Archived — Minister of State Goodyear Encourages Ontarians to Shop the Neighbourhood

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
October 22, 2013

Kitchener, Ontario — The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario), today celebrated the launch of the Shop The Neighbourhood campaign and highlighted the role of small businesses in restoring economic prosperity to southern Ontario.

"Small, local businesses play an important role in driving Canada's economy," said Minister of State Goodyear. "When we shop at a small business in our neighbourhood, we're helping to keep jobs in our community. We're helping our neighbours and having a positive impact on their livelihood. And we're helping to return prosperity and prominence to the people and communities of Ontario and Canada."

Shop The Neighbourhood is an initiative of Yellow Pages Group, Canada's leading digital media and marketing solutions company. The campaign highlights the benefits of supporting local businesses by encouraging people to shop in local neighbourhoods. This year's event takes place on November 30 in the Greater Toronto Area.

"We have a century-long legacy of working with Canada's small businesses to help them grow and attract more customers. What we've seen is that in an increasingly global marketplace it's now just as easy to make a purchase from a retailer across the world as it can be to walk down your street to buy the same item locally," said François Ramsay, Senior Vice-President, Corporate Affairs for Yellow Pages Group. "As shoppers we need to remember that where we choose to spend our dollars does make a difference. Shopping locally directly benefits the businesses and therefore the neighbourhoods of our communities which why we're encouraging everyone in the GTA to Shop The Neighbourhood on November 30."

Economic Action Plan 2013 demonstrated continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario, including $920 million in new funding for the Agency over five years. This included $200 million for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, starting on April 1, 2014.

FedDev Ontario will also continue to promote business development, job creation and self-reliant communities in rural eastern Ontario by extending the Eastern Ontario Development Program for five years.

The Agency will continue to act as a champion for the region by supporting the development of a prosperous and globally competitive southern Ontario economy.

Details of new programming will be posted on the Agency's website at www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca as they become available, so stakeholders are encouraged to check back regularly.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre d'état Goodyear encourage les Ontariens à magasiner dans leur quartier

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 22 octobre 2013

Kitchener (Ontario) — L'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), a célébré aujourd'hui le lancement de la campagne « Shop The Neighbourhood » (Magasine dans le quartier) et a souligné le rôle des petites entreprises dans le rétablissement de la prospérité économique dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

« Les petites entreprises locales jouent un rôle important dans stimulation de l'économie canadienne, a déclaré le ministre d'État Goodyear. Lorsque nous magasinons dans une petite entreprise de notre quartier, nous aidons à conserver des emplois dans notre collectivité. Nous aidons nos voisins et influons de façon positive sur leur moyen de subsistance. Nous aidons à rétablir la prospérité et la prépondérance des personnes et des collectivités de l'Ontario et du Canada. »

Cette campagne est une initiative du Groupe Pages Jaunes, le chef de file des médias numériques et des solutions marketing au Canada. La campagne souligne les avantages de soutenir les entreprises locales en encourageant les gens à magasiner dans leur quartier. Cette année, l'événement a lieu le 30 novembre dans la région du Grand Toronto (RGT).

« Nous travaillons depuis un siècle avec les petites entreprises canadiennes afin de les aider à croître et à attirer plus de clients. Nous avons vu qu'il existe un marché de plus en plus mondial et qu'il est maintenant aussi facile de faire un achat auprès d'un détaillant n'importe où dans le monde que de marcher sur la rue et d'acheter l'article localement, a affirmé François Ramsay, premier vice-président aux affaires corporatives du Groupe Pages Jaunes. En tant que consommateurs, nous devons nous rappeler que l'endroit où nous choisissons de dépenser notre argent change effectivement les choses. Le magasinage local bénéficie directement aux entreprises et, par conséquent, aux quartiers de nos collectivités. C'est la raison pour laquelle nous encourageons tout le monde de la RGT à magasiner dans le quartier le 30 novembre. »

Le Plan d'action économique 2013 a démontré un engagement continu à l'égard des travailleurs, des familles et des collectivités dans le Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario, y compris un nouveau financement de 920 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour l'Agence. Ce montant comprend 200 millions de dollars pour un nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, à compter du 1er avril 2014.

FedDev Ontario continuera aussi de promouvoir le développement commercial, la création d'emploi et l'autonomie des collectivités dans les régions rurales de l'Est de l'Ontario en prolongeant le Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario pour cinq autres années.

L'Agence continuera d'agir en tant que champion pour la région en appuyant le développement d'une économie du Sud de l'Ontario prospère et concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale.

Des renseignements sur les nouveaux programmes seront affichés dans le site Web de l'Agence à www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca à mesure qu'ils sont disponibles; les intervenants sont donc invités à y retourner régulièrement.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652

Date de modification :