Archived — Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
Future-Oriented Statement of Operations for the Year Ending March 31, 2016

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario
Future-Oriented Statement of Operations
For the Year Ending March 31
(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated Results
2015-16
Planned Results
2016-17
Expenses
Technological Innovation $40,002 $66,418
Business Development 15,807 32,441
Community Economic Development 49,012 65,868
Internal Services 19,117 21,127
Expenses incurred on behalf of Government 4,535 3,656
Total expenses 128,473 189,510
Revenues
Amortization of discounts 788 1,365
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (788) (1,365)
Total revenues 0 0
Net cost of operations $128,473 $189,510

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statements of Operations

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2015-16 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2015 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2016-17 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

These assumptions were adopted as at November 30, 2015.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecasted Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2015-16 and for 2016-17, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, FedDev Ontario will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made as part of subsequent supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using the Government's accounting policies that came into effect for the 2011-12 fiscal year which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for FedDev Ontario's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charge for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions which do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

Revenues

Revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge FedDev Ontario's liabilities. While the Deputy Head is expected to maintain accounting control, she has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the Agency's gross revenues.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

FedDev Ontario is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of parliamentary authorities provided to FedDev Ontario do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles, since parliamentary authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, FedDev Ontario has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables: (a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities, and (b) Authorities requested.

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in thousands of dollars)

Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2015-16
Planned
2016-17
Net cost of operations $128,473 $189,510
Adjustment for items affecting net cost of operations
but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capitals assets (47) (38)
Gain (loss) on disposal of tangible capital assets 0 15
Services provided without charge by other government departments (3,971) (3,992)
Increase in vacation pay and compensatory leave 171 86
Increase (decrease) in employee future benefits 12 0
Bad debt expense (4,535) (3,656)
Refunds of previous years' expenditures 916 655
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (7,454) (6,930)
Adjustment for items not affecting net cost of operations
but affecting authorities:
Acquisition of tangible assets 0 60
Proceeds from disposal of tangible capital assets 0 15
Loans issued on behalf of Government 77,818 51,793
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 77,818 51,868
Requested authorities $198,837 $234,448

b) Authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)

Authorities requested (in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2015-16
Planned
2016-17
Authorities requested:
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures $27,131 $25,754
Vote 5 – Grants and contributions 183,325 205,480
Statutory amounts 3,153 3,214
Less:
Lapsed: Vote 5 – Grants and contributions (14,772)
Requested authorities $198,837 $234,448
Date modified:

Archivé — Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
L'état des résultats prospectif complémentaire pour l'exercice se terminant
le 31 mars 2016

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario
État des résultats prospectif
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats estimatifs
2015-2016
Résultats prévus
2016-2017
Dépenses
Innovation technologique 40 002 $ 66 418 $
Développement des entreprises 15 807 32 441
Développement économique communautaire 49 012 65 868
Services internes 19 117 21 127
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement 4 535 3 656
Total des dépenses 128 473 189 510
Revenus
Amortissement d'escomptes 788 1 365
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (788) (1 365)
Total des revenus 0 0
Coût de fonctionnement net 128 473 $ 189 510 $

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes sur l'état des résultats prospectif

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs en fin d'exercice pour 2015-2016 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2015 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l'exercice 2016-2017.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 30 novembre 2015.

2. Variations et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2015-2016 et pour 2016-2017, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs, qui sont considérées comme raisonnables, compte tenu des circonstances.

Voici certains des facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique :

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités aura été présenté, FedDev Ontario ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses ultérieurs. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement qui sont entrées en vigueur pour l'exercice 2011-2012, lesquelles s'appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables pour le secteur public du Canada.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement de FedDev Ontario sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit aux termes de leurs conditions d'emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges lorsque le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou qu'il a rempli les conditions de l'accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d'opérations qui ne font pas partie d'un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, dans la mesure où la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement est approuvée par le Parlement avant l'achèvement de l'état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l'entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l'accord de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de paiement de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

Les charges incluent également des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d'actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour évaluation de prêts, de placements et d'avances, ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

Revenus

Les revenus sont comptabilisés dans l'exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les faits qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles pour être dépensés à nouveau ne peuvent pas servir à acquitter les passifs de FedDev Ontario. Bien que l'on s'attende à ce que l'administratrice générale maintienne le contrôle comptable, elle n'a pas autorité sur la disposition des revenus non disponibles pour être dépensés à nouveau. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l'Agence.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

FedDev Ontario est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties à FedDev Ontario ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif d'un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l'exercice précédent, de l'exercice en cours ou d'exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net de FedDev Ontario pour l'exercice diffère suivant qu'il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants : (a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées, et (b) Autorisations demandées.

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)

Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
  Estimatif
2015-2016
Prévu
2016-2017
Coût de fonctionnement net 128 473 $ 189 510 $
Rajustement pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (47) (38)
Gain (perte) sur l'aliénation des immobilisations corporelles 0 15
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères gouvernementaux (3 971) (3 992)
Augmentation des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 171 86
Augmentation (réduction) des avantages sociaux futurs 12 0
Dépense pour créances irrécouvrables (4 535) (3 656)
Remboursements de dépenses des exercices précédents 916 655
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations
(7 454) (6 930)
Rajustement pour les postes n'ayant pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 0 60
Produits de l'aliénation des immobilisations corporelles 0 15
Prêts émis pour le compte du gouvernement 77 818 51 793
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations
77 818 51 868
Autorisations demandées 198 837 $ 234 448 $

b) Autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)

Autorisations demandées (en milliers de dollars)
  Estimatif
2015-2016
Prévu
2016-2017
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 27 131 $ 25 754 $
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 183 325 205 480
Montant des postes législatifs 3 153 3 214
Moins :
Expiré : Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions (14 772)
Autorisations demandées 198 837 $ 234 448 $
Date de modification :