Archived — Quarterly Financial Report — Quarter ended June 30, 2016

Archived information

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel, and programs


1. Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This report should be read in conjunction with the 2016-17 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, Mandate & Program Activities

As Canada's most populous region — home to more than 12.8 million residents living in 288 communities — southern Ontario is a key contributor to the Canadian economy. The Government of Canada created the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) in 2009 to support economic growth in southern Ontario through the delivery of federal programs and services. FedDev Ontario works with communities, businesses and not-for-profit organizations in southern Ontario to actively promote the region and build a strong foundation of investment and partnerships to help secure Canada's long-term prosperity.

FedDev Ontario works as a co-investor, convener, champion and delivery agent, intentionally directing its resources to activities with the greatest regional impacts. Working in collaboration with organizations and businesses, FedDev Ontario is able to advance innovative technologies and leverage community capacity to develop regionally-based economic solutions.

Further details on FedDev Ontario's authorities, mandate and program activities can be found in the Report on Plans and Priorities and Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes FedDev Ontario's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by FedDev Ontario—consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A for the 2016-17 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special-purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

FedDev Ontario uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual financial statements that are part of its performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) Results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the net increase or decrease in authorities available for the year and actual expenditures for the quarter ended June 30, 2016.

2.1 Authorities Analysis

Planned departmental spending in fiscal year 2016-17 totals $256.6 million, a $41.3 million increase over that available at the close of the first quarter in the 2015-16 fiscal year. This comprises a $41.4 million increase in program authorities and a decrease of $0.1 million in operating authorities.

The $41.3 million increase in program authorities is the result of the introduction of funding for the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program ($44.4 million), an adjustment to the Southern Ontario Prosperity Initiatives ($3 million decrease and $8.6 million transfer to other government departments), a decrease to the Advanced Manufacturing Fund ($1.0 million) and an additional $9.6 million for the grant for the City of Brantford to support the Brantford Greenwich-Mohawk Brownfield Remediation project.

Figure: Total authorities available for use for the year ending , compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending (in millions of dollars)
Bar chart of Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017, compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016 (in millions of dollars) (the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure
Total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017, compared to total authorities available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016 (in millions of dollars)
Type of authorities  Fiscal Year
(in millions of dollars)
2015-16 2016-17
Operating Spending Authorities 29.0 28.9
Program Spending Authorities 186.2 227.7

2.2 Expenditure Analysis

In the first quarter of the 2016-17 fiscal year, total budgetary expenditures were $37.9 million compared to $21.1 million reported in the same period of 2015-16. This represents a year-over-year increase of $16.8 million, or 79.6 percent.

Quarterly spending includes $32.3 million on programs and $5.6 million on operating expenditures. Spending on operating costs decreased slightly by $0.3 million compared to the same period in 2015-16, and program expenditures have increased by $17.0 million.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The following provides additional analysis of key variances at the Standard Object level.

Used During the Quarter

Spending on transfer payments was $32.3 million in the first quarter of 2016-17, compared to $15.2 million in the same quarter of 2015-16. The increase in transfer payment expenditures is an expected trend as the current suite of programs has committed funding against a portfolio of projects that are now underway, resulting in increased submissions of eligible costs for reimbursement.

Personnel-related expenditures totaled $5.2 million, displaying minimal change from the $5.4 million in the same period in 2015-16. This change is primarily attributed to efficiencies gained through the alignment of all regional development agencies under the Innovation, Science and Economic Development portfolio in the fall of 2015.

During the first quarter of 2016-17, other operating expenditures totaled $433,000, a decrease of $129,000 from the same period in 2015-16. This decrease was primarily driven by decreases in Repair and Maintenance (−$21,000), Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment (−$67,000) and other office fit-up costs attributed to FedDev Ontario's headquarters relocation to Waterloo. Spending on other standard objects displayed non-material changes ranging from (+$8,000 to −$20,000).

3. Risks and Uncertainties

FedDev Ontario maintains a Corporate Risk Profile, which identifies and assesses risks that could impact the objectives of the agency. To minimize potential financial impact, FedDev Ontario maintains a strong system of budgeting, forecasting and internal controls, helping to mitigate financial risks related to the Agency's funding authorities.

4. Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

In Budget 2016, the Government of Canada committed an additional $150 million over two years to the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, doubling the annual contributions from FedDev Ontario to $44.4 million in fiscal years 2016-17 and 2017-18.

Regarding changes in key personnel, Mr. Frank Lofranco was appointed to the role of Vice President, Business Innovation and Community Development on April 4, 2016.

Approval by Senior Officials

Original signed by

space to insert Nancy Horsman' signature
Nancy Horsman
President
Waterloo, Canada

Original signed by

Space to insert Kei Moray's signature
Kei Moray
Acting Chief Financial Officer
Waterloo, Canada

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Table: Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2016-17 Fiscal Year 2015-16
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1—Net Operating Expenditures 25,754 4,814 4,814 25,859 5,123 5,123
Vote 5—Grants and Contributions 227,680 32,259 32,259 186,240 15,214 15,214
Budgetary statutory authorities:
Employee benefit plans 3,214 803 803 3,151 788 788
Minister of State—car allowance - - - 2 1 1
Total budgetary authorities 256,648 37,876 37,876 215,252 21,126 21,126
Non-budgetary authorities - - - - - -
Total authorites 256,648 37,876 37,876 215,252 21,126 21,126

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal Year 2016-17 Fiscal Year 2015-16
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016Footnote 1 Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
PersonnelFootnote 2 21,902 5,184 5,184 21,910 5,350 5,350
Transportation and communications 997 90 90 943 110 110
Information 494 24 24 230 34 34
Professional and special services 4,418 283 283 4,458 295 295
Rentals 172 5 5 371 6 6
Repair and maintenance 316 20 20 570 41 41
Utilities, materials and supplies 301 7 7 124 13 13
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 0 0 0 36 0 0
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 350 1 1 349 68 68
Transfer payments 227,680 32,259 32,259 186,240 15,214 15,214
Other subsidies and payments 18 3 3 21 (5) (5)
Total budgetary expenditures 256,648 37,876 37,876 215,252 21,126 21,126
Date modified:

Archivé — Rapport financier trimestriel — Trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants concernant le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes


1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi par la direction conformément à l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prévues dans la Norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses de 2016-2017 et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses A. Ce rapport trimestriel n'a fait l'objet ni d'une vérification externe ni d'un examen.

Autorisation, mandat et activités de programme

En tant que région la plus peuplée du Canada, avec plus de 12,8 millions de résidents répartis dans 288 collectivités, le Sud de l'Ontario contribue de façon importante à l'économie canadienne. Le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev Ontario) en 2009 pour appuyer la croissance dans le Sud de l'Ontario par la prestation de programmes et de services fédéraux. FedDev Ontario travaille avec les collectivités, les entreprises et les organisations à but non lucratif du Sud de l'Ontario pour promouvoir de manière active la région et pour construire une assise solide d'investissements et de partenariats afin de veiller à la prospérité à long terme du Canada.

FedDev Ontario agit en tant que co-investisseur, rassembleur, champion et agent de mise en oeuvre, en plus d'acheminer de façon réfléchie ses ressources aux activités dont les répercussions régionales sont les plus grandes. Par son travail avec les organisations et des entreprises, FedDev Ontario est en mesure de faire avancer des technologies novatrices et de tirer parti des capacités des communautés en vue d'élaborer des solutions économiques régionales.

On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur les autorisations, le mandat et les activités de programme de FedDev Ontario dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités et la Partie II du budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation

La direction a élaboré le présent rapport trimestriel au moyen d'une méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de FedDev Ontario accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par FedDev Ontario, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses A pour l'exercice 2016-2017. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été élaboré au moyen d'un cadre de présentation de rapports à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'intermédiaire de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'intermédiaire de lois sous forme d'autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

FedDev Ontario utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels dans le cadre du processus de rapports sur son rendement. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et annuels cumulatifs

La présente section met en évidence les éléments importants qui ont contribué à l'augmentation ou à la diminution nette des autorisations disponibles pour l'année et les dépenses réelles pour le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2016.

2.1 Analyse des autorisations

Les dépenses prévues par le Ministère pour l'exercice 2016-2017 s'élèvent à 256,6 millions de dollars, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 41,3 millions de dollars par rapport aux fonds disponibles à la fin du premier trimestre de l'exercice 2015-2016. Cela englobe une augmentation des autorisations de programmes de 41,4 millions de dollars et une diminution de 0,1 million de dollars pour les autorisations de fonctionnement.

L'augmentation des autorisations de programmes de 41,3 millions de dollars fait suite à la présentation d'un financement pour le Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 (44,4 millions de dollars), d'un rajustement des Initiatives pour la prospérité du Sud de l'Ontario (diminution de 3 millions de dollars et transfert de 8,6 millions de dollars à d'autres ministères), d'une diminution du Fonds de fabrication de pointe (1,0 million de dollars) et d'un financement additionnel de 9,6 millions de dollars pour la subvention à la ville de Brantford pour soutenir le projet d'assainissement de la friche industrielle Greenwich-Mohawk à Brantford.

Figure : Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le comparativement à celles pour l'exercice se terminant le (en millions de dollars)
Diagramme à barres de Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 comparativement à celles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 (en millions de dollars) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure
Autorisations totales disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 comparativement à celles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 (en millions de dollars)
Types d'autorisations  Exercice
(en millions de dollars)
2015-2016 2016-2017
Autorisations des dépenses de fonctionnement 29,0 28,9
Autorisations des dépenses de programmes 186,2 227,7

2.2 Analyse des dépenses

Au cours du premier trimestre de l'exercice 2016-2017, le total des dépenses budgétaires se chiffrait à 37,9 millions de dollars, comparativement au montant rapporté de 21,1 millions de dollars au cours de la même période en 2015-2016, ce qui représente une augmentation d'un exercice à l'autre de 16,8 millions de dollars (soit 79,6 %).

Les dépenses trimestrielles comprennent 32,3 millions de dollars pour les programmes et 5,6 millions de dollars pour le fonctionnement. Les dépenses pour les coûts de fonctionnement ont diminué légèrement comparativement à 0,3 million de dollars pour la même période en 2015-2016, et les dépenses de programme ont augmenté de 17,0 millions de dollars.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant

Nous présentons ci-dessous une analyse supplémentaire des principaux écarts relatifs aux articles courants de dépense.

Utilisé pendant le trimestre

Les dépenses liées aux paiements de transfert se chiffraient à 32,3 millions de dollars au cours du premier trimestre de 2016-2017, par rapport aux 15,2 millions de dollars enregistrés au cours du premier trimestre de 2015-2016. L'augmentation des dépenses de paiements de transfert constitue une tendance prévue étant donné que la série de programmes actuelle a engagé des fonds par rapport au portefeuille de projets actuellement en cours, ce qui a engendré une augmentation de la présentation de frais admissibles au remboursement.

Les dépenses liées au personnel s'élevaient à 5,2 millions de dollars, ce qui représente un changement minime par rapport aux dépenses de 5,4 millions de dollars enregistrées pendant la même période en 2015-2016. Ce changement est principalement attribuable aux gains d'efficacité réalisés par l'harmonisation de tous les organismes de développement régional dans le portefeuille d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique à l'automne de 2015.

Au cours du premier trimestre de 2016-2017, les autres dépenses de fonctionnement se sont élevées à 433 000 $, ce qui représente une diminution de 129 000 $ par rapport aux dépenses enregistrées pendant la même période en 2015-2016. Cette diminution était principalement attribuable à la diminution des dépenses de réparation et d'entretien (− 21 000 $), d'acquisition de matériel et d'outillage (− 67 000 $) et des autres coûts d'aménagement de bureau liés au déménagement de l'administration centrale de FedDev Ontario à Waterloo. Les dépenses pour d'autres articles courants présentaient des changements non importants d'une valeur allant de 8 000 $ à − 20 000 $.

3. Risques et incertitudes

FedDev Ontario maintient un profil de risque organisationnel, qui détermine et évalue les risques qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les objectifs de l'agence. Afin de réduire au minimum les possibles répercussions financières, FedDev Ontario maintient un solide système d'établissement du budget, de prévisions et de contrôles internes qui aide à atténuer les risques financiers se rapportant aux autorisations de financement de l'Agence.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Dans le budget de 2016, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à offrir un financement additionnel de 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans au Programme d'infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150, doublant ainsi les contributions annuelles de FedDev Ontario pour atteindre 44,4 millions de dollars au cours des exercices 2016-2017 et 2017-2018.

En ce qui concerne les changements du personnel clé, M. Frank Lofranco a été nommé à la fonction de vice-président, Innovation commerciale et développement communautaire le 4 avril 2016.

Approuvé par les cadres supérieurs

Original signé par

Champ de saisie de la signature de Nancy Horsman
Nancy Horsman, présidente
Waterloo, Canada

Original signé par

Champ de saisie de la signature de Kei Moray
Kei Moray, dirigeante principale intérimaire des finances
Waterloo, Canada

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Tableau : État des autorisations (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 — Dépenses de fonctionnement nettes 25 754 4 814 4 814 25 859 5 123 5 123
Crédit 5 — Subventions et contributions 227 680 32 259 32 259 186 240 15 214 15 214
Autorisations législatives budgétaires :
Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 214 803 803 3 151 788 788
Ministre d'État — allocation d'automobile - - - 2 1 1
Autorisations budgétaires totales 256 648 37 876 37 876 215 252 21 126 21 126
Autorisations non budgétaires - - - - - -
Autorisations totales 256 648 37 876 37 876 215 252 21 126 21 126

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)
(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2016-2017 Exercice 2015-2016
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Note de bas de page 1 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
PersonnellesNote de bas de page 2 21 902 5 184 5 184 21 910 5 350 5 350
Transports et communications 997 90 90 943 110 110
Renseignements 494 24 24 230 34 34
Services professionnels et spéciaux 4 418 283 283 4 458 295 295
Locations 172 5 5 371 6 6
Services de réparation et d'entretien 316 20 20 570 41 41
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 301 7 7 124 13 13
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 0 0 0 36 0 0
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 350 1 1 349 68 68
Paiements de transfert 227 680 32 259 32 259 186 240 15 214 15 214
Autres subventions et paiements 18 3 3 21 (5) (5)
Dépenses budgétaires totales 256 648 37 876 37 876 215 252 21 126 21 126
Date de modification :