Archived — Government of Canada Supports Innovative Young Entrepreneurs in Southern Ontario

Archived Information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 18, 2013

Toronto, Ontario — A new investment of up to $626,000 from the Government of Canada will allow the Canadian Youth Business Foundation (CYBF) to provide entrepreneurship training for up to 225 young entrepreneurs and seed funding to help launch up to 12 new innovative businesses in southern Ontario. The investment was announced today by the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

"Our Government's top priority is creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will support the Canadian Youth Business Foundation in helping science and technology entrepreneurs to develop their business and management skills and launch innovative start-up companies, for the benefit of all of southern Ontario."

The project is receiving a joint investment from FedDev Ontario and the National Research Council of Canada (NRC). The Agency is investing up to $378,000 through its Scientists and Engineers in Business initiative to help entrepreneurs launch their businesses, while the NRC, through the Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP), is providing up to $248,000 to help entrepreneurs engage with customers early in the innovation life cycle.

"This pilot project is designed to bring technology-based firms in contact with target clients as early as possible in the innovation process and thus increase the likelihood of commercial success," said Bogdan Ciobanu, Vice President of NRC-IRAP.

Under the project, the CYBF will focus on assisting recently displaced science, technology, engineering and mathematics employees to acquire entrepreneurial skills and seed funding needed to start an innovative company.

The Canadian Youth Business Foundation is a national non-profit organization dedicated to growing Canada's economy through developing young entrepreneurs. The organization has invested in more than 5,600 young entrepreneurs, whose businesses have created more than 23,000 new jobs, and generated $164 million in tax revenue. The CYBF delivers its program through a national network of 185 community partners and more than 4,000 volunteers including business mentors.

"We are grateful for the support of FedDev Ontario and NRC-IRAP for the launch of this initiative," said Julia Deans, CEO, Canadian Youth Business Foundation. "This partnership, along with curriculum from Dr. Alex Bruton's The Innographer's DIY Innovation Toolkit™, will provide individuals with the skills and support they need to integrate innovative thinking into their own entrepreneurial ventures."

Scientists and Engineers in Business, one of FedDev Ontario's Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, aims to improve the success rate of start-up businesses in southern Ontario by developing business skills of entrepreneurs in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math, and providing targeted support to help them bring innovative ideas and products to market.

To date, over $420 million in funding has been committed to over 240 projects under the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,000 organizations, and over $1.2 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014. As part of the renewal, FedDev Ontario will be allocating $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

The National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP) provides a range of both technical and business-oriented advisory services along with necessary financial support to qualified innovative small- and medium-sized enterprises in Canada. It engages in cost-shared research and development (R&D) projects with its clients. Firms helped by NRC-IRAP are better equipped to perform basic R&D, commercialize new products and processes, and access new markets.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care most about: their families, the safety of their streets and communities, their pride in being citizens of this country, and their personal financial security.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario and @nrc_cnrc.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Media Relations Team
National Research Council of Canada
613-991-1431
1-855-282-1637 (24/7)
media@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Archivé — Le gouvernement du Canada appuie de jeunes entrepreneurs innovateurs dans le sud de l'Ontario

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 18 septembre 2013

Toronto (Ontario) — Un nouvel investissement pouvant atteindre 626 000 dollars du gouvernement du Canada permettra à la Fondation canadienne des jeunes entrepreneurs (FCJE) d'offrir une formation en entrepreneuriat ainsi qu'un financement de démarrage à, au plus, 225 jeunes entrepreneurs pour les aider à lancer jusqu'à 12 nouvelles entreprises novatrices dans le Sud de l'Ontario. L'investissement a été annoncé aujourd'hui par l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

« La création d'emploi, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme du Canada correspondent aux priorités principales de notre gouvernement, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Cet investissement permettra à la Fondation canadienne des jeunes entrepreneurs d'aider les entrepreneurs dans les domaines des sciences et de la technologie à perfectionner leurs compétences en affaires et en gestion et à démarrer de nouvelles entreprises innovatrices dont pourra tirer parti l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario. »

Le projet bénéficie d'un investissement conjoint de FedDev Ontario et du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC). FedDev Ontario investit jusqu'à concurrence de 378 000 dollars dans le cadre de l'initiative Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, qui vise à aider les entrepreneurs à démarrer en affaires, alors que le CNRC investit jusqu'à concurrence de 248 000 dollars dans le cadre du Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI-CNRC), dont le but consiste à aider les entrepreneurs à fidéliser des clients dès le début du cycle de vie de l'innovation.

« Ce projet pilote est conçu pour aider les sociétés à vocation technologique à communiquer avec les clients cibles le plus tôt possible au cours du processus d'innovation, accroissant ainsi les possibilités de réussite commerciale », a déclaré M. Bogdan Ciobanu, vice-président, PARI-CNRC.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, la FCJE vise à aider les employés déplacés des domaines des sciences, des technologies, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques à acquérir des compétences entrepreneuriales et à obtenir les fonds dont ils ont besoin pour démarrer des entreprises novatrices.

La Fondation canadienne des jeunes entrepreneurs est un organisme national à but non lucratif dont la mission consiste à stimuler la croissance économique du Canada en aidant de jeunes entrepreneurs à perfectionner leurs compétences. Cet organisme a investi dans plus de 5 600 jeunes entrepreneurs dont les entreprises ont créé plus de 23 000 emplois et produit 164 millions de dollars en recettes fiscales. La FCJE offre ses programmes par l'entremise d'un réseau national formé de 185 partenaires communautaires et de plus de 4 000 bénévoles, y compris des mentors du milieu des affaires.

« Nous sommes reconnaissants de l'aide reçue de FedDev Ontario et du PARI-CNRC pour le lancement de ce projet, a déclaré Mme Julia Deans, PDG de la Fondation canadienne des jeunes entrepreneurs. Ce partenariat, jumelé à la trousse d'outils « The Innographer's DIY Innovation Toolkit™ », du professeur Alex Bruton, offrira aux jeunes entrepreneurs la possibilité d'acquérir les compétences et le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour intégrer leurs idées innovatrices dans leurs projets d'entreprise . »

Scientifiques et ingénieurs en affaires, l'une des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario de FedDev Ontario, est conçue dans le but d'améliorer le taux de démarrage d'entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario en perfectionnant les compétences en affaires des jeunes entrepreneurs dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l'ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM) et en offrant un soutien ciblé afin de les aider à commercialiser des idées et des produits novateurs.

Jusqu'à ce jour, plus de 420 millions de dollars ont été engagés pour financer plus de 240 projets dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario. Cela a donné lieu à l'établissement de partenariats comprenant plus de 5 000 organisations, et plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars d'investissement supplémentaires ont été obtenus par effet de levier à partir de sources de financement presque exclusivement non gouvernementales.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario. Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fournit 920 millions de dollars pour l'Agence sur cinq ans, à partir du 1er avril 2014. Dans le cadre du renouvellement, FedDev Ontario allouera 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour mettre en place un nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez visiter le www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (PARI-CNRC) offre un large éventail de services de consultation de nature technique et commerciale ainsi qu'une aide financière aux petites et moyennes entreprises novatrices admissibles du Canada. Le Programme participe à des projets de recherche-développement (R-D) à coûts partagés avec ses clients. Les sociétés bénéficiant de l'aide du PARI-CNRC sont ainsi mieux équipées pour effectuer de la R-D, commercialiser de nouveaux produits et services et accéder à de nouveaux marchés.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, le gouvernement du Canada reste concentré sur ce dont se soucient le plus les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de nos rues et de nos collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière personnelle.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario et @cnrc_nrc.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Équipe des relations avec les médias
Conseil national de recherches du Canada
613-991-1431
1-855-282-1637 (24/7)
media@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

Date de modification :