Archived — Minister Goodyear Delivers Keynote Address to Oakville Chamber of Commerce

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 4, 2013

Oakville, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), was in Oakville today to speak to business leaders and stakeholders. Minister Goodyear was joined by Terence Young, Member of Parliament for Oakville.

Minister Goodyear delivered a keynote address at the Chamber's meeting. He discussed the evolving role of FedDev Ontario in the region, the important part local economic development organizations play in supporting small- and medium-sized enterprises in Ontario's communities, and the value of these businesses to Canada's economy.

"The Government of Canada is committed to building a sustainable economy and investing in businesses and communities across the region," said Minister Goodyear. "Through strong partnerships with locally-driven groups like the Oakville Chamber, our Government continues to help businesses and communities make strategic investments now to create prosperity into the future."

"Our Government continues to support job creation and long-term economic growth in Oakville," said MP Young. "It is a pleasure to host Minister Goodyear here in Oakville, and to give community and business leaders the opportunity to hear about upcoming economic development opportunities and priorities."

Since its launch in 2009, FedDev Ontario has made significant progress in creating jobs and growing the economy. However, southern Ontario remains under considerable pressure, and more than ever our businesses and workers need to be more innovative and productive, and must strive to access new markets.

In Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario.

Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million for FedDev Ontario over five years, including $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario through the $48 million five-year extension of the Eastern Ontario Development Program.

With renewed funding, FedDev Ontario will continue to act as a champion for the region by supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear prononce un discours liminaire devant la chambre de commerce d'Oakville

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 4 octobre 2013

Oakville (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) était à Oakville aujoud'hui pour s'adresser aux chefs d'entreprises et aux intervenants de la Chambre de commerce d'Oakville. Le ministre Goodyear était accompagné de M. Terence Young, député d'Oakville.

Le ministre Goodyear a prononcé un discours liminaire lors de la réunion de la Chambre de commerce. Il a parlé de l'évolution du rôle de FedDev Ontario dans la région, de l'importance de l'aide qu'apportent les organismes de développement économique locaux aux petites et moyennes entreprises dans les collectivités ontariennes et de la valeur de ces entreprises pour l'économie canadienne.

« Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à créer une économie stable et à investir dans les entreprises et les collectivités de l'ensemble de la région, a déclaré le ministre Goodyear. Dans le cadre de solides partenariats avec des groupes locaux motivés, comme la Chambre de commerce d'Oakville, notre gouvernement continue d'aider les entreprises et les collectivités à faire des investissements stratégiques aujourd'hui pour créer la prospérité de demain. »

« Notre gouvernement continue de favoriser la création d'emplois et la croissance économique à long terme à Oakville, a déclaré le député Young. Nous nous réjouissons de recevoir le ministre Goodyear, ici à Oakville, et de permettre aux membres de la collectivité et aux dirigeants d'entreprises locales d'en apprendre davantage sur les possibilités à venir et les priorités en matière de développement économique. »

Depuis sa création en 2009, l'Agence a grandement contribué à créer des emplois et à générer la croissance économique. Toutefois, le Sud de l'Ontario subit encore des pressions considérables et, plus que jamais, les entreprises et les travailleurs doivent faire preuve d'innovation et de productivité en vue d'accéder à de nouveaux marchés.

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a démontré son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement du financement de FedDev Ontario.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013, FedDev Ontario dispose d'un budget de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, ce qui comprend un montant de 200 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à compter du 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de favoriser le développement d'entreprises, la création d'emplois et l'autonomie des collectivités dans la région rurale de l'Est de l'Ontario en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario de cinq ans, grâce à un financement de 48 millions de dollars.

Avec ces fonds renouvelés, FedDev Ontario continuera de se faire le champion de la région en soutenant le développement d'une économie du Sud de l'Ontario prospère et concurrentielle sur le plan mondial.

Les détails sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés sur le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca à mesure qu'ils deviennent disponibles. Nous recommandons aux intervenants de consulter le site régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :