portée de notre solution, a déclaré M. David Canellos, président-directeur général de PerspecSys Inc. Nous sommes connus comme des innovateurs au sein du marché et la percée de nos produits nous a permis de rapidement devenir le chef de file dans notre domaine. »

L'investissement de FedDev Ontario a permis à PerspecSys d'attirer des investissements supplémentaires de GrowthWorks, d'Intel Capital, de Paladin Capital et d'Ascent Venture Partners.

Le programme Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises permet d'intensifier les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage, afin d'accélérer le développement de nouveaux produits, de nouveaux procédés et de nouvelles pratiques et de les mettre en marché. Le gouvernement du Canada favorise la création d'un portefeuille d'entreprises en démarrage reconnues par le milieu des investisseurs comme ayant le potentiel d'atteindre une croissance élevée et de générer des avantages économiques nets à long terme pour le Sud de l'Ontario. Le milieu des investisseurs compte des investisseurs providentiels accrédités membres de réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario reconnus et inscrits auprès du Network of Angel Organizations – Ontario et des sociétés de capital de risque membres de l'Association canadienne du capital de risque et d'investissement.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario. Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement consacrera 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans au renouvellement de l'Agence à compter du 1er avril 2014. Dans le cadre de ce renouvellement, FedDev Ontario allouera 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour la création d'un nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario. Pour en connaître davantage, veuillez consulter www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou composer le 1-866-593-5505.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, notre gouvernement demeure concentré sur les quatre priorités qui comptent le plus pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de nos rues et de nos collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :