Archived — Minister Goodyear Promotes Investment in Southern Ontario at 2013 Best Defence II Conference

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 3, 2013

London, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), and Susan Truppe, Member of Parliament for London North Centre, were in London today to promote the capabilities of southern Ontario defence and security-related businesses and their role in helping to create jobs and prosperity for the region.

Minister Goodyear was speaking at the Best Defence II Conference, which is held annually by the London Economic Development Corporation as a way to promote the region's defence sector and highlight global opportunities in the defence marketplace.

"The defence sector is an important contributor to the economy of southern Ontario, generating approximately $6.6 billion in annual revenue," said Minister Goodyear. "Our Government is committed to helping ensure companies in southern Ontario are well-positioned to take advantage of defence procurement opportunities. This will bring jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for people, businesses and communities in our region."

"The second annual Best Defence Conference is truly a great event," said MP Truppe. "The Conference, and the great turnout, really highlights the size and importance of the defence industry here in southern Ontario."

The Minister of State noted that southern Ontario companies have capability and expertise in numerous defence-related areas. These include aerospace, land systems, marine systems, information and communications technologies, and overall manufacturing, and that there is immense potential for further growth.

Since its launch in 2009, FedDev Ontario has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. To ensure southern Ontario can continue to prosper, our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and must strive to access new markets.

Economic Action Plan 2013 demonstrated continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provided $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

Moving forward, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region by supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear fait la promotion de l'investissement dans le sud de l'Ontario à la conférence Best Defence II de 2013

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 3 octobre 2013

London (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), et Susan Truppe, députée fédérale de London-Centre-Nord, étaient de passage à London aujourd'hui pour faire la promotion des capacités des entreprises des domaines de la sécurité et de la défense du Sud de l'Ontario, ainsi que de leur rôle dans la création d'emplois et la prospérité pour la région.

Le ministre Goodyear prenait la parole à l'occasion de la Conférence Best Defence II, qui est organisée chaque année par la London Economic Development Corporation (LEDC), afin de promouvoir le secteur régional de la défense et de mettre en lumière les possibilités d'affaires sur le marché de la défense à l'échelle mondiale.

« Le secteur de la défense occupe une place importante dans l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario, puisque son chiffre d'affaires atteint près de 6,6 milliards de dollars par année, a expliqué le ministre Goodyear. Notre gouvernement est déterminé à s'assurer que les sociétés du Sud de l'Ontario sont bien placées pour tirer avantage des possibilités liées à l'approvisionnement militaire, ce qui favorisera la création d'emplois, ainsi que la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour la population, les entreprises et les collectivités de notre région. »

« Cette deuxième conférence Best Defence est vraiment un événement d'envergure, a renchéri la députée Truppe. L'événement et son affluence soulignent sans équivoque l'importance de l'industrie de la défense dans le Sud de l'Ontario. »

Le ministre d'État a souligné que les sociétés du Sud de l'Ontario possèdent des capacités et de l'expertise dans de nombreux domaines liés à la défense, y compris dans les secteurs de l'aérospatiale, des systèmes terrestres, des systèmes de marine, des technologies de l'information et des communications et de la fabrication de façon générale, et que le potentiel de croissance est énorme.

Depuis son lancement, en 2009, FedDev Ontario a réalisé des progrès importants en matière de création d'emplois et de croissance économique. Pour que le Sud de l'Ontario puisse continuer à prospérer, nos travailleurs doivent plus que jamais faire preuve d'innovation et de productivité et s'efforcer de pénétrer de nouveaux marchés.

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 a démontré l'engagement permanent de notre gouvernement envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario, par le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, FedDev Ontario a reçu 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, y compris, à partir du 1er avril 2014, un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de promouvoir le développement des entreprises, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans les régions rurales de l'Est de l'Ontario, en prolongeant de cinq ans le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario.

En poursuivant sur sa lancée, FedDev Ontario continuera de se faire le champion de la région en soutenant le développement d'une économie prospère et concurrentielle à l'échelle internationale pour le Sud de l'Ontario.

Les précisions sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichées sur le site Web de l'Agence à l'adresse www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca au fur et à mesure qu'elles seront disponibles. Nous encourageons donc les intervenants à consulter le site régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :