Archived — Minister Goodyear Visits St. Catharines to Discuss Future Plans for Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 26, 2013

St. Catharines, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), along with Rick Dykstra, Member of Parliament for St. Catharines, visited the St. Catharines area today to discuss the role of FedDev Ontario in the region and seek input on future Agency programs for southern Ontario.

"Our Government is focused on the priorities of Canadians, including creating jobs and the conditions for a strong, prosperous economy in southern Ontario," said Minister Goodyear. "I'm pleased to be here in St. Catharines with my colleague, MP Dykstra to participate in a roundtable to discuss how we can continue to create excellent programs that benefit the businesses and individuals in this community."

"I am proud to welcome Minister Goodyear to St. Catharines," said MP Dykstra. "Our conversations today focused on creating prosperity and a strong economic climate, and I am glad that the Minister shares our vision for generating this success in our community and across southern Ontario."

At today's roundtable, stakeholders provided their views on potential areas of focus for FedDev Ontario programs including: support for innovation and commercialization, business growth, productivity and communities.

The Minister and MP followed the roundtable with a tour of Brock BioLinc, which received $843,500 in FedDev Ontario funding to help Brock University create a business incubator called BioLinc, designed to establish closer ties between leading bioscience researchers and local entrepreneurs.

"This investment has helped Brock to enhance the capacity of our new bioscience research complex to foster innovation," said Jack Lightstone, President, Brock University. "These funds have also enabled us to advance one of our key strategic priorities, which is to partner with local businesses and business development agencies in the area to provide incubation services for the bio-manufacturing sector of our region's economy."

Finally, Minister Goodyear and MP Dykstra made their way to Biolyse Pharma, to announce an investment of up to $2.9 million for the company under FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative. The funding will be used to expand the company's state-of-the-art research and production facilities, at which injectable chemotherapy drugs are manufactured for sale in Canadian and international markets.

"The significance of this repayable contribution encourages Biolyse to move forward with its development program, which will expand its line of vital medicines made by Canadians for Canadians," said Claude Mercure, Owner of Biolyse Pharma.

Since its launch in 2009, the Agency has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and strive to access new markets.

In Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear rend visite à St. Catharines pour discuter des plans futurs touchant les emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 26 septembre 2013

St. Catharines (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et M. Rick Dykstra, député de St. Catharines, se sont rendus dans la région de St. Catharines aujourd'hui pour discuter du rôle de FedDev Ontario et obtenir des commentaires sur les programmes que prévoit y offrir l'Agence.

« Notre gouvernement tient compte des priorités des Canadiennes et des Canadiens, dont la création d'emplois et le renforcement de l'économie ici dans le Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Je me réjouis d'être ici à St. Catharines avec mon collègue, le député Dykstra, pour participer à une table ronde pour discuter des moyens de continuer à concevoir d'excellents programmes qui profitent aux entreprises et aux travailleurs de cette collectivité. »

« Je suis fier de recevoir le ministre Goodyear à St. Catharines, a ajouté le député Dykstra. Nos discussions d'aujourd'hui ont porté sur les moyens de favoriser la prospérité et d'établir un climat économique fort et je suis ravi de constater que le ministre partage notre vision quant à la façon d'engendrer le succès dans notre collectivité, tout comme dans l'ensemble du Sud de l'Ontario. »

Lors de la table ronde d'aujourd'hui, les intervenants ont partagé leurs points de vue sur ce que devraient viser les programmes de FedDev Ontario, notamment le soutien à l'innovation et à la commercialisation, la croissance des entreprises, la productivité et les collectivités.

Après la table ronde, le ministre et le député ont visité l'entreprise Brock Bio Inc., qui a reçu un investissement de 843 500 $ de FedDev Ontario pour aider l'Université Brock à créer un incubateur d'entreprises appelé BioLinc pour nouer des liens plus étroits entre les principaux chercheurs du domaine des sciences biologiques et les entrepreneurs locaux.

« Cet investissement a aidé l'Université Brock à renforcer la capacité de son nouveau centre de recherches en sciences biologiques à favoriser l'innovation, a dit M. Jack Lightstone, recteur de l'Université. Ces fonds nous ont également permis de faire progresser le dossier d'une de nos priorités stratégiques, soit l'établissement de partenariats avec les entreprises locales et les organismes de développement des entreprises de la région, dans le but d'offrir des services d'incubation dans le secteur de la biofabrication. »

En dernier lieu, le ministre Goodyear et le député Dykstra se sont rendus chez Biolyse Pharma pour annoncer un investissement d'un maximum de 2,9 millions de dollars dans cette entreprise, dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario. Ces fonds serviront à agrandir les installations de recherche et de fabrication de pointe de l'entreprise, qui produisent des médicaments injectables de chimiothérapie vendus sur les marchés canadiens et internationaux.

« Le montant du prêt accordé incitera Biolyse Pharma à poursuivre son programme de développement qui lui permettra d'ajouter à sa gamme de médicaments vitaux fabriqués par des Canadiens pour les Canadiens », a déclaré M. Claude Mercure, propriétaire de Biolyse Pharma.

Depuis sa création en 2009, l'Agence a grandement contribué à la création d'emplois et à promouvoir la croissance économique. Toutefois, le Sud de l'Ontario subit encore des pressions considérables et, plus que jamais, nos entreprises et nos travailleurs doivent faire preuve d'innovation et de productivité et tout faire en vue d'obtenir accès à de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario.

Ce plan accordait à FedDev Ontario un budget de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, dont un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à compter du 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera également de favoriser le développement d'entreprise, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans la région rurale de l'Est de l'Ontario, en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario de cinq ans.

Le renouvellement de ce financement permettra à FedDev Ontario de continuer de se faire le champion du Sud de l'Ontario en favorisant le développement d'une économie prospère et concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale.

Des renseignements sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca au fur et à mesure qu'ils seront disponibles; les intervenants sont donc invités à y revenir régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :