Archived — Durham Region Stakeholders Learn About New Federal Funding Opportunities

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Minister Goodyear Meets with Community Leaders in Clarington

January, 23, 2014Clarington, OntarioFederal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

FedDev Ontario Minister of State Gary Goodyear, along with MP Erin O'Toole, was in the Municipality of Clarington today to highlight Agency funding opportunities available for the region's businesses and communities.

More than $530 million is available through FedDev Ontario's new Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives, aimed at retaining, attracting and growing businesses in southern Ontario to increase the region's global competitiveness.

Funding is also available through the $200-million Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario. In addition, $48 million is available through the renewal of the Eastern Ontario Development Program.

Quick Facts

  • Since its creation in August 2009, FedDev Ontario has invested more than $1.1 billion, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,300 organizations and more than $1.5 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources to support businesses, organizations and communities in southern Ontario.
  • The Agency received renewed funding of $920 million as a result of Economic Action Plan 2013. Beginning April 1, 2014, the Agency will focus on: building on its successes, co-investing in world-class innovation platforms, commercializing that innovation, creating an entrepreneurial environment with access to financing; and creating prosperity by boosting productivity and diversification.

Quotes

"Our Government is aware of the important role that Durham's businesses, academic institutions and communities play in southern Ontario's economy. Through FedDev Ontario we are committed to delivering programming that meets the needs of individuals in this region, helping them to grow and become more competitive."

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario

"Durham is a critical part of the economy in southern Ontario with diverse industries and tremendous potential. I'm pleased that Minister Goodyear joined us today to hear from employers in our community and share information on how the federal government is supporting employment and investment in our region."

Erin O'Toole, Member of Parliament for Durham

Related Products

Associated Links

Contacts

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Toll Free: 1-866-593-5505
Website: www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca
Subscribe to our news updates and follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

Date modified:

Archivé — Des intervenants de la région de Durham prennent connaissance de nouvelles possibilités de financement fédéral

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le ministre Goodyear rencontre des dirigeants communautaires à Clarington

Le 23 janvier 2014Clarington (Ontario)Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

Le ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario, Gary Goodyear, accompagné du député Erin O'Toole, était dans la municipalité de Clarington aujourd'hui pour souligner les possibilités de financement offertes par l'Agence aux entreprises et collectivités de la région.

Plus de 530 millions de dollars sont offerts, par l'intermédiaire des Initiatives pour la prospérité du Sud de l'Ontario, dans le but de conserver, d'attirer et de faire croître les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario afin d'accroître la compétitivité de la région sur la scène internationale.

Un financement d'une valeur de 200 millions de dollars est aussi offert dans le cadre du Fonds de fabrication de pointe. Et enfin, la somme de 48 millions de dollars est disponible par l'intermédiaire du renouvellement du Programme de développement de l'Est de l'Ontario.

Les faits en bref

  • Depuis sa création, en août 2009, FedDev Ontario a investi plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars, donnant ainsi lieu à des partenariats avec plus de 5 300 organisations et à plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars en investissements supplémentaires obtenus par effet de levier à partir de sources presque exclusivement non gouvernementales et ce, dans le but d'appuyer les entreprises, les fabricants, les organisations et les collectivités du Sud de l'Ontario.
  • Le financement de l'Agence, s'élevant à 920 millions de dollars, a été renouvelé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique de 2013. À compter du 1er avril 2014, l'Agence cherchera à miser sur ses réussites, à réaliser des co-investissements dans des plateformes d'innovation de classe mondiale, à commercialiser ces innovations, à établir un environnement entrepreneurial offrant accès à des possibilités de financement et à créer de la prospérité en stimulant la productivité et la diversification.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement est conscient du rôle important que jouent les entreprises, les établissements d'enseignement et les collectivités de Durham dans l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario. Par l'entremise de FedDev Ontario, nous sommes résolus à offrir des programmes qui répondent aux besoins des habitants de la région, pour ainsi les aider à faire croître leurs entreprises et à les rendre plus concurrentielles. »

Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario

« Durham constitue une partie essentielle de l'économie du Sud de l'Ontario, comptant diverses industries et recelant un potentiel énorme. Je suis heureux que le ministre Goodyear se soit joint à nous aujourd'hui pour entendre les employeurs de notre collectivité et partager des renseignements sur le soutien qu'offre le gouvernement fédéral à la création d'emplois et aux investissements dans notre région. »

Erin O'Toole, député de Durham

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Personnes-ressources

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Numéro sans frais : 1-866-593-5505
Site Web : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca
Inscrivez-vous à nos mises à jour et suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

Date de modification :