Archived — Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario Future-Oriented Statement of Operations for the Year Ending March 31, 2014

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
Future-Oriented Statement of Operations
For the Year Ending March 31
(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated Results
2013–14
Planned Results
2014–15
Expenses
Technological Innovation $96,830 $59,172
Business Development 7,163 32,020
Community Economic Development 76,194 34,103
Internal Services 22,351 19,550
Expenses incurred on behalf of Government 3,546 8,672
Total expenses 206,084 153,517
Revenues
Amortization of discounts (67) 3,801
Revenues earned on behalf of Government 67 (3,801)
Total revenues 0 0
Net cost of operations $206,084 $153,517

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2013–14 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2013 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year.  Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2014–15 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

These assumptions were adopted as at January 2, 2014.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2013–14 and for 2014–15, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, FedDev Ontario will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using Government's accounting policies that came into effect for the 2011–12 fiscal year which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards.  The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Agency's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions that do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being, are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

b) Revenues

Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the Agency's liabilities. Although the Deputy Head is expected to maintain accounting control, she has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the entity's gross revenues.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

The Agency is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the Agency do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the Agency has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities

Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2013–14
Planned
2014–15
Net cost of operations $206,084 $153,517
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations
but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets (48) (51)
Gain (loss) on disposal of tangible capital assets (1) 0
Services provided without charge by other government departments (3,663) (3,681)
Increase in vacation pay and compensatory leave 105 110
Increase (decrease) in employee future benefits (175) (133)
Bad debt expense (3,546) (8,672)
Refund of prior years' expenditures 53 51
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (7,275) (12,376)
Adjustment for items not affecting net cost of operations
but affecting appropriations:
Acquisition of tangible assets 26 0
Proceeds from disposal of tangible capital assets (12) 0
Loans issued on behalf of Government 48,270 65,623
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 48,284 65,623
Requested authorities $247,093 $206,764

b) Authorities requested

Authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2013–14
Planned
2014–15
Authorities requested:
Vote 50 – Operating expenditures $29,052 $26,039
Vote 55 – Grants and contributions 214,718 177,632
Statutory amounts 3,323 3,093
Requested authorities $247,093 $206,764
Date modified:

Archivé — Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario L'état des résultats prospectif complémentaire pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
État des résultats prospectifs
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats
estimatifs
2013-2014
Résultats
prévus
2014-2015
Charges
Innovation technologique 96 830 $ 59 172 $
Développement des entreprises 7 163 32 020
Développement économique communautaire 76 194 34 103
Services internes 22 351 19 550
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement 3 546 8 672
Total des charges 206 084 153 517
Revenus
Amortissement d'escomptes (67) 3 801
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement 67 (3 801)
Total des revenus 0 0
Coût de fonctionnement net 206 084 $ 153 517 $

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes complémentaires à l'état des résultats prospectifs

1. Méthodes et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectifs a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l'exercice 2013-2014 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2013 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l'exercice 2014-2015.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 2 janvier 2014.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2013-2014 et pour 2014-2015, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation des présents états des résultats prospectifs, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectifs et l'état des résultats historiques sont entre autres :

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités sera présenté, FedDev Ontario ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement entrées en vigueur pour l'exercice 2011-2012, lesquelles s'appuient sur les Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement de l'Agence sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges dès que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou qu'il a rempli les conditions de l'accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d'opérations qui ne font pas partie d'un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, pour autant que la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l'achèvement de l'état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l'entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l'accord de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d'actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour moins-value de prêts, de placements et d'avances ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

b) Revenus

Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l'exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les faits qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs de l'Agence. Bien qu'on s'attende à ce que l'administratrice générale maintienne le contrôle comptable, elle n'a pas autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l'entité.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

L'Agence est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties à l'Agence ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectifs d'un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d'un exercice précédent, de l'exercice en cours ou d'exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets de l'Agence diffèrent suivant qu'ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées

Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
  Estimatif
2013-2014
Prévu
2014-2015
Coût de fonctionnement net 206 084 $ 153 517  $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (48) (51)
Gain (perte) découlant de l'aliénation des immobilisations corporelles (1) 0
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères gouvernementaux (3 663) (3 681)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 105 110
Augmentation (réduction) des avantages sociaux futurs (175) (133)
Créances douteuses (3 546) (8 672)
Remboursement de dépenses des exercices précédents 53 51
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (7 275) (12 376)
Rajustement pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 26 0
Produits de l'aliénation d'immobilisations corporelles (12) 0
Prêts émis pour le compte du gouvernement 48 270 65 623
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 48 284 65 623
Autorisations demandées 247 093 $ 206 764 $

b) Autorisations demandées

Autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
  Estimatif
2013-2014
Prévu
2014-2015
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 50 — Dépenses de fonctionnement 29 052 $ 26 039 $
Crédit 55 — Subventions et contributions 214 718 177 632
Montant des autorisations législatives 3 323 3 093
Autorisations demandées 247 093 $ 206 764 $
Date de modification :