Rehabilitation of Culvert 21 on Canadian Pacific Rail Trail – Chatsworth (2013)

Rehabilitation of Culvert 21 on Canadian Pacific Rail Trail ChatsworthCulvert 21, the historic 140-year-old former railway bridge, is part of a multi-use recreational trail used by hikers, equestrians, cyclists, snowmobilers and riders of all-terrain vehicles, and is considered a one-of-a-kind feature of the area's railroad history. It attracts trail users into Grey County and supports economic development and tourism activity in this picturesque region just south of Georgian Bay.

When the aging bridge was showing signs of deterioration, Grey County heritage enthusiasts petitioned Council to restore the beautiful brick-and-stone archway, as opposed to demolishing it and installing a prefabricated straight span. Donations from the community helped to fund the County's share of the project.

Through the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund, Grey County was approved for a federal investment of up to $166,500, with total eligible project costs of $500,000 to rehabilitate Culvert 21 on the Canadian Pacific Rail Trail.

On , the County celebrated the project‘s completion, which included the use of new technologies to replicate and maintain the historical features of the culvert, such as the appearance of old world masonry.

Stay Connected

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope Google+ LinkedIn RSS Feeds
In Ontario, FedDev Ontario invested in 430 infrastructure projects through the Fund.
Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund
Date modified:

Réfection du ponceau 21 sur la ligne ferroviaire du Canadien Pacifique – Chatsworth (2013)

Réfection du ponceau 21 sur la ligne ferroviaire du Canadien Pacifique ChatsworthLe ponceau historique vieux de 140 ans fait partie d'un sentier polyvalent d'excursion utilisé par les randonneurs pédestres, les amateurs d'équitation, les motoneigistes et les conducteurs de véhicules tout terrain et représente une caractéristique unique dans l'histoire du chemin de fer de cette région. Il attire les utilisateurs de sentiers au comté et soutient le développement économique ainsi que l'activité touristique dans la région.

Au moment où le pont vieillissant a montré des signes de détérioration, les passionnés du patrimoine du comté de Grey ont présenté une requête au Conseil en vue de restaurer la belle arcade de brique et de pierre, plutôt que de la démolir et de la remplacer par une travée droite préfabriquée. Les dons de la communauté ont contribué à financer la part du comté.

Au titre du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire, le comté de Grey s'est vu octroyé un investissement fédéral à concurrence de 166 500 $ avec des coûts admissibles totaux de 500 000 $ pour la réfection du ponceau 21 sur la ligne ferroviaire du Canadien Pacifique.

Le , le comté de Grey a célébré l'achèvement du projet qui a fait appel à l'utilisation de nouvelles technologies pour reproduire et maintenir les caractéristiques historiques du ponceau, tel que l'apparence de la maçonnerie d'antan.

Restez branchés

Twitter Instagram YouTube Periscope LinkedIn RSS
En Ontario, FedDev Ontario a investi dans 430 projets d’infrastructure grâce à ce fonds.
Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire
Date de modification :