Quarterly Financial Report — Quarter ended June 30, 2015

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel, and programs

  1. Introduction
  2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) Results
  3. Risks and Uncertainties
  4. Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report should be read in conjunction with the 2015–16 Main Estimates. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, Mandate & Program Activities

As Canada's most populous region—home to more than 12.7 million residents living in 288 communities—southern Ontario is a key contributor to the Canadian economy. The Government of Canada created the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) in 2009 as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan. FedDev Ontario works with communities, businesses and not‑for‑profit organizations in southern Ontario to actively promote the region and build a strong foundation of investment and partnerships to help secure Canada's long‑term prosperity.

Through the support of businesses and organizations, FedDev Ontario is able to advance innovative technologies and leverage community capacity to develop regionally‑based economic solutions. FedDev Ontario works as a co‑investor, convenor, champion and delivery agent and intentionally directs its resources to activities with the greatest regional impacts.

Further details on FedDev Ontario's authorities, mandate and program activities can be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and Part II of the Main Estimates [PDF document].

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes FedDev Ontario's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by FedDev Ontario—consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2015–16 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special‑purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

FedDev Ontario uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual financial statements that are part of its performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year‑to‑Date (YTD) Results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase or decrease in authorities available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended .

Authorities Analysis

Planned departmental spending in fiscal year 2015–16 totals $215.3 million, an $8.5 million increase over that available at the close of the first quarter in the 2014–15 fiscal year. This comprises an $8.6 million increase in program authorities and $0.1 million decrease in operating authorities.

The decrease of $0.1 million in operating authorities is a result of changes to the administration of the Ontario Federal Council. The $8.6 million increase in program authorities is the result of an increase to the Advanced Manufacturing Fund ($12.0 million) and decrease to the Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives ($3.4 million), both representing funding that was reprofiled from 2014–15 to 2015–16.

Over 85 percent of FedDev Ontario's planned spending is allocated to program authorities (grants and contributions). The remaining 15 percent is used to fund internal support services, such as communications, policy development, finance and human resources. This funding is also used to support FedDev Ontario's efforts as a convener and champion within southern Ontario.

Figure: Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016 compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015 (in millions of dollars)

Bar chart of Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016 compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015 (in millions of dollars) (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure
Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016 compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015 (in millions of dollars)
Type of authorities Fiscal Year
(in millions of dollars)
2014–15 2015–16
Operating Spending Authorities 29.1 29.0
Program Spending Authorities 177.6 186.2

2.2 Expenditure Analysis

In the first quarter of the 2015–16 fiscal year, total budgetary expenditures were $21.1 million compared to $6.5 million reported in the same period of 2014–15. This represents a year‑over‑year increase of $14.6 million, or 225 percent.

Quarterly spending includes $15.2 million on programs and $5.9 million on operating expenditures. Spending on operating costs has decreased slightly compared to $6.4 million for the same period in 2014–15 and program expenditures have increased by $15.1 million.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The following provides additional analysis of key variances at the Standard Object level.

Used During the Quarter

Spending on transfer payments was $15.2 million in the first quarter of 2015–16, compared to $0.1 million in the same quarter of 2014–15. The reason for the variance is that the first quarter of 2014–15 was the beginning of the Agency's second mandate: the project intake cycle for the new suite of programming had just opened and there were very few applicants that had been approved for funding and that had submitted expenditure claims by the end of that quarter. The higher level of expenditures recorded in the first quarter of 2015–16 reflects the steady growth in the number of applications that have been approved for funding in the year since the new intake opened, many of whom submitted project‑related expense claims this quarter.

Personnel‑related expenditures totaled $5.4 million; remaining unchanged from the same period in 2014–15.

The following Standard Objects have relatively low expenditures, so small variances in the dollar value of spending will result in large percentage variances. This is anticipated to normalize during the annual cycle.

There is a year‑over‑year decrease in expenditures related to rentals ($9,000 or 60 percent) which is related to the timing of the billing cycle and should normalize in future quarters.

During the first quarter of 2015–16, expenditures increased for repair and maintenance ($34,000 or 486 percent), acquisition of machinery and equipment ($62,000 or 1,033 percent) and utilities and materials ($4,000 or 44 percent). These increases are primarily attributed to FedDev Ontario's headquarters relocation to Waterloo and the costs associated with fitting up the new office space.

Transportation and communications expenditures are consistent with the previous year. Professional and special services expenditures have increased by $127,000, or 76 percent, which is mostly driven by the timing of multi‑year charges from other government departments and costs associated with the office relocation.

Other subsidies and payments expenditures have decreased by $649,000, or 101 percent, due to increased previous year spending related to the implementation of pay in arrears by the Government of Canada.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

FedDev Ontario is actively managing the risks identified in the previous year related to the expenditure of transfer payment authorities. For example, a strong system of budgeting, forecasting and controls is in place to help mitigate financial risks relating to the Agency's funding authorities.

4. Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

On , the Government of Canada launched the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program (CIP 150), with FedDev Ontario delivering the southern Ontario portion of up to $44.4 million over two years. During the first quarter, FedDev Ontario allocated resources to develop the program and launch the application intake, receiving more than 1,100 applications

During the first quarter of 2015–16 FedDev Ontario completed the relocation of its headquarters to 139 Northfield Drive West in Waterloo, Ontario.

Subsequent to the quarter-end, Nancy Horsman was appointed as FedDev Ontario's President effective .

 Approval by Senior Officials

Original signed by

space to insert Nancy Horsman' signature
Nancy Horsman
President
Waterloo, Canada

Original signed by

space to insert Susan Anzolin's signature
Susan Anzolin
Chief Financial Officer
Waterloo, Canada

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
Fiscal Year 2015–16
(in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal Year 2014–15
(in thousands of dollars)
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50—Net Operating Expenditures 25,859 5,123 5,123 26,037 5,619 5,619
Vote 55—Grants and Contributions 186,240 15,214 15,214 177,632 79 79
Budgetary statutory authorities:
Employee benefit plans 3,151 788 788 3,093 773 773
Minister of State—car allowance 2 1 1 2 1 1
Total budgetary authorities 215,252 21,126 21,126 206,764 6,472 6,472
Non-budgetary authorities - - - - - -
Total authorities 215,252 21,126 21,126 206,764 6,472 6,472

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
Fiscal Year 2015-16
(in thousands of dollars)
Fiscal Year 2014-15
(in thousands of dollars)
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
PersonnelFootnote 2 21,910 5,350 5,350 21,842 5,401 5,401
Transportation and communications 943 110 110 847 112 112
Information 230 34 34 164 31 31
Professional and special services 4,458 295 295 5,671 168 168
Rentals 371 6 6 164 15 15
Repair and maintenance 570 41 41 131 7 7
Utilities, materials and supplies 124 13 13 74 9 9
Acquisition of land, buildings, and works 36 - - 5 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 349 68 68 200 6 6
Transfer payments 186,240 15,214 15,214 177,632 79 79
Other subsidies and payments 21 (5) (5) 34 644 644
Total budgetary expenditures 215,252 21,126 21,126 206,764 6,472 6,472
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel — Trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants concernant le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes

  1. Introduction
  2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs
  3. Risques et incertitudes
  4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi par la direction conformément à l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prévues dans la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses de 2015-2016. Le rapport n'a fait l'objet ni d'une vérification externe ni d'un examen.

Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

En tant que la région la plus peuplée du Canada, avec plus de 12,7 millions de résidents répartis dans 288 collectivités, le Sud de l'Ontario contribue de façon importante à l'économie canadienne. En 2009, le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada. FedDev Ontario travaille avec les collectivités, les entreprises et les organismes à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario pour promouvoir de manière active la région et pour construire une assise solide d'investissements et de partenariats afin de veiller à la prospérité à long terme du Canada.

Par l'entremise du soutien des entreprises et des organisations, FedDev Ontario est en mesure de faire avancer des technologies novatrices et de tirer parti des capacités des collectivités en vue de formuler des solutions économiques régionales. FedDev Ontario agit en tant que co-investisseur, rassembleur, champion et agent de mise en œuvre, en plus d'acheminer ses ressources aux activités dont les répercussions régionales sont les plus grandes.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur les autorisations, le mandat et les activités de programme de FedDev Ontario dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et la Partie II du Budget principal des dépenses. [document PDF].

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a élaboré le présent rapport trimestriel au moyen d'une méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations qui l'accompagne comprend les autorisations de dépenser qui ont été accordées à FedDev Ontario par le Parlement conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2015-2016. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été élaboré au moyen d'un cadre de présentation de rapports à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'intermédiaire de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'intermédiaire de lois sous forme d'autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

FedDev Ontario utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels dans le cadre du processus de rapports sur son rendement. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les éléments importants qui ont contribué à l'augmentation ou à la diminution nette des autorisations disponibles pour l'année et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre se terminant le .

Analyse des autorisations

Les dépenses prévues par le Ministère pour l'exercice 2015-2016 s'élèvent à 215,3 millions de dollars, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 8,5 millions de dollars par rapport aux fonds disponibles à la fin du premier trimestre de 2014-2015. Cela englobe une augmentation des autorisations de programmes de 8,6 millions de dollars et une réduction de 0,1 million de dollars pour les autorisations de fonctionnement.

La diminution de 0,1 million de dollars en autorisations de fonctionnement découle de changements liés à l'administration du Conseil fédéral de l'Ontario. L'augmentation de 8,6 millions de dollars en autorisations de programme provient d'une augmentation du Fonds de fabrication de pointe (12,0 millions de dollars) et d'une diminution des Initiatives pour la prospérité du Sud de l'Ontario (3,4 millions de dollars), qui représentent tous deux un financement qui a été reporté de 2014-2015 à 2015-2016.

Plus de 85 pour cent des dépenses prévues de FedDev Ontario sont affectées aux autorisations de programme (subventions et contributions). Les 15 pour cent restants sont utilisés pour financer les services de soutien internes, tels que les communications, l'élaboration des politiques ainsi que les ressources financières et humaines. Ce financement est également utilisé afin d'appuyer les efforts de FedDev Ontario en tant que rassembleur et champion dans le Sud de l'Ontario.

Figure : Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 comparativement à celles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 (en millions de dollars)

Graphique à barre verticales des Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 comparativement à celles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 (en millions de dollars) (the long description is located below the image)
Description de la figure
Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 comparativement à celles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 (en millions de dollars)
types d'autorisations  Exercice
(en millions de dollars)
2014-2015 2015-2016
Autorisations des dépenses de fonctionnement 29,1 29,0
Autorisations des dépenses de programme 177,6 186,2

2.2 Analyse des dépenses

Au cours du premier trimestre de l'exercice 2015-2016, le total des dépenses budgétaires se chiffrait à 21,1 millions de dollars, comparativement au montant de 6,5 millions de dollars dont on a fait état pour la même période en 2014-2015, ce qui représente une augmentation d'un exercice à l'autre de 14,6 millions de dollars (soit 225 pour cent).

Les dépenses trimestrielles comprennent 15,2 millions de dollars pour les programmes et 5,9 millions de dollars pour le fonctionnement. Les dépenses pour les coûts de fonctionnement ont diminué légèrement comparativement à 6,4 millions de dollars pour la même période en 2014-2015, et les dépenses de programme ont augmenté de 15,1 millions de dollars.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant de dépense

Nous présentons ci-dessous une analyse supplémentaire des principaux écarts relatifs aux articles courants de dépense.

Utilisé pendant le trimestre

Les dépenses pour les paiements de transferts se sont élevées à 15,2 millions de dollars au cours du premier trimestre de 2015-2016, comparativement à 0,1 million pendant le même trimestre en 2014-2015. La raison de cet écart réside dans le fait que le premier trimestre de 2014-2015 correspondait au commencement du deuxième mandat de l'Agence : le cycle d'appel de demandes pour le nouvelle série de programmes venait tout juste d'être ouvert et il y avait très peu de candidats ayant reçu une approbation pour recevoir du financement et ayant présenté des demandes de remboursement avant la fin de ce trimestre. Le niveau plus élevé de dépenses enregistrées au cours du premier trimestre de 2015-2016 reflète la croissance continue dans le nombre de demandes ayant été approuvées pour du financement au cours de l'année depuis que le nouvel appel de demandes a été ouvert, plusieurs de ces demandeurs ont présenté des demandes de remboursement de dépenses liées à un projet durant ce trimestre.

Les dépenses liées au personnel se chiffraient à 5,4 millions de dollars, montant qui demeure inchangé par rapport à la même période en 2014-2015.

Les articles courants suivants ont des dépenses relativement faibles si bien que les petits écarts dans la valeur des dépenses se traduiront par de grands écarts de pourcentage. Cette situation devrait se normaliser au cours du cycle annuel.

On enregistre des baisses des dépenses liées aux locations d'un exercice à l'autre (9 000 $, soit 60 pour cent), ce qui se rapporte au moment du cycle de facturation, et cette situation devrait se normaliser dans les trimestres à venir.

Au cours du premier trimestre de 2015-2016, les dépenses ont augmenté en ce qui concerne la réparation et l'entretien (34 000 $, soit 486 pour cent), l'acquisition d'équipement et de matériel (62 000 $, soit 1 033 pour cent) et les services publics et les fournitures (4 000 $, soit 44 pour cent). Ces augmentations sont principalement attribuables au déménagement de l'administration centrale de FedDev Ontario à Waterloo et aux coûts liés à l'aménagement des nouveaux locaux pour bureaux.

Les dépenses de transport et de communication cadrent avec celles de l'année précédente. Les dépenses en matière de services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 127 000 $, soit 76 pour cent, ce qui est principalement attribuable aux imputations pluriannuelles par d'autres ministères et aux coûts liés au déménagement des bureaux.

Les autres subventions et paiements ont diminué de 649 000 $, soit 101 pour cent, en raison des dépenses de l'année précédente liées à la mise en œuvre des paiements de salaires à terme échu par le gouvernement du Canada.

3. Risques et incertitudes

FedDev Ontario gère activement les risques cernés dans l'année précédente se rapportant à la dépense des autorisations de paiements de transfert. Par exemple, un système solide d'établissement du budget, de prévisions et de contrôles est en place afin d'aider à atténuer les risques financiers se rapportant aux autorisations de financement de l'Agence.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Le , le gouvernement du Canada a lancé le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 (PIC 150), dans le cadre duquel FedDev Ontario exécute la partie consacrée au Sud de l'Ontario allant jusqu'à 44,4 millions de dollars sur deux ans. Durant le premier trimestre, FedDev Ontario a affecté des ressources afin d'élaborer le programme et de lancer l'appel des demandes, et a reçu plus de 1 100 de ces dernières.

Au cours du premier trimestre 2015-2016, FedDev Ontario a terminé le déménagement de son administration centrale, située au 139, promenade Northfield Ouest, à Waterloo, en Ontario.

À la suite de la fin du trimestre, Nancy Horsman a été nommée présidente de FedDev Ontario, à compter du .

Approuvé par les cadres supérieurs

Original signé par

champ de saisie de la signature de Nancy Horsman
Nancy Horsman
Présidente
Waterloo, Canada
Le

Original signé par

champ de saisie de la signature de Susan Anzolin
Susan Anzolin
Dirigeante principale des finances
Waterloo, Canada
Le

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Exercice 2015-2016
(en milliers de dollars)
Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars)
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 — Dépenses de fonctionnement nettes 25 859 5 123 5 123 aucune donnée 26 037 5 619 5 619
Crédit 55 — Subventions et contributions 186 240 15 214 15 214 177 632 79 79
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 151 788 788 aucune donnée 3 093 773 773
Ministre d'État — allocation d'automobile 2 1 1 aucune donnée 2 1 1
Autorisations budgétaires totales 215 252 21 126 21 126 aucune donnée 206 764 6 472 6 472
Autorisations non budgétaires - - - aucune donnée - - -
Autorisations totales 215 252 21 126 21 126 aucune donnée 206 764 6 472 6 472

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Exercice 2015-2016
(en milliers de dollars)
Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page 1 Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015Note de bas de page 1 Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Dépenses personnellesNote de bas de page 2 21 910 5 350 5 350 21 842 5 401 5 401
Transports et communications 943 110 110 847 112 112
Renseignements 230 34 34 aucune donnée 164 31 31
Services professionnels et spéciaux 4 458 295 295 aucune donnée 5 671 168 168
Location 371 6 6 aucune donnée 164 15 15
Services de réparation et d'entretien 570 41 41 aucune donnée 131 7 7
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 124 13 13 aucune donnée 74 9 9
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 36 - - aucune donnée 5 - -
Acquisition de machinerie et d'équipement 349 68 68 aucune donnée 200 6 6
Paiements de transfert 186 240 15 214 15 214 aucune donnée 177 632 79 79
Autres subventions et paiements 21 (5) (5) aucune donnée 34 644 644
Dépenses budgétaires totales 215 252 21 126 21 126 aucune donnée 206 764 6 472 6 472
Date de modification :