Archived — FedDev Ontario Helping Angel Investment Thrive in Southern Ontario: Study

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

For immediate release
November 1, 2013

Kitchener, Ontario — A new study by the National Angel Capital Organization (NACO) shows southern Ontario's angel investment sector is booming, thanks in large part to the efforts of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) and its Investing in Business Innovation initiative.

Investing in Business Innovation (IBI) is designed to help angel investor networks and their associations attract new investment and support the growth of angel investment funds, and boost private sector investment in start-up businesses to accelerate the development of new products, processes and practices and help bring them to market.

"This study shows that the Investing in Business Innovation initiative is having a measurable and positive impact for businesses in southern Ontario," said the Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario. "By encouraging greater investment in the innovations and ideas of entrepreneurs in southern Ontario, we are strengthening relationships between start-up companies, investors and our Government, and equipping businesses with the tools they need to succeed. This is creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity for our region."

The NACO's 2012 Angel Activity Report identified several key trends in angel investments across Canada. The study noted FedDev Ontario has invested $1.375 million in 11 southern Ontario angel networks and $1.8 million in two organizations representing angel networks (the NACO and the Network of Angel Organizations–Ontario).

Of the 11 networks supported, three (the Golden Triangle Angel Network, Angel One Network and the Capital Angel Network) were in the top five in Canada in terms of number of investments and size of investments.

In January 2011, southern Ontario Angel Networks reported total investor membership of 270. Today these organizations have more than doubled their membership to over 600 registered investors.

These members have invested $65.9 million in small- and medium-sized businesses in southern Ontario, leveraging an additional $120.2 million in private sector and government funding. FedDev Ontario's IBI initiative was the top government leveraging program, according to the study.

"Angel investment has filled a larger role in both seed stage investment and growth stage investment and it has become increasingly more important in the investment capital eco-system," said Yuri Navarro, Executive Director, NACO. "FedDev Ontario's support through the Investing in Business Innovation initiative has played an integral role in expanding both the number of angel investors in southern Ontario and the amount of investment available for businesses in the region."

Investing in Business Innovation is one of FedDev Ontario's Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives. To date, over $450 million in funding has been committed to over 250 projects under the Southern Ontario Advantage initiatives, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,300 organizations, and over $1.2 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources.

Created in 2009, FedDev Ontario supports the southern Ontario economy by building on the region's strengths and creating opportunities for jobs and economic growth. In Budget 2013, the Government of Canada demonstrated its continued commitment to workers, families and communities in southern Ontario with the renewal of FedDev Ontario. Economic Action Plan 2013 provides $920 million over five years for the Agency, starting on April 1, 2014. As part of the renewal, FedDev Ontario will be allocating $200 million over five years for a new Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario. To learn more, please visit www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca or call 1-866-593-5505.

As outlined by the Prime Minister, the Government of Canada remains focused on what Canadians care most about: their families, the safety of their streets and communities, their pride in being citizens of this country, and their personal financial security.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Date modified:

Archivé — FedDev Ontario favorise le foisonnement des investissements providentiels dans le sud de l'Ontario, d'après une étude

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 1er novembre 2013

Kitchener (Ontario) — Une récente étude menée par la National Angel Capital Organization (NACO) montre que le secteur de l'investissement providentiel en Ontario est en forte progression, en grande partie grâce à l'aide de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario), dans le cadre de son initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises.

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises (IIE) est conçue pour aider les réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels et leurs associations à attirer de nouveaux investissements, à soutenir la croissance des fonds d'investissement providentiel et à stimuler les investissements du secteur privé dans les entreprises en démarrage, et ce, afin d'accélérer la conception de nouveaux produits, procédés et pratiques et leur mise en marché.

« Cette étude montre que l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises a des répercussions mesurables et positives sur les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, a déclaré l'honorable Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario. En favorisant une hausse des investissements dans les innovations et les idées des entrepreneurs du Sud de l'Ontario, nous renforçons les liens entre les entreprises en démarrage, les investisseurs et notre gouvernement et nous dotons les entreprises des outils dont elles ont besoin pour réussir. C'est ainsi que nous créons des emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme pour notre région. »

Le rapport de 2012 sur les activités des investisseurs providentiels de la NACO a fait ressortir plusieurs tendances importantes des investissements providentiels au Canada. L'étude souligne que FedDev Ontario a investi 1,375 million de dollars, dans 11 réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario, et 1,8 million de dollars dans deux associations de réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels (la NACO et le Network of Angel Organizations – Ontario).

Des 11 réseaux ayant reçu de l'aide, trois (Golden Triangle Angel Network, Angel One Network et Capital Angel Network) se sont classés parmi les cinq premiers au Canada sur le plan du nombre et de l'importance des investissements.

En janvier 2011, les réseaux d'investisseurs providentiels du Sud de l'Ontario comptaient au total 270 membres investisseurs inscrits. Aujourd'hui, ces réseaux ont plus que doublé ce nombre et en comptent maintenant plus de 600.

Ces membres ont investi 65,9 millions de dollars dans des petites et moyennes entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario, un investissement qui a engendré un investissement supplémentaire de 120,2 millions de dollars des secteurs privé et gouvernemental. D'après l'étude, l'initiative IIE de FedDev Ontario se classe au premier rang des programmes gouvernementaux à effet de levier financier.

« Les investissements providentiels ont joué un rôle accru sur le plan des investissements de démarrage et de croissance et ils sont devenus de plus en plus importants au sein du système économique d'investissement du capital, a noté M. Yuri Navarro, directeur général de la NACO. L'appui de FedDev Ontario, dans le cadre de l'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises, a joué un rôle essentiel en ce qui a trait à la hausse du nombre du nombre d'investisseurs providentiels dans le Sud de l'Ontario et au montant des investissements dont peuvent bénéficier les entreprises de la région. »

L'initiative Investir dans l'innovation des entreprises s'inscrit dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario de FedDev Ontario. À ce jour, plus de 450 millions de dollars ont été engagés pour financer plus de 250 projets dans le cadre des initiatives de l'Avantage du Sud de l'Ontario. Cela a donné lieu à l'établissement de partenariats avec plus de 5 300 organisations et plus de 1,2 milliard de dollars d'investissement supplémentaires obtenus par effet de levier à partir de sources de financement presque exclusivement non gouvernementales.

Créée en 2009, FedDev Ontario soutient l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario en misant sur les forces de la région et en créant des possibilités d'emplois et de croissance économique. Dans le budget de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada démontre son engagement continu envers les travailleurs, les familles et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario avec le renouvellement de FedDev Ontario. Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 fournit 920 millions de dollars pour l'Agence sur cinq ans, à partir du 1er avril 2014. Dans le cadre du renouvellement, FedDev Ontario allouera 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour mettre en place un nouveau Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le site www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-866-593-5505.

Comme l'a indiqué le premier ministre, le gouvernement du Canada reste concentré sur ce dont se soucient le plus les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : leur famille, la sécurité de leurs rues et de leurs collectivités, leur fierté d'être citoyens de ce pays et leur sécurité financière personnelle.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Date de modification :