Archived — 2012–13 Integrated Action Plan
Message from the President of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

View the most recent version. The following document if out of date.

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

This Official Languages Integrated Action Plan contains information about the activities we intend to undertake during the 2012–13 fiscal year.

The Plan shows an increased understanding of the requirements of section 41 with respect to executives and employees as well as the working relationships among the organizations that represent official language minority communities (OLMCs). We are targeting specific results to support the increased contribution of OLMCs to a flourishing southern Ontario economy. Furthermore, an accountability framework engages Agency executives and employees alike in the Action Plan's implementation.

I am therefore pleased to present this Action Plan to you, and I am confident that with the leadership of our Official Languages Champion, Jeff Moore, we will successfully accomplish the activities identified in the Plan.

space to insert signature
B.A. (Bruce) Archibald, Ph. D.

top of page

The FedDev Ontario Official Languages Integrated Action Plan has been developed to summarize the various activities the Agency intends to focus on during the 2012–13 period and will also serve as a tool for reporting on progress.

The report is structured in three main categories: Introduction; Official Languages Accountability Framework and Governance Structure at FedDev Ontario; and the FedDev Ontario Integrated Action Plan on Official Languages.



Introduction

The Official Languages Act (OLA) provides a legislative basis for official languages (OL) policies. Its purpose is to:

The Act applies to federal institutions: offices, Crown Corporations and federal departments. Part IV also applies to third party delivery agents (funding agreements where services are provided or made available by another person or organization on its behalf, e.g., bilingual Community Futures Development Corporations).

The obligations under the Act are described below:

Official Languages Accountability Framework and Governance Structure at FedDev Ontario

In 2011, FedDev Ontario implemented a policy framework for official languages. The framework is designed to mobilize resources within the Agency and commit it to respect official languages as one of its core values. The policy framework identified the following goals:

In addition, the policy reflects the need to meet the needs of OLMCs by entering into a dialogue with them, to understand their specific needs and to consider these needs when implementing Agency activities and services. It commits FedDev Ontario to undertake positive measures to enhance these OLMCs.

In addition, an Accountability Framework was developed in 2011 to lend greater definition to specific roles and responsibilities of all FedDev Ontario personnel. The Agency's governance structure is outlined below.

Governance Structure FedDev Ontario Official Languages (OL)

The President of FedDev Ontario, in his capacity as Deputy Head, is ultimately responsible for the Agency's compliance with the obligations set out under the OLA.

Reporting to the President, the OL Champion, as senior manager at the executive level, is responsible for providing leadership in the development of policies and the implementation of measures to comply with the Agency's OL obligations.

The Executive Committee, chaired by the President, ensures that regular discussions take place regarding the OL file. The OL Champion who sits on Executive Committee is the link between senior management and the OL Working Group and provides it with strategic direction. The working group's mandate is to provide advice and recommendations to the OL Champion in the context of the Agency's OL obligations. This group meets quarterly.

The OL Working Group, chaired by the OL Coordinator, develops and implements initiatives in support of the Agency's OL obligations; discusses the most recent and relevant issues pertaining to the implementation of government OL policy at the Agency (including the complementary issues that link Parts IV and VII), and provides direction on policy development.

The Accountability Framework also outlines the roles of all Agency personnel, including roles of branches and managers.

FedDev Ontario Integrated Action Plan on Official Languages 2012–13
  Activity Lead Expected Results Status
1. Governance of Official Languages (OL)
1.1 Develop 2012–13 Action Plan addressing Official Languages Act (OLA) obligations. OL Coordinator Define activities for the application of the OLA.  
1.2 Hold meetings of the OL Working Group (at least twice a year). OL Coordinator The Agency is aware and is able to meet its OLA obligations.  
1.3 Promote OL Awareness within Agency. OL Champion The Agency is aware and is able to meet its OLA obligations.  
1.4 Review FedDev Ontario 2011 OL policy statement to ensure that governance framework adequately incorporates Part IV, V, VI and VII of the OLA and supports this plan. Communicate plan to all employees.
  • OL Champion
  • OL Coordinator
  • OL Working Group
The Agency is better able to meet all of its OLA obligations.  
1.5 Implement awareness sessions regarding OLA obligations and/or training sessions.
  • OL Champion
  • OL Coordinator
  • OL Working Group
All employees understand the stategies, and impact of CALDECH decision in the context of the implementation of the OLA.  
2. Monitoring of Official Languages
2.1 Develop strategy to periodically measure whether employees (in regions designated as bilingual for language-of-work purposes) can use their language of choice in the workplace. HR Employees in regions designated as bilingual for language of work purposes can work in the language of their choice.  
2.2 Ensure that performance agreements of executives and managers contain clear performance objectives related to Parts IV, V, VI and VII (section 41) of the OLA. All Agency executives Executives prioritize OLA obligations.  
2.3 Review the Active Offer toolkit provided to Agency employees.
  • Communications
  • OL Working Group
Active offer is understood and used in interactions with public.  
2.4 Develop an evaluation process for the OL Action plan, that will include a component to assess to what extent official languages obligations are implemented in the Agency (e.g., services offered by bilingual CFDCs).
  • Evaluation
  • OL Coordinator
  • BICD
  • Performance of the Agency's OLA responsibilities can be evaluated.
  • Degree of satisfaction with the quality of services provided to Francophones.
 
2.5 Develop performance measurement and monitoring plan for EDI.
  • BICD
  • Evaluation
  • Assessment tools developed.
  • Program is tracked and performance evaluated.
 
3. Communications with and Services to the Public in Both Official Languages
3.1 Review the evaluation grid for all Agency programs and services. OL Coordinator Agency programs and services address the needs of OLMCs.  
3.2 Develop Agency's capacity in terms of bilingual employees. HR Enhanced capacity to deliver services in both official languages. FedDev Ontario OL Training Guidelines came into force in February 2012.
3.3 Review Agency information on Burolis to ensure that information remains current. HR Burolis information is accurate and public is kept informed of capacity to offer services in both official languages at various Agency offices. Last update was done in May 2011. Currently awaiting access to Burolis to update.
3.4 Ensure bilingual signage is available in FedDev Ontario offices. Communications Public is aware that services are available in the official language of choice.  
4. Language of Work
4.1 Provide additional tools for bilingual employees (software, keyboard, etc.).
  • IT
  • Communications
Employees are equipped to work in the language of their choice.  
4.2 Update Agency intranet OL page to provide a virtual library and resources in both official languages.
  • OL Coordinator
  • OL Champion
  • IT
  • Communications
Staff have easy access to tools that will enhance effective communication in both official languages.  
4.3 Provide additional reference documents (physical library) in both official languages.
  • OL Champion
  • HR
Staff has ease of access to tools that will enhance effective communication in both official languages. Resource materials were provided to each office and floor in Kitchener.
4.4 Ensure that working documents for program delivery are available in both English and French (i.e., PSFs, etc.). OL Working Group Documents are available in the employee's official language of choice.  
5. Human Resources Management
5.1 Integrate OL needs into operational HR plans and staffing strategies. HR The Agency is in a position to meet its OLA obligations. HR Plan to be kicked off in fall 2012 as part of operational planning exercise.
5.2 Promote, manage and assess the part-time second language training program.
  • HR
  • OL Champion
  • OL Coordinator
Language training opportunities are made available, are communicated to employees, and are being effectively utilized. Currently offering 5th session of PT French language training. Call-out was sent to all staff in August 2012. A 6th session is planned to begin in winter 2013.
6. Development of Official Language Minority Communities and promotion of English and French in Canadian Society
6.1 Development of OLMCs, and sharing of ideas and information with OLMCs
6.1.1 Adapt programs and services as needed in light of the analysis grid provided by the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer, following the Supreme Court of Canada's decision on Caldech/Desrochers.
  • OL Champion
  • OL Coordinator
  • BICD
The Agency's programs reflect the principle of substantive equality.  
6.1.2 Identify success stories in OLMCs.
  • BICD
  • Communications
OLMC success stories are developed and communicated.  
6.1.3 Integrate OL strategy into overall Agency engagement strategy.
  • ISR
  • BICD
  • OL Coordinator
  • OL Champion
OLMCs form part of the Agency's engagement strategy. OL Roundtable with OLMC stakeholders completed in late September.
6.1.4 Continue to monitor take-up of programs by OLMCs to ensure that all programs and services offered by FedDev Ontario are accessible to OLMCs. BICD All FedDev Ontario programs and services are accessible and available to OLMCs.  
6.2 Awareness (In house activities)
6.2.1 Promote special days such as Linguistic Duality Day.
  • OL Champion
  • OL Coordinator
  • Communications
Agency employees are aware of unique events that promote linguistic duality.  
6.3 Coordination and Liaison
6.3.1 Participate in the national network of OL coordinators. OL Coordinator Cooperation and coordination with other federal organizations on official languages matters.  
6.3.2 Participate in OL governance committees (e.g., Ontario OL Interdepartmental Network, Committee of Assistance Deputy Ministers on OL, etc.).
  • OL Champion
  • OL Coordinator
Cooperation and coordination with other federal organizations on official languages matters.  
6.4 Roadmap for Linguistic Duality – Economic Development Initiative
6.4.1 Delivery of Economic Development Initiative (EDI). BICD Encourage innovation, diversification, and development of OLMCs.  
6.4.2 Participate in the EDI implementation committee with Industry Canada and Regional Development Agencies. BICD Sharing of best practices and reporting on initiatives/projects undertaken under the EDI.  
6.4.3 Participate in Roadmap renewal discussions and process lead by PCH (Canadian Heritage).
  • OL Coordinator
  • OL Champion
  • BICD
Ensure that the possible "renewal of the Roadmap" takes FedDev Ontario's views into consideration.  
Date modified:

Archivé — Plan d'action intégré 2012–2013
Message du président de l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

Consulter la version la plus récente. Le document suivant est désuet.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Ce Plan d'action intégré des langues officielles contient des renseignements sur les activités que nous avons l'intention d'entreprendre au cours de l'exercice financier 2012-2013.

Le Plan témoigne d'une meilleure compréhension des exigences énoncées à l'article 41, en ce qui a trait aux cadres de direction et aux employés ainsi qu'aux relations de travail entre les organismes qui représentent les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM). Nous voulons obtenir des résultats précis pour appuyer la contribution accrue des CLOSM à l'économie florissante du Sud de l'Ontario. De plus, le cadre de responsabilisation prévoit la participation des cadres de direction et des employés de l'Agence à la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action.

C'est donc avec plaisir que je vous présente ce Plan d'action et j'ai la certitude que Jeff Moore, notre champion des langues officielles, saura nous guider pour que nous puissions exécuter avec succès les activités indiquées dans le Plan.

Champ de saisie de la signature
B.A. (Bruce) Archibald, Ph. D.

haut de la page

Le Plan d'action intégré en matière de langues officielles de FedDev Ontario a été élaboré en vue de résumer les diverses activités sur lesquelles l'Agence prévoit porter son attention au cours de la période de 2012-2013. Le plan servira également d'outil permettant de rendre compte des progrès accomplis.

Le rapport comprend trois principales catégories : 1) Introduction, 2) Cadre de responsabilisation et structure de gouvernance en matière de langues officielles à FedDev Ontario, et 3) le Plan d'action intégré en matière de langues officielles de FedDev Ontario.



Introduction

La Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) fournit une base législative pour les politiques des langues officielles (LO). Elle a pour objet ce qui suit :

La Loi s'applique aux institutions fédérales : bureaux, sociétés d'État et ministères fédéraux. La partie IV s'applique également aux agents d'exécution tiers (accords de financement dans le cadre desquels les services sont offerts par une autre personne ou un autre organisme en son nom – par exemple, les Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités).

Les obligations en vertu de la Loi sont décrites ci-dessous :

Cadre de responsabilisation et structure de gouvernance en matière de langues officielles à FedDev Ontario

En 2011, FedDev Ontario a mis en œuvre un cadre stratégique sur les langues officielles. Le cadre a été conçu pour mobiliser les ressources au sein de l'Agence et renforcer l'engagement à respecter les langues officielles comme l'une de ses valeurs fondamentales. Le cadre stratégique a déterminé les objectifs suivants :

De plus, la politique rend compte de la nécessité de répondre aux besoins des CLOSM en engageant un dialogue avec celles-ci, afin de comprendre leurs besoins particuliers et de prendre ces besoins en considération lors de la mise en œuvre des activités et des services de l'Agence. Ce cadre engage FedDev Ontario à entreprendre des mesures positives pour améliorer la situation de ces CLOSM.

De plus, un cadre de responsabilisation a été élaboré en 2011 afin d'offrir une meilleure définition des responsabilités et des rôles particuliers de tout le personnel de FedDev Ontario. La structure de gouvernance de l'Agence se présente comme suit :

Structure de gouvernance en langues officielles (LO) de FedDev Ontario

Le président de FedDev Ontario, en tant qu'administrateur général, est responsable de s'assurer que l'Agence observe les obligations énoncées dans la LLO.

Relevant du président, le champion des LO, à titre de cadre supérieur au niveau de la haute direction, est responsable d'assurer un leadership dans l'élaboration des politiques et la mise en œuvre des mesures permettant de se conformer aux obligations de l'Agence en matière de LO.

Le Comité exécutif, dirigé par le président, doit s'assurer que des discussions régulières ont lieu au sujet du dossier des LO. Le champion des LO, qui siège au Comité exécutif, agit à titre de liaison entre la haute direction et le Groupe de travail sur les LO auquel il donne une orientation stratégique. Le mandat du Groupe de travail sur les LO est de donner des conseils et des recommandations au champion des LO dans le contexte des obligations de l'Agence en matière de LO. Ce groupe se réunit tous les trimestres.

Présidé par le coordonnateur des LO, le Groupe de travail sur les LO élabore et met en œuvre des initiatives à l'appui des obligations de l'Agence en matière de LO, discute des questions les plus récentes et les plus pertinentes quant à la mise en œuvre de la politique du gouvernement en matière de LO au sein de l'Agence (y compris les enjeux complémentaires qui lient les Parties IV et VII) et fournit une orientation sur l'élaboration des politiques.

Le cadre de responsabilisation en matière de LO souligne également les rôles de tout le personnel de l'Agence, y compris les rôles des directions générales et des gestionnaires.

Plan d'action intégré en matière de langues de FedDev Ontario
  Activité Responsable Résultats prévus État d'avancement
1. Gouvernance des langues officielles (LO)
1.1 Élaborer le plan d'action 2012-2013 traitant des obligations liées à la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO). Coordonnateur des LO Déterminer les activités relatives à l'application de la LLO.  
1.2 Tenir des réunions avec le Groupe de travail sur les LO (au moins deux fois par an). Coordonnateur des LO L'Agence est informée et est en mesure de satisfaire à ses obligations en vertu de la LLO.  
1.3 Promouvoir la sensibilisation aux LO au sein de l'Agence. Champion des LO L'Agence est informée et est en mesure de satisfaire à ses obligations en vertu de la LLO.  
1.4 Examiner l'énoncé de politique concernant les LO de FedDev Ontario 2011 afin de s'assurer que le cadre de gouvernance intègre convenablement les parties IV, V, VI et VII de la LLO et appuie ce plan. Communiquer le plan à tous les employés.
  • Champion des LO
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • Groupe de travail sur les LO
L'Agence est mieux en mesure de satisfaire à toutes ses obligations en vertu de la LLO.  
1.5 Mettre en œuvre des séances de sensibilisation relatives aux obligations en vertu de la LLO et/ou des séances de formation.
  • Champion des LO
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • Groupe de travail sur les LO
Tous les employés comprennent les stratégies et les répercussions de la décision CALDECH dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la LLO.  
2. Surveillance des langues officielles
2.1 Confirmer périodiquement si les employés (dans les régions désignées bilingues aux fins de la langue de travail) peuvent utiliser la langue de leur choix sur le lieu de travail. RH Les employés travaillant dans les régions désignées bilingues aux fins de la langue de travail peuvent travailler dans la langue de leur choix.  
2.2 S'assurer que les ententes de rendement des cadres et des gestionnaires contiennent des objectifs de rendement clairs liés aux parties IV, V, VI et VII (article 41) de la LLO. Tous les cadres de l'Agence Les cadres classent par ordre de priorité les obligations en vertu de la LLO.  
2.3 Examiner la trousse d'outils sur l'offre active offerte aux employés de l'Agence.
  • Communications
  • Groupe de travail sur les LO
L'offre active est comprise et utilisée dans les interactions avec le public.  
2.4 Élaborer un processus d'évaluation du plan d'action sur les LO qui comportera un volet afin d'évaluer l'étendue des obligations en matière de LO dans laquelle elles sont mises en œuvre au sein de l'Agence (p. ex., les services offerts par les SADC bilingues).
  • Évaluation
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • ICDC
  • Le rendement des responsabilités de l'Agence en matière de LO est évalué.
  • Niveau de satisfaction des clients de FedDev Ontario quant à la qualité des services offerts aux francophones.
 
2.5 Élaborer un plan de mesure du rendement et de surveillance de l'IDE.
  • ICDC
  • Évaluation
  • Les outils d'évaluations sont élaborés.
  • Le programme fait l'objet d'un suivi et le rendement est évalué.
 
3. Communications avec le public et services au public dans les deux langues officielle
3.1 Examiner la grille d'évaluation pour tous les programmes et services de l'Agence. Coordonnateur des LO Les programmes et services de l'Agence répondent aux besoins des CLOSM.  
3.2 Améliorer la capacité de l'Agence pour ce qui est des employés bilingues. RH Capacité améliorée d'offrir des services dans les deux langues officielles. Les lignes directrices sur la formation en LO de FedDev Ontario sont entrées en vigueur en février 2012.
3.3 Examiner les renseignements de l'Agence sur Burolis afin de s'assurer qu'ils restent à jour. RH Les renseignements de Burolis sont exacts et le public est tenu informé de la capacité d'offrir des services dans les deux langues officielles dans les divers bureaux de l'Agence. La dernière mise à jour a été réalisée en mai 2011. Actuellement en attente de l'accès à Burolis pour la mise à jour.
3.4 S'assurer que l'affichage bilingue est offert dans les bureaux de FedDev Ontario. Communications Le public est informé des services qui sont offerts dans la langue officielle de son choix.  
4. Langue de travail
4.1 Fournir des outils supplémentaires aux employés bilingues (logiciel, clavier, etc.).
  • TI
  • Communications
Les employés sont équipés pour travailler dans la langue de leur choix.  
4.2 Mettre à jour la page intranet de l'Agence sur les LO afin de fournir une bibliothèque virtuelle et des ressources dans les deux langues officielles.
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • Champion des LO
  • TI
  • Communications
Le personnel a un accès aisé aux outils qui favoriseront une communication efficace dans les deux langues officielles.  
4.3 Fournir des documents de référence supplémentaires (bibliothèque physique) dans les deux langues officielles.
  • Champion des LO
  • RH
Le personnel a un accès aisé aux outils qui favoriseront une communication efficace dans les deux langues officielles. Des ressources documentaires ont été fournies à chaque bureau et chaque étage à Kitchener.
4.4 S'assurer que les documents de travail pour l'exécution de programmes sont accessibles en français et en anglais (c.-à-d. les sommaires de projet, etc.). Groupe de travail sur les LO Les documents sont accessibles dans la langue officielle choisie par l'employé.  
5. Gestion des ressources humaines
5.1 Intégrer les besoins en LO dans les plans opérationnels des RH et les stratégies de dotation. RH L'Agence est en mesure de satisfaire aux obligations en vertu de la LLO. Lancement du plan des RH en automne 2012 dans le cadre d'un exercice de planification opérationnelle.
5.2 Promouvoir, gérer et évaluer le programme de formation en français langue seconde à temps partiel.
  • RH
  • Champion des LO
  • Coordonnateur des LO
Des occasions de formation linguistique sont offertes et communiquées aux employés, et elles sont bien exploitées. On offre actuellement une cinquième séance de formation en français langue seconde à temps partiel. Un appel a été envoyé à tous les employés en août 2012. On prévoit offrir une sixième séance à l'hiver 2013.
6. Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne
6.1 Développement des CLOSM et échange d'idées et de renseignements avec les CLOSM
6.1.1 Adaptation continue des programmes et des services de l'Agence, au besoin, à la lumière de la grille de l'analyse offerte par l'agent du Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines, à la suite de la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada concernant Caldech c. Desrochers.
  • Champion des LO
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • ICDC
Les programmes de l'Agence reflètent le principe de l'égalité réelle.  
6.1.2 Déterminer les réussites dans les CLOSM.
  • ICDC
  • Communications
Développement continu et communication des réussites liées aux CLOSM.  
6.1.3 Intégrer la stratégie des LO dans la stratégie globale de mobilisation de l'Agence.
  • Relations intergouvernmentales et avec les intervenants (RII)
  • ICDC
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • Champion des LO
Les CLOSM font partie de la stratégie de mobilisation de l'Agence. Table ronde des LO avec les intervenants des CLOSM menée à la fin de septembre.
6.1.4 Continuer de surveiller la participation des CLOSM aux programmes afin de s'assurer que tous les programmes et services offerts par FedDev Ontario sont accessibles aux CLOSM. ICDC Tous les programmes et services de FedDev Ontario sont accessibles et offerts aux CLOSM.  
6.2 Sensibilisation (activités internes)
6.2.1 Promouvoir des journées spéciales telles que la Journée de la dualité linguistique.
  • Champion des LO
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • Communications
Les employés de l'Agence sont au courant des événements spéciaux qui promeuvent la dualité linguistique.  
6.3 Coordination et liaison
6.3.1 Participer au réseau national des coordonnateurs des LO. Coordonnateur des LO Collaboration et coordination avec les autres organismes fédéraux sur les questions relatives aux langues officielles.  
6.3.2 Participer aux comités de gouvernance des LO (p. ex. le réseau interministériel de l'Ontario en LO, le comité des sous-ministres adjoints sur les LO, etc.).
  • Champion des LO
  • Coordonnateur des LO
Collaboration et coordination avec les autres organismes fédéraux sur les questions relatives aux langues officielles.  
6.4 Feuille de route pour les langues officielles du Canada  Initiative de développement économique
6.4.1 Prestation de l'IDE. ICDC Favoriser l'innovation, la diversification et le développement des CLOSM.  
6.4.2 Participer au comité de mise en œuvre de l'IDE avec Industrie Canada et les organismes de développement régional. ICDC Échange des pratiques exemplaires et rapports sur les initiatives ou les projets entrepris dans le cadre de l'IDE.  
6.4.3 Participer aux discussions de renouvellement de la Feuille de route et au processus dirigé par Patrimoine canadien.
  • Coordonnateur des LO
  • Champion des LO
  • ICDC
S'assurer que l'éventuel « renouvellement de la Feuille de route » prend en considération les points de vue de FedDev Ontario.  
Date de modification :