FedDev Ontario Code of Conduct

Appendix A: Duties and Obligations

Public Servants

Public servants are expected to abide by this Code and demonstrate the values of the public sector in all actions and behaviour. Furthermore, public servants must also adhere to the behavioural expectations set out in this Code. If you do not abide by these values and expectations, you may be subject to administrative or disciplinary measures up to and including termination of employment.

Public servants who are also managers are in a position of influence and authority that gives them a particular responsibility to exemplify the values of the public sector. Managers are expected to uphold this Code, model appropriate behaviours, encourage dialogue on values and ethical issues, and foster an environment of openness where they encourage discussion, promote the exchange of ideas, elicit questions, and promote the search for solutions. Employees also have an important role to play by participating in the dialogue and contributing to creating a work environment that reflects values and ethics.

As provided by sections 12 and 13 of the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act (PSDPA), if you, as a public servant, have information that could indicate a serious breach of this Code, you can bring this matter, in confidence and without fear of reprisal, to the attention of your immediate supervisor, the Senior Officer for Disclosure or the Public Sector Integrity Commissioner.

President

The President has specific responsibilities under the PSDPA, including the establishment of a Code of Conduct for FedDev Ontario, and overall responsibility for promoting a culture of values and ethics within the Agency. The President, supported by the Senior Officer for Disclosure and the Director General, Human Resources, ensures that you, as an employee, are aware of your obligations under this Code and that you can obtain appropriate advice within the Agency on ethical issues, including possible conflicts of interest.

It is the responsibility of the President to ensure that this Code and internal disclosure procedures are implemented effectively and are regularly monitored and evaluated. The President is also responsible for ensuring that programs and services are provided in a non-partisan manner.

The President is subject to this Code and to the Conflict of Interest Act.

Vice Presidents

The Vice Presidents support the President in carrying out responsibilities pertaining to values and ethics within this Code. They are responsible, collectively, for promoting compliance with this Code and for fostering a values-based culture and high ethical standards of conduct that enable employees to work to their full potential in a professional and respectful work environment.

Senior Officer for Disclosure

The Senior Officer for Disclosure helps promote a positive environment for disclosing offences, deals with disclosures of wrongdoing made by public servants of FedDev Ontario, and supports the President in meeting the requirements of the PSDPA.

The duties and powers of the Senior Officer for Disclosure also include the following, pursuant to the internal disclosure procedures established under the PSDPA:

  1. Provide public servants with information, advice and guidance on FedDev Ontario's internal disclosure procedures, including the making of disclosures, the conduct of investigations into disclosures, and the handling of disclosures made to supervisors.
  2. Receive and record disclosures and review them to establish whether there are sufficient grounds for further action under the PSDPA.
  3. Manage investigations into disclosures, including determining whether to deal with a disclosure under the PSDPA, initiate an investigation, or cease an investigation.
  4. Coordinate handling of a disclosure with the senior officer of another federal public sector organization if a disclosure or an investigation into a disclosure involves that other organization.
  5. Notify the person(s) who made a disclosure in writing of the outcome of any review and/or investigation into the disclosure, and on the status of actions taken on the disclosure, as appropriate.
  6. Report the findings of investigations, as well as any systemic problems that may give rise to wrongdoings, directly to his or her chief executive, with recommendations for corrective action, if any.

As public servants at FedDev Ontario, you are encouraged to communicate with the Senior Officer for Disclosure to discuss possible avenues to address your concerns.

Treasury Board Secretariat: Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer

In support of the Treasury Board President's responsibilities under section 4 of the PSDPA, the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer (OCHRO) is responsible for promoting ethical practices in the public sector. The OCHRO will work with all relevant partner organizations to implement and promote this Code, and will provide advice to chief executives and designated departmental officials with respect to its interpretation.

The Chief Human Resources Officer may issue directives, standards and guidelines related to this Code.

OCHRO will monitor the implementation of this Code at FedDev Ontario with a view to assessing whether the stated objectives have been achieved.

Public Service Commission

The Public Service Commission is responsible for conducting staffing investigations and audits to safeguard the integrity of the public service staffing system and for administering certain provisions related to political activities in accordance with the Public Service Employment Act.

Date modified:

Code de conduite de FedDev Ontario

Annexe A : Fonctions et obligations

Fonctionnaires

Les fonctionnaires sont censés respecter le présent code en tout temps et appliquer les valeurs du secteur public dans toutes leurs actions et comportements. De plus, ils doivent se comporter en tenant compte des attentes précisées dans le présent code. Si vous ne vous conformez pas à ces valeurs et attentes, vous vous exposez à des mesures administratives ou disciplinaires pouvant aller jusqu'au congédiement.

Les fonctionnaires qui sont aussi gestionnaires occupent un poste d'influence et d'autorité qui leur confère la responsabilité particulière de donner l'exemple en adhérant aux valeurs du secteur public. Les gestionnaires sont censés respecter le présent code, donner l'exemple en adoptant des comportements appropriés, encourager le dialogue sur les questions relatives aux valeurs et à l'éthique et favoriser un environnement axé sur l'ouverture dans lequel ils encouragent le dialogue, suscitent des questions et aident à chercher des solutions. Les employés jouent également un rôle important en participant au dialogue et en contribuant à la création d'un milieu de travail qui reflète les valeurs et l'éthique.

Comme le prévoient les articles 12 et 13 de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles (LPFDAR), si vous détenez des renseignements pouvant révéler un manquement grave au présent code, vous pouvez en informer, en toute confiance et sans crainte de représailles, votre superviseur immédiat, l'agent supérieur chargé des divulgations ou le commissaire à l'intégrité du secteur public.

Président

Le président assume des responsabilités particulières en vertu de la LPFDAR, y compris la création d'un code de conduite pour les employés de FedDev Ontario, ainsi que la responsabilité générale qui consiste à promouvoir une culture de valeurs et d'éthique au sein de l'Agence. Avec l'aide de l'agent supérieur chargé des divulgations et du directeur général des RH, le président veille à ce que vous connaissiez en tant qu'employés vos obligations, telles qu'elles sont énoncées dans le présent code, et que vous puissiez obtenir au sein de l'Agence les conseils voulus concernant des questions d'éthique, y compris sur les possibilités de conflits d'intérêts.

Le président doit veiller à ce que le présent code et les procédures internes de divulgation soient mis en application efficacement et à ce qu'ils fassent régulièrement l'objet d'un suivi et d'une évaluation. Le président est également chargé de veiller à ce que l'Agence assure l'exécution non partisane des programmes et la prestation des services.

Le président est assujetti au présent code et à la Loi sur les conflits d'intérêts.

Vice-présidents

Les vice-présidents appuient le président dans l'exécution de ses responsabilités liées aux valeurs et à l'éthique dans le cadre du présent code. Ils sont chargés collectivement d'encourager le respect du présent code et de favoriser une culture axée sur des valeurs et des normes d'éthique élevées qui permettent aux employés d'exploiter leur plein potentiel dans un environnement de travail professionnel et respectueux.

Agent supérieur chargé des divulgations

L'agent supérieur chargé des divulgations crée des conditions favorables à la divulgation des actes répréhensibles et donne suite aux divulgations faites par les fonctionnaires de FedDev Ontario. Il est tenu d'appuyer le président pour satisfaire aux exigences de la LPFDAR.

Conformément à la procédure de divulgation interne instituée en vertu de la LPFDAR, l'agent supérieur exerce, entre autres, les tâches et les pouvoirs suivants :

  1. Fournir aux fonctionnaires des renseignements, des conseils et une orientation aux fonctionnaires de FedDev Ontario au sujet de la procédure de divulgation interne, y compris sur la façon de faire les divulgations, la procédure d'enquête et le traitement des divulgations faites aux superviseurs.
  2. Recueillir et consigner les divulgations et les examiner afin de déterminer s'il existe des motifs suffisants d'y donner suite en vertu de la LPFDAR.
  3. Gérer les enquêtes concernant les divulgations et déterminer s'il y a lieu de donner suite à une divulgation faite en vertu de la LPFDAR, d'entreprendre une enquête ou d'y mettre fin.
  4. Lorsqu'une divulgation ou une enquête relative à une divulgation vise une autre organisation du secteur public fédéral, coordonner le traitement de la divulgation en collaboration avec l'agent supérieur de cette autre organisation.
  5. Communiquer par écrit au ou aux divulgateurs le résultat de tout examen et/ou de toute enquête se rapportant à la divulgation, ainsi que l'état d'avancement des mesures prises pour y donner suite, le cas échéant.
  6. Faire rapport au président des résultats des enquêtes et de tout problème systémique pouvant donner lieu à des actes répréhensibles et lui recommander des mesures correctives, le cas échéant.

En tant que fonctionnaires de FedDev Ontario, nous vous encourageons à communiquer avec l'agent principal chargé des divulgations afin de discuter de solutions possibles visant à répondre à vos préoccupations.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor : Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines

Pour aider le président du Conseil du Trésor à s'acquitter des responsabilités qui lui incombent en vertu de l'article 4 de la LPFDAR, le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) est chargé de promouvoir des pratiques éthiques dans le secteur public. Il met en œuvre le présent code et en fait la promotion en collaboration avec toutes les organisations partenaires concernées et conseille les administrateurs généraux et les agents ministériels désignés quant à son interprétation.

Le dirigeant principal des ressources humaines peut établir les directives, les normes et les lignes directrices découlant du présent code.

Le BDPRH surveillera la mise en œuvre du présent code au sein de FedDev Ontario en vue de déterminer si les objectifs qui y sont énoncés sont atteints.

Commission de la fonction publique

Conformément à la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique, la Commission de la fonction publique est chargée de mener des enquêtes et des vérifications en vue de protéger l'intégrité du système de dotation de la fonction publique et d'administrer certaines dispositions se rapportant aux activités politiques.

Date de modification :