Archived — Government of Canada Supporting Job Creation with St. Catharines Area Pharmaceuticals Company

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 26, 2013

St. Catharines, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), alongside Rick Dykstra, Member of Parliament for St. Catharines, today announced a Government of Canada investment that will allow Biolyse Pharma to expand its facilities and product line of injectable chemotherapy drugs.

"Our Government's top priority remains creating high-value jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for Canadians," said Minister Goodyear. "This investment will allow Canada's only manufacturer of injectable chemotherapy drugs to expand its operations in St. Catharines, bring high-quality jobs to the local pharmaceutical industry, and help meet the global demand for affordable, life-saving cancer treatments."

"Today, our Government's commitment to investing in the development of a supportive environment for the region's pharmaceutical manufacturing cluster is being showcased," said MP Dykstra. "Getting our small- and medium-sized businesses the tools they need to stay productive and competitive is imperative."

St. Catharines-based Biolyse Pharma produces generic chemotherapy and anti-cancer drugs for Canadian and international markets.

Through FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, Biolyse Pharma will receive an investment of up to $2.9 million to complete an expansion of its facilities and production capacity. This project is expected to create up to 59 new highly skilled full-time jobs, allowing the company to reach new markets and increase product diversification.

"The significance of this repayable contribution encourages Biolyse to move forward with its development program, which will expand its line of vital medicines made by Canadians for Canadians," said Claude Mercure, Owner of Biolyse Pharma.

For more information on this project and the Prosperity Initiative, please see the backgrounder.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014. As part of the renewal, FedDev Ontario will be allocating $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care about most: their families, the safety of our streets and communities, their pride in being a citizen of this country, and their personal financial security.

To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

Follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Backgrounder

Contribution to Biolyse Pharma

Biolyse Pharma Corporation, based in St. Catharines, Ontario, has been a leader in the innovative production of anti-cancer drugs since 1989. The company sells anti-cancer and chemotherapy drugs in Canadian and international markets and is currently Canada's only manufacturer of injectable chemotherapy drugs.

FedDev Ontario is providing Biolyse Pharma with a repayable contribution of up to $2.9 million to complete an expansion project of its research and production facilities and its line of generic chemotherapy drugs. FedDev Ontario's investment allows Biolyse to upgrade the facilities and technologies required to further diversify its line of generic chemotherapy pharmaceuticals and increase its share in this niche market.

The project is expected to create up to 59 high-value full-time equivalent jobs and introduce up to 15 additional generic chemotherapy drugs. This investment will allow Biolyse Pharma to expand its reach to customers in both domestic and international markets and will support the company's plan to continue to invest in further research and development.

FedDev Ontario's investment in Biolyse Pharma will also help to diversify the St. Catharines economy, allowing the region to leverage its life sciences research capabilities to grow a sustainable pharmaceutical research and manufacturing base.

Prosperity Initiative

FedDev Ontario's Prosperity Initiative, as part of the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, is encouraging businesses, not-for-profit organizations and post-secondary institutions in southern Ontario to undertake projects resulting in a more productive, diversified and competitive economy in the region.

To date, over $420 million in funding has been committed to over 240 projects under the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,000 organizations, and over $1.2 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources. All funding for the Advantage initiatives has been committed.

For more information please visit the website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Archivé — Contribution du gouvernement du canada à la création d'emplois dans une société pharmaceutique de la région de St. Catharines

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 26 septembre 2013

St. Catharines (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), avec Rick Dykstra, député fédéral de St. Catharines, a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement du gouvernement du Canada qui permettra à Biolyse Pharma d'élargir ses installations et sa gamme de médicaments chimiothérapeutiques injectables.

« La priorité numéro un de notre gouvernement demeure la création d'emplois de grande valeur, de croissance et de prospérité à long terme pour les Canadiens, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. L'investissement permettra au seul fabricant de médicaments chimiothérapeutiques injectables au Canada de prendre de l'expansion à St. Catharines, de créer des emplois de haute qualité dans l'industrie pharmaceutique locale et de contribuer à répondre à la demande mondiale de traitements du cancer salutaires à un prix abordable. »

« Aujourd'hui, l'engagement de notre gouvernement à investir dans l'établissement d'un environnement propice au regroupement d'entreprises de produits pharmaceutiques dans la région est mis en évidence, a affirmé le député Dykstra. Il est impératif de donner à nos petites et moyennes entreprises les outils dont elles ont besoin pour continuer à être productives et compétitives. »

Biolyse Pharma, dont le siège social est situé à St. Catharines, produit des médicaments chimiothérapeutiques et anticancéreux génériques pour les marchés canadien et international.

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, Biolyse Pharma touchera un investissement allant jusqu'à 2,9 millions de dollars pour mener à terme l'agrandissement de ses installations et le renforcement de sa capacité de production. Ce projet devrait créer jusqu'à 59 nouveaux emplois à temps plein hautement spécialisés, permettant à la société de conquérir de nouveaux marchés et d'accroître la diversification de ses produits.

« Ce contribution remboursable encourage Biolyse à aller de l'avant avec son programme de développement, qui consiste à accroître sa gamme de médicaments vitaux fabriqués par les Canadiens pour les Canadiens », a déclaré Claude Mercure, propriétaire de Biolyse Pharma.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur ce projet et sur l'Initiative pour la prospérité, veuillez consulter la fiche d'information.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada démontre son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario. Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fournit 920 millions de dollars pour l'Agence sur cinq ans, à partir du 1er avril 2014. Dans le cadre du renouvellement, FedDev Ontario allouera 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour mettre en place un nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, le gouvernement du Canada reste concentré sur ce dont se soucient le plus les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de nos rues et de nos collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière personnelle.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez visiter le site www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652


Fiche d'information

Contribution à Biolyse Pharma

La société Biolyse Pharma, qui a son siège social à St. Catharines, Ontario, est chef de file dans le domaine de la production innovatrice de médicaments anticancéreux depuis 1989. La société vend des médicaments anticancéreux et chimiothérapeutiques sur les marchés canadien et international et est actuellement le seul fabricant de médicaments chimiothérapeutiques injectables au Canada.

FedDev Ontario offre à Biolyse Pharma une contribution remboursable allant jusqu'à 2,9 millions de dollars pour mener à terme un projet d'expansion de ses installations de recherche et de production et de sa gamme de médicaments chimiothérapeutiques génériques. L'investissement de FedDev Ontario permet à Biolyse de moderniser ses installations et les technologies nécessaires pour diversifier davantage sa gamme de produits pharmaceutiques chimiothérapeutiques génériques et accroître sa part sur ce marché à créneaux.

Le projet devrait créer jusqu'à 59 emplois équivalents temps plein de grande valeur et introduire jusqu'à 15 nouveaux médicaments chimiothérapeutiques génériques. L'investissement permettra à Biolyse Pharma de joindre davantage de clients sur les marchés national et international et contribuera au plan de la société qui consiste à poursuivre ses investissements en recherche et développement.

L'investissement de FedDev Ontario au profit de Biolyse Pharma aidera aussi à diversifier l'économie de St. Catharines, permettant à la région de tirer profit de ses capacités de recherche en sciences de la vie pour établir des assises durables au chapitre de la recherche et de la fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques.

Initiative pour la prospérité

L'Initiative pour la prospérité de FedDev Ontario, qui s'inscrit dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario, vise à encourager les entreprises, les organismes à but non lucratif et les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Sud de l'Ontario à entreprendre des projets qui entraîneront une économie plus productive, plus diversifiée et plus compétitive dans la région.

À ce jour, plus de 420 millions de dollars ont été engagés pour financer plus de 240 projets dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario. Cela a donné lieu à l'établissement de partenariats avec plus de 5 000 organisations et plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars d'investissement supplémentaires obtenus par effet de levier à partir de sources de financement presque exclusivement non gouvernementales. Tous les fonds destinés aux initiatives de l'Avantage ont été engagés.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter le site Web à l'adresse www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca.

Date de modification :