Archived — Minister Goodyear Celebrates Success of "Big Ideas" Science and Innovation Camps for Youth

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
September 27, 2013

Toronto, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), was in Toronto today to celebrate the success of a series of summer camps designed to give youth a better understanding of what's involved in bridging the gap between innovation and business.

The Big Ideas: Creativity, Design and Innovation Camp engaged 450 youth across southern Ontario this past summer. The camps were developed and run by the Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity (ICP), the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto, and Actua, a national charity that engages youth in science, technology, engineering, and math education—also known as the STEM fields of study.

In February 2013, Minister Goodyear announced an investment of up to $995,000 in the ICP under FedDev Ontario's Youth STEM initiative. A part of this investment helped make the Big Ideas Camps a reality.

"Our investment in this project is an investment in innovation, youth and the future prosperity of our region," said Minister Goodyear. "Our Government is pleased to support projects that provide our young people with the tools they need to reach their potential—in innovation, in research, in business, and in STEM careers. They will ensure southern Ontario remains competitive and prosperous for years to come."

The Big Ideas Camp program provided youth with an in-depth experience in innovation and robust understanding of the business of science and engineering. Participants identified a need, generated ideas to meet that need, and created prototypes. They also learned how to build a business strategy. The curriculum followed the core elements of the innovation process currently taught at the Rotman School of Management.

"It started as a question. We wanted to know if a young audience, as young as 10, could be taught the core elements of innovation," notes Prof. Roger Martin, former Dean of Rotman School of Management and current Chair of the Institute of Competitiveness and Prosperity. "With funding from FedDev Ontario, we were able to explore that question through the Big Ideas Camp. After it was up and running, and we could see that these kids were fully engaged, we knew that, yes, of course they could. It can be transformational."

Since its launch in 2009, FedDev Ontario has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and must strive to access new markets.

Economic Action Plan 2013 demonstrated continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provided $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region by supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear souligne la réussite des camps « Grandes idées » conçus pour familiariser les jeunes avec les sciences et l'innovation

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 septembre 2013

Toronto (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) était à Toronto aujourd'hui pour souligner la réussite d'une série de camps d'été conçus pour faire mieux comprendre aux jeunes le lien entre l'innovation et le monde des affaires.

Dans la foulée de l'initiative The Big Ideas: Creativity, Design and Innovation Camp (Les camps Grandes idées : Créativité, conception et innovation), 450 jeunes du Sud de l'Ontario ont participé à des camps l'été dernier. Les camps ont été conçus et administrés par l'Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity (ICP), la Rotman School of Management, de l'Université de Toronto, et Actua, un organisme de bienfaisance national dont la mission est de faire connaître les sciences, la technologie, l'ingénierie et les mathématiques aux jeunes, également connues comme les domaines d'études liées aux STIM.

En février 2013, le ministre Goodyear annonçait un investissement pouvant aller jusqu'à 995 000 $ dans l'ICP, dans le cadre de l'initiative Jeunesse en STIM. Une partie de cet investissement a contribué à faire des camps « Grandes idées » une réalité.

« Notre investissement dans ce projet en est un dans l'innovation, la jeunesse et la prospérité future de notre région, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Notre gouvernement est heureux d'appuyer des projets qui fournissent aux jeunes les outils dont ils ont besoin pour réaliser leur potentiel sur le plan de l'innovation, de la recherche, des affaires et des carrières liées aux STIM. Il s'agit là d'un gage que le Sud de l'Ontario demeure concurrentiel et prospère pour des années à venir. »

Le programme des camps « Grandes idées » a permis aux jeunes de vivre une expérience riche sur le plan de l'innovation et d'acquérir une solide compréhension de l'entrepreneuriat dans les domaines des sciences et de l'ingénierie. Les participants ont appris à déterminer les besoins, ils ont trouvé des idées pour les combler et ils ont créé des prototypes. Ils ont également appris à élaborer une stratégie commerciale. Le programme comportait les mêmes éléments fondamentaux du processus d'innovation qui sont enseignés à l'heure actuelle à la Rotman School of Management.

« Tout a commencé par une question. Nous voulions savoir s'il était possible d'enseigner les éléments fondamentaux de l'innovation à un jeune auditoire composé de jeunes pouvant même être âgés que de 10 ans, a déclaré le professeur Roger Martin, ancien doyen de la Rotman School of Management et président actuel de l'Institute for Competitiveness and Prosperity. Grâce au financement de FedDev Ontario, nous avons pu étudier cette question dans le cadre des camps « Grandes idées ». Ensuite, tout s'est bien déroulé et nous avons pu constater que ces jeunes participaient pleinement, tout comme nous l'avions prévu. Cela peut engendrer une transformation profonde. »

Depuis sa création en 2009, l'Agence a grandement contribué à la création d'emplois et à promouvoir la croissance économique. Toutefois, le Sud de l'Ontario subit encore des pressions considérables et, plus que jamais, les entreprises et les travailleurs doivent faire preuve d'innovation et de productivité et tout faire en vue d'obtenir accès à de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario en renouvelant le mandat de FedDev Ontario.

Ce plan accordait à FedDev Ontario un budget de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, dont un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à compter du 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de favoriser le développement d'entreprises, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans la région rurale de l'Est de l'Ontario, en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario de cinq ans.

Le renouvellement de ce financement permettra à FedDev Ontario de continuer de se faire le champion du Sud de l'Ontario en favorisant le développement d'une économie prospère et concurrentielle pour la région à l'échelle mondiale.

Des renseignements sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca au fur et à mesure qu'ils seront disponibles; les intervenants sont donc invités à y revenir régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :