Archived — Minister Goodyear Kicks Off 100th International Plowing Match

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 17, 2013

West Perth, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), along with Gary Schellenberger, Member of Parliament for Perth–Wellington, participated in the 100th edition of the International Plowing Match today in Perth County.

Minister Goodyear offered congratulations on behalf of Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Government of Canada and toured the site grounds with MP Schellenberger. He also highlighted the accomplishments FedDev Ontario has achieved for the people, businesses and communities of southern Ontario.

"Congratulations to the International Plowing Match on this very special centennial occasion," said Minister Goodyear. "This area is one of the most valuable and productive agricultural regions of southern Ontario, and the popularity and longevity of this event drives homes the important role the agricultural sector plays both here and throughout our region."

"I am very pleased to welcome Minister Goodyear to the International Plowing Match here in Perth County," said MP Schellenberger. "Our Government is committed to creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for all Canadians, including families right here in the County of Perth."

Since its launch in 2009, FedDev Ontario has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. In Perth-Wellington, this has meant investments of up to $42.6 million in 77 projects across the region.

However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and must strive to access new markets.

Economic Action Plan 2013 demonstrated continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region by supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear donne le coup d'envoi au 100e Championnat international de labour

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 septembre 2013

West Perth (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), ainsi que Gary Schellenberger, le député fédéral de Perth–Wellington, ont participé à la 100e édition du Championnat international de labour aujourd'hui dans le comté de Perth.

Le ministre Goodyear a offert des félicitations au nom du premier ministre Stephen Harper et du gouvernement du Canada et a visité les lieux avec le député Schellenberger. Il a également parlé de ce que FedDev Ontario avait accompli pour les gens, les entreprises et les communautés du Sud de l'Ontario.

« Je souhaite féliciter les organisateurs en cette occasion très spéciale, le centenaire du Championnat international de labour, a dit le ministre Goodyear. Cette région est l'une des régions agricoles les plus importantes et productives du Sud de l'Ontario, et la popularité et la longévité de cet événement font ressortir le rôle important joué par le secteur agricole ici et dans l'ensemble de la région. »

« Je suis très heureux d'accueillir le ministre Goodyear au Championnat international de labour, dans le comté de Perth, » a affirmé le député Schellenberger. « Notre gouvernement demeure engagé à créer des emplois, à favoriser la croissance et à assurer la prospérité à long terme pour tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, y compris les familles qui sont ici, dans le comté de Perth. »

Depuis sa création en 2009, FedDev Ontario a grandement contribué à créer des emplois et à générer la croissance économique. À Perth-Wellington, cela s'est traduit par des investissements jusqu'à concurrence de 42,6 millions de dollars dans 77 projets partout dans la région.

Toutefois, le Sud de l'Ontario subit encore des pressions considérables et, plus que jamais, les entreprises et les travailleurs doivent faire preuve davantage d'innovation et de productivité et doivent s'efforcer d'accéder à de nouveaux marchés.

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 a démontré l'engagement continu de notre gouvernement envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, FedDev Ontario dispose d'un budget de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, ce qui comprend un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à compter du 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de favoriser le développement d'entreprises, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans la région rurale de l'Est de l'Ontario, en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario de cinq ans.

Avec ces fonds renouvelés, FedDev Ontario continuera de se faire le champion de la région en soutenant le développement d'une économie du Sud de l'Ontario prospère et concurrentielle sur le plan mondial.

Les détails sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca à mesure qu'ils deviennent disponibles. Nous recommandons aux intervenants de consulter le site régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :