Archived — Ontario Economic Developers Learn About New Federal Funding Opportunities

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

February 6, 2014Toronto, OntarioFederal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

FedDev Ontario Minister of State Gary Goodyear spoke to Ontario economic developers this morning to outline new federal funding opportunities available to help position the province's businesses to compete in the global marketplace.

In an opening address at the Economic Developers Council of Ontario (EDCO) 57th Annual Conference and Showcase, the Minister also highlighted how the public and private sectors should work together to drive innovation and increase productivity, contributing to the region's economic prosperity.

Since 2009, FedDev Ontario has been playing the roles of co-investor, collaborator, convenor and champion with southern Ontario communities, businesses and not-for-profit organizations to actively promote the region and build a strong foundation of long-term economic growth.

FedDev Ontario launched a series of funding initiatives in December 2013. More than $530 million is available through the Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives, aimed at retaining, attracting and growing businesses in southern Ontario to increase the region's global competitiveness. More than $200 million over five years is also available through the Advanced Manufacturing Fund in Ontario, aimed at the development of transformative products and technologies to help Ontario manufacturers create jobs and compete with the rest of the world.

Quick Facts

  • Businesses, not-for-profit organizations, post-secondary institutions and angel organizations can apply now for funding through a series of initiatives delivered by FedDev Ontario.
  • Since its creation in August 2009, FedDev Ontario has invested more than $1.1 billion, resulting in partnerships with more than 5,300 organizations and more than $1.5 billion in additional leveraged investments from almost exclusively non-government sources to support businesses, organizations and communities in southern Ontario.

Quotes

"Our Government is aware of the impact that partnerships have on the success of Ontario's economic developers. Through FedDev Ontario, we are committed to delivering programming that meets the needs of this region's businesses and communities, giving them the right tools they need to make big ideas happen."

Gary Goodyear, Minister of State for FedDev Ontario

Related Products

Associated Links

Contacts

Stephanie Thomas
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Media Relations
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Toll Free: 1-866-593-5505
Website: www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca
Subscribe to our news updates and follow us on Twitter @FedDevOntario

Date modified:

Archivé — Les développeurs économiques de l'Ontario découvrent les nouvelles possibilités de financement fédérales

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Le 6 février 2014Toronto (Ontario)Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario)

Le ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario, Gary Goodyear, s'est adressé ce matin aux développeurs économiques de l'Ontario afin de donner un aperçu des nouvelles possibilités de financement fédérales disponibles visant à positionner les entreprises de la province afin de faire concurrence sur le marché mondial.

Dans un discours d'ouverture prononcé dans le cadre de la 57e conférence annuelle et exposition de l'Economic Developers Council of Ontario (EDCO), le ministre a également souligné la façon dont les secteurs public et privé doivent collaborer afin de motiver l'innovation et d'accroître la productivité, contribuant ainsi à la prospérité économique de la région.

Depuis 2009, FedDev Ontario joue le rôle de co-investisseur, de collaborateur, de rassembleur et de champion auprès des collectivités, des entreprises et des organisations à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario afin de promouvoir activement la région et d'établir un fondement solide relativement à la croissance économique à long terme.

FedDev Ontario a lancé une série d'initiatives de financement en décembre 2013. Plus de 530 millions de dollars sont disponibles par l'intermédiaire des Initiatives pour la prospérité du Sud de l'Ontario, dont l'objectif est de maintenir, d'attirer et d'élargir les entreprises du Sud de l'Ontario dans le but d'accroître la compétitivité globale de la région. Plus de 200 millions de dollars sur cinq ans sont aussi disponibles par l'intermédiaire du Fonds de fabrication de pointe en Ontario, qui a pour objet d'élaborer des technologies et des produits transformateurs afin de soutenir les fabricants de l'Ontario à créer des emplois et à faire concurrence avec le reste du monde.

Les faits en bref

  • Les entreprises, les organisations à but non lucratif, les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire et les organismes investisseurs providentiels peuvent maintenant demander un financement dans le cadre d'une série d'initiatives offertes par FedDev Ontario.
  • Depuis sa création en août 2009, FedDev Ontario a investi plus de 1,1 milliard de dollars, ce qui a entraîné des partenariats avec plus de 5 300 organisations et plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars en investissements supplémentaires générés par effet de levier provenant de sources presque exclusivement non gouvernementales pour appuyer les entreprises, les organisations et les collectivités dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Citations

« Notre gouvernement est conscient de l'incidence des partenariats quant à la réussite des développeurs économiques de l'Ontario. Par l'intermédiaire de FedDev Ontario, nous sommes engagés à offrir des programmes qui répondent aux besoins des entreprises et des collectivités de cette région, en leur donnant les outils appropriés dont elles ont besoin afin de réaliser de grandes idées. »

Gary Goodyear, ministre d'État responsable de FedDev Ontario

Produits connexes

Liens connexes

Contacts

Stéphanie Thomas
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Gary Goodyear
613-943-7599

Relations avec les médias
FedDev Ontario
416-954-6652
FedDevMedia@FedDevOntario.gc.ca

Numéro sans frais : 1-866-593-5505
Site Web : www.FedDevOntario.gc.ca
Inscrivez-vous à nos mises à jour et suivez-nous sur Twitter @FedDev_Ontario.

Date de modification :