Archived — Minister Goodyear Meets with Food and Beverage Stakeholders in Leamington

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

January, 24, 2014Leamington, OntarioFederal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

FedDev Ontario Minister of State Gary Goodyear, along with MP Dave Van Kesteren, was in Leamington today to highlight Agency funding opportunities available for local food and beverage processors.

With more than 3,000 food and beverage processing businesses located in Ontario, this sector is a key contributor to Ontario's and Canada's economy.

More than $530 million is available through FedDev Ontario's new Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives, aimed at retaining, attracting and growing businesses in southern Ontario to increase the region's global competitiveness. In addition, funding is available through the $200-million Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario.

Today's meeting was one in a series of roundtables targeting the food and beverage processing sector that Minister Goodyear held this week, including sessions in Belleville and Toronto.

Quick Facts

  • To date, FedDev Ontario has committed more than $41 million in 51 food and beverage processing-related projects in southern Ontario, as well as nearly $5.5 million in 131 projects through partners such as the Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters, the Yves Landry Foundation and the Ontario Chamber of Commerce. This has leveraged a total of more than $305 million.
  • Since its creation in August 2009, FedDev Ontario has invested more than $1.1 billion, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,300 organizations and more than $1.5 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources to support businesses, organizations and communities in southern Ontario.

Quotes

"The federal government is sympathetic to the impact the Heinz plant closure in Leamington will have on the region and we are committed to assisting workers to transition through this difficult period. Through FedDev Ontario's programming, we would like to build on existing opportunities and help create, grow and attract businesses to the region."

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario

"I'm pleased that Minister Goodyear has taken the time to meet with local stakeholders about challenges and opportunities in the food and beverage processing sector. We look forwarding to seeing growth in this sector, which plays a key role in our economy, especially here in Leamington."

Dave Van Kesteren, Member of Parliament for Chatham-Kent—Essex

Related Products

Associated Links

Contacts

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Toll Free: 1-866-593-5505
Website: www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca
Subscribe to our news updates and follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre Goodyear rencontre des intervenants du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons à Leamington

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 24 janvier 2014Leamington (Ontario)Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario, et Dave Van Kesteren, député, étaient à Leamington aujourd'hui afin de souligner les possibilités de financement offertes par l'Agence aux transformateurs locaux d'aliments et de boissons.

Comptant plus de 3 000 entreprises de transformation d'aliments et de boissons en Ontario, ce secteur de la transformation joue un rôle de premier plan dans les économies de l'Ontario et du Canada.

Plus de 530 millions de dollars sont disponibles dans le cadre des nouvelles Initiatives pour la prospérité du Sud de l'Ontario de FedDev Ontario, qui visent à retenir, à attirer et à promouvoir la croissance des entreprises dans le Sud de l'Ontario afin d'accroître la compétitivité de la région sur la scène internationale. En outre, un financement est disponible dans le cadre du Fonds de fabrication de pointe de 200 millions de dollars en Ontario.

La réunion d'aujourd'hui faisait partie d'une série de tables rondes portant sur le secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons que le ministre Goodyear a tenues cette semaine, y compris des séances à Belleville et à Toronto.

Les faits en bref

  • Jusqu'ici, FedDev Ontario a engagé plus de 41 millions de dollars dans 51 projets liés à la transformation des aliments et des boissons dans le Sud de l'Ontario, ainsi que presque 5,5 millions de dollars dans 131 projets par l'entremise de ses partenaires, comme Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada, la Yves Landry Foundation et l'Ontario Chamber of Commerce. En tout, ces investissements ont permis de générer par effet de levier plus de 305 millions de dollars.
  • Depuis sa création en août 2009, FedDev Ontario a investi plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars, ce qui a entraîné des partenariats avec plus de 5 300 organisations et plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars en investissements supplémentaires générés par effet de levier provenant de sources presque exclusivement non gouvernementales pour appuyer les entreprises, les organisations et les collectivités dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Citations

« Le gouvernement fédéral reconnaît l'incidence qu'aura la fermeture de l'usine Heinz à Leamington sur la région et s'engage à aider les travailleurs à faire la transition en cette période difficile. Dans le cadre des programmes de FedDev Ontario, nous souhaitons miser sur les possibilités existantes et aider à créer, à développer et à attirer des entreprises dans la région. »

Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario

« Je suis heureux que le ministre Goodyear ait pris le temps de rencontrer des intervenants locaux et de discuter des défis du secteur de la transformation des aliments et des boissons et des possibilités qu'il offre. Nous attendons avec intérêt de voir ce secteur croître, puisqu'il joue un rôle essentiel dans notre économie, surtout ici, à Leamington. »

Dave Van Kesteren, député de Chatham-Kent-Essex

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Personnes-ressources

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Numéro sans frais : 1-866-593-5505
Site Web : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca
Inscrivez-vous à nos mises à jour et suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

Date de modification :