Communications Requirements for Projects Funded Through the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program

Quick Links

Public acknowledgement of the financial assistance of the Government of Canada is a condition of receiving a grant or contribution. This ensures the public can recognize where a Government of Canada financial contribution has been made. This guide explains the requirements, and provides direction and options for integrating the acknowledgement into the appropriate communications products and activities.

Funding recipients should also consult the detailed requirements in contribution agreements for Government of Canada funding, as they may differ between funding programs. This guide pertains only to the basic acknowledgement of federal funding for Canada 150 projects and initiatives.

This document is designed to assist recipients in fulfilling their communications requirements.

Public information

Recipients who intend to share promotional information about the project with the public must acknowledge Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program funding in their materials. Please use the following sentence for any such communications:

“With support through the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program/Avec l’appui du Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150.”

This bilingual acknowledgement should be displayed in both printed and electronic materials, including, but not limited to:

In some cases, the identifiers of the Government of Canada, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) or Canada 150 may also be used.

If you are producing any promotional materials related to your project, you must submit it for review and approval. Please contact the FedDev Ontario’s communications branch at least 10 days before the anticipated publication date.

No approval is required for communications materials related to project operations, such as calls for tender, construction notices, and public safety notices.

The primary form of acknowledgement for Canada 150 funding recipients is the display of the Canada 150 composite logo in the communications products of the recipient for the period covered by the funding agreement. The Canada 150 composite logo combines the Canada 150 logo with the Government of Canada wordmark.

To ensure the integrity of the Canada 150 composite logo, the following criteria must be applied:

The composite logo is positioned on communication products in a fair and visible manner typical for acknowledging partners. When acknowledging multiple funding partners, the Government of Canada composite logo must appear with equivalent size, position and prominence of other acknowledgements or credits. An example is below:

Canada 150 composite logo - multiple funding partners

Where the Government of Canada is the only contributor being acknowledged, it may be appropriate to include a text credit to ensure the reason for displaying the Canada 150 composite logo is clear to the public. In these instances, one of the following text credits may accompany the composite logo:

EnglishFrench
Funded by the Government of Canada. Financé par le gouvernement du Canada.
This project is funded in part by the Government of Canada. Ce projet est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada.
With the participation of the Government of Canada. Avec la participation du gouvernement du Canada.
We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada. Nous reconnaissons l'appui financier du gouvernement du Canada.

The use of English and French text credits must correspond to the treatment and order of official languages of the communication product. Individual contribution agreements may specify particular wording for a text credit or tagline that differs from the examples provided above.

Products and Activities

Communications: The Canada 150 composite logo appears on all printed or electronic documents, marketing materials, public reports, publications and media products related to the funded activities. If the funded project is a publication or a magazine, the composite logo must be prominently displayed on the cover or an acknowledgement page at the front of the publication. If the published material is a website, electronic application or other electronic or online communications, the composite logo should be to be hyperlinked to: Canada 150 webpage.

Social media: In order to allow FedDev Ontario to share or retweet information about the funded project, recipients are asked to provide the address of all social media accounts (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Flickr or others) in which they publish content related to the funded activities. Recipients are also asked to follow Canada 150 on social media by subscribing to:

Press releases: Financial support from the Government of Canada must be acknowledged in all press releases that refer to funding sources for the funded activities. FedDev Ontario provides a quote upon request for inclusion in such news releases. The Government of Canada must have an opportunity to include its own message if similar messaging is to be included by any funding party. Space allocated for such messaging will be at least of equal size, duration and prominence of that of any other funding partner that has made a similar contribution. FedDev Ontario prepares these messages and provides the final artwork on request.

Special events: Support from the Government of Canada must be acknowledged during public events such as, but not limited to community tournaments, conferences, trade shows, and stage productions that are funded, in whole or in part, by the Government of Canada.

If a Government of Canada representative is invited to attend a media event, FedDev Ontario may provide appropriate acknowledgement signage to be used for backgrounds. The Canada 150 composite logo is displayed on invitations to activities such as opening, closing and welcoming ceremonies, and other events.

Verbal acknowledgements: Verbal acknowledgement of the Government of Canada’s support should occur during any speaking opportunity at media events related to the funded activities. Examples include:

“I would like to acknowledge the Government of Canada's support for (name of activity or event). I would also like to welcome (name of representative) to our event today.”

Event Planning

Any proposed public events related to the project, such as a groundbreaking or ribbon-cutting ceremony, must be discussed with FedDev Ontario communications staff before proceeding with the event and distributing invitations to guests. This is to ensure that the Government of Canada has an opportunity to arrange for the attendance of a designated Minister and/or Member of Parliament (MP).

When planning an event, it is best to propose three dates and times (within the project groundbreaking/completion timeline) that work best to allow FedDev Ontario communications staff to identify a federal representative. Please contact the FedDev Ontario communications branch at least 15 business days before a proposed event date.

In cases where recipients are receiving funding from other sources for the project being celebrated, this should be noted and communications staff can provide guidance on the event logistics and related protocol.

Communications staff will assist with coordinating an event by:

  1. Arranging the attendance of a designated federal representative;
  2. Providing a news release template and coordinating approved program descriptions and quotes from designated representatives, and sending a final approved version to be distributed at the event to local media;
  3. Providing a template and advice for an event agenda;
  4. Providing a media advisory template to help generate interest from local media;
  5. Providing advice on good photo opportunities and other event planning details; and
  6. Providing French translation services, if necessary.

Funding recipients will be responsible for:

  1. Working with FedDev Ontario communications staff to identify opportunities for project milestone events;
  2. Making recommendations on appropriate locations for events (ideally, the event would take place at the project site or a location with an interesting backdrop);
  3. Identifying a master of ceremonies for the event (this is usually an unelected official);
  4. Verifying the project description and recipient quote in the news release and providing a recipient logo and contact person for the news release;
  5. Arranging for any props for the photo opportunity at the event (i.e., ribbon, scissors, sign or plaque, flag, podium, etc.);
  6. Providing onsite event logistics (making sure news releases are distributed and photos are taken, etc.);
  7. Inviting the public, the local media and other parties involved in the project; and
  8. Providing post-event details and photos within two business days following the event (a post-event template will be provided).

Project Signage

The primary form of acknowledgement for Canada 150 funding recipients is the display of the Canada 150 composite logo in the communications products of the recipient for the period covered by the funding agreement. The Canada 150 composite logo combines the Canada 150 logo with the Government of Canada wordmark.

Requirements

Recipients are encouraged to use web signage to promote projects. Where there is an opportunity to promote projects of significance to the community, a physical sign at a project site can be mounted outdoors or indoors in a prominent location that is visible and accessible to the public. The sign should be properly installed and should not obstruct traffic or cause safety concerns, particularly if it will be located near a road. To avoid potential safety issues, ensure that the appropriate provincial and municipal authorities are consulted.

Reporting

Once the signage is installed and/or posted online, send an email with an accompanying photograph or URL to the FedDev Ontario Program Officer and copy FedDev Ontario's communications branch to confirm the date of installation or web posting. Please clearly identify the project number in the subject line or text of the email.

Signage Templates

Note: The Canada 150 Visual Identity, tagline and logo are the property of the Government of Canada. Altering the design, colour or language is not permitted.

Click the links below and save it to your desktop. Double-click on the icon on your desktop to open the file. It is recommended that you send the graphic, as well as this document, to your printer/signage firm, and work closely with them to produce the required signage.

  1. Online Sign

    The dimensions of the online sign are 540 pixels x 180 pixels. The online sign should be hyperlinked to the Canada 150 webpage.

    Canada 150 composite logo - full colour application

    English and French (PNG) - 19.5 KB

  2. Printed Material

    All printed material referencing Canada 150 funding should include the Canada 150 logo. High resolution logos can be downloaded via the following links:

  3. Exterior/interior sign at project site

    Single Partner
    Canada 150 Exterior/interior sign at project site for single funding partner

    Multiple Partners
    Canada 150 Exterior/interior sign at project site for multiple funding partners

    *Note: if you are experiencing difficulties with the production of your sign based on your project location or other issue, please contact FedDev Ontario's communications branch.

  4. Plaques

    Canada 150 plaque

For further assistance or to obtain the Canada150 graphic in alternate formats, please contact FedDev Ontario's communications branch.

Costs

Certain costs associated with the delivery of communications of activities, including the organization of events and the installation of signage, are the responsibility of recipients and are considered eligible under the program. Please refer to Annex 2 of the Contribution Agreement for a detailed list of what is eligible for reimbursement or consult with your Program Analyst prior to incurring any costs.

More information and technical assistance

Information on applying for commercial or non-commercial use of the Canada 150 logo, requesting the Canada 150 Typeface, and Canada 150 branding elements is available on the Canada 150 website.

Date modified:

Exigences en matière de communication aux fins des projets financés dans le cadre du programme d’Infrastructure Communautaire de Canada 150

Liens rapides

La reconnaissance publique d’une aide financière offerte par le gouvernement du Canada constitue une condition pour recevoir une subvention ou une contribution. Le public peut ainsi reconnaître là où le gouvernement du Canada a fait un apport financier. Le présent guide comprend des explications concernant les exigences ainsi qu'une orientation et des options pour intégrer la reconnaissance aux produits et aux activités de communication appropriés.

Les bénéficiaires du financement peuvent également consulter les exigences détaillées prévues dans les accords de contribution conclus aux fins d’un financement public puisqu’elles peuvent être différentes selon les programmes de financement. Le présent guide ne s’applique qu’à la reconnaissance d’un financement fédéral pour les projets et les initiatives de Canada 150.

Le présent document vise à aider les bénéficiaires à respecter leurs exigences en matière de communication.

Information publique

Les bénéficiaires qui envisagent de communiquer au public l’information promotionnelle au sujet d'un projet doivent reconnaître le financement dans le cadre du Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 dans leurs documents. Veuillez utiliser la phrase suivante dans toute communication :

« Avec l’appui du Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 / With support through the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program ».

Cette reconnaissance bilingue doit figurer dans les documents imprimés et électroniques, y compris, sans toutefois s’y limiter, dans les documents suivants :

Dans certains cas, les identificateurs du gouvernement du Canada, de l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario (FedDev Ontario) ou de Canada 150 peuvent également être utilisés.

Si vous produisez un document promotionnel lié à votre projet, vous devez le présenter aux fins d’examen et d’approbation. Veuillez communiquer avec la Direction générale des communications de FedDev Ontario au moins 10 jours avant la date de publication prévue.

Aucune approbation n’est requise pour les documents de communication liés aux activités du projet, comme les appels d’offres, les avis de construction et les avis publics sur la sécurité.

La principale forme de reconnaissance par les bénéficiaires de financement dans le cadre de Canada 150 consiste à afficher le logo composé de Canada 150 dans les produits de communication pendant la période visée par l’accord de financement. Le logo composé de Canada 150 comprend une combinaison du logo de Canada 150 et du mot symbole du gouvernement du Canada.

Afin d’assurer l’intégrité du logo composé de Canada 150, les critères suivants doivent être appliqués :

Le logo composé est présenté dans les produits de communication de manière équitable et visible, habituelle pour reconnaître des partenaires. Lorsque la reconnaissance vise plusieurs partenaires de financement, le logo composé du Canada doit être présenté dans une taille et à un endroit équivalents et bien en vue par rapport aux autres reconnaissances ou mentions. Voici un exemple :

Le logo composé de Canada 150 - plusieurs partenaires de financement

Lorsque le gouvernement du Canada est le seul subventionneur reconnu, il pourrait être approprié d’inclure un texte de mention afin de s’assurer que le public comprend bien la raison pour laquelle le logo composé de Canada 150 est présenté. Dans de tels cas, un des textes de mention suivants peut accompagner le logo composé :

FrançaisAnglais
Financé par le gouvernement du Canada. Funded by the Government of Canada.
Ce projet est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada. This project is funded in part by the Government of Canada.
Avec la participation du gouvernement du Canada. With the participation of the Government of Canada.
Nous reconnaissons l'appui financier du gouvernement du Canada. We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada.

L’utilisation des textes de mention en français et en anglais doit correspondre au traitement et à l’ordre des langues officielles du produit de communication. Les accords de contribution distincts peuvent préciser le libellé particulier d’un texte de mention ou d’un titre d’appel différent des exemples fournis ci dessus.

Produits et activités

Communications : Le logo composé de Canada 150 doit être apposé sur tous les documents, les documents de commercialisation, les rapports publics, les produits de publication et des médias imprimés ou électroniques liés aux activités financées. Si le projet financé est une publication ou un magazine, le logo composé doit être bien en vue sur une page couverture ou une page de reconnaissance qui figure au début de la publication. Si le document publié est un site Web, une application électronique ou toute autre communication électronique ou en ligne, le logo composé doit être sous forme d'hyperlien vers la page Web de Canada 150.

Médias sociaux : Afin de permettre à FedDev Ontario de partager des gazouillis et autres renseignements au sujet du projet financé, les bénéficiaires doivent fournir l’adresse de tous les comptes de médias sociaux (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Flickr ou autres) dans lesquels ils peuvent publier du contenu lié aux activités financées. Les bénéficiaires doivent également suivre Canada 150 sur les médias sociaux en s’abonnant à :

Communiqués de presse : On doit mentionner l’aide reçue du gouvernement du Canada dans tous les communiqués de presse qui renvoient aux sources de financement des activités financées. FedDev Ontario fournit sur demande une citation à inclure dans ces communiqués de presse. Le gouvernement du Canada doit pouvoir inclure son propre message si un message semblable est inséré par un autre bailleur de fonds. L’espace prévu pour ce message doit alors être au moins de taille, de durée et d’importance égales à celui accordé à un autre partenaire de financement qui a fourni une contribution semblable. FedDev Ontario prépare ces messages sur demande et fournit les maquettes définitives.

Événements spéciaux : On doit reconnaître le soutien du gouvernement du Canada pendant la tenue des événements publics; notamment, les tournois communautaires, les conférences, les salons professionnels, les productions sur scène qui sont financés, en tout ou en partie, par le gouvernement du Canada.

Si un représentant du gouvernement du Canada est invité à prendre part à un événement médiatique, FedDev Ontario peut fournir la signalisation appropriée à utiliser en arrière plan. Le logo composé de Canada 150 devrait apparaître sur toutes les invitations aux activités, comme les cérémonies d’ouverture, de clôture et de bienvenue, ainsi qu’à d’autres événements.

Reconnaissance verbale : La reconnaissance verbale du soutien du gouvernement du Canada devrait avoir lieu dans toute communication orale pendant les événements médiatiques liés aux activités financées. En voici des exemples :

« J'aimerais reconnaître l'appui du gouvernement du Canada dans le cadre de [nom de l'activité ou de l'événement]. Je souhaite la bienvenue à [nom du représentant] à notre événement aujourd'hui. »

Planification d’événements

Tout événement public proposé relativement au projet, comme les cérémonies d'inauguration des travaux, doit faire l'objet d'une discussion avec le personnel des communications de FedDev Ontario avant d’organiser l’événement et de distribuer les invitations aux invités. Cela vise à s’assurer que le gouvernement du Canada peut ainsi prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour assurer la présence d’un ministre délégué et, ou d’un député.

Dans le cadre de la planification d’un événement, il est préférable de proposer les trois dates et heures les plus appropriées (selon le calendrier d’achèvement du projet ou de la cérémonie d'inauguration des travaux) afin de permettre au personnel des communications de FedDev Ontario d’organiser la participation d'un représentant fédéral. Veuillez communiquer avec la Direction générale des communications de FedDev Ontario au moins 15 jours ouvrables avant la date prévue de l’événement.

Dans les cas où les bénéficiaires reçoivent un financement d’autres sources relativement au projet célébré, cette information doit être indiquée et le personnel des communications peut alors offrir une orientation quant à la logistique de l’événement et au protocole connexe.

Le personnel des communications aidera à coordonner l’événement en effectuant les tâches suivantes :

  1. Organiser la participation d’un représentant fédéral désigné.
  2. Fournir le modèle de communiqué de presse et coordonner les descriptions de programme et les citations approuvées des représentants désignés, ainsi qu’envoyer la version définitive approuvée aux fins de distribution aux médias locaux à l'occasion de l’événement.
  3. Fournir un modèle et des conseils relativement au programme de l’événement.
  4. Fournir un modèle d’avis aux médias afin d’aider à susciter de l’intérêt des médias locaux.
  5. Fournir des conseils relatifs aux séances de photographie appropriées et d’autres détails de planification d’événements.
  6. Fournir des services de traduction vers le français, le cas échéant.

Les bénéficiaires de financement devront s'acquitter des tâches suivantes :

  1. Collaborer avec le personnel des communications de FedDev Ontario afin de déterminer les possibilités relatives aux événements marquants du projet.
  2. Formuler des recommandations quant aux endroits appropriés pour tenir les événements (idéalement, l’événement sera tenu au site du projet ou à un endroit ayant une toile de fond intéressante).
  3. Désigner un maître de cérémonie de l’événement (il s’agit habituellement d’un représentant non élu).
  4. Vérifier la description du projet et la citation du bénéficiaire dans les communiqués de presse et fournir un logo du bénéficiaire et une personne ressource aux fins du communiqué de presse.
  5. Organiser les accessoires aux fins de la séance de photographie pendant l’événement (c. à d. : ruban, ciseaux, affiche ou plaqueeau, estrade, etc.).
  6. Prévoir la logistique de l’événement sur place (assurer la distribution des communiqués de presse et la prise de photos, etc.).
  7. Inviter le public, les médias locaux et d’autres parties prenant part au projet.
  8. Fournir des détails et des photos à la suite de l’événement, soit dans les deux jours ouvrables suivant l’événement (un modèle « après l’événement » sera fourni).

Signalisation d'un projet

La principale forme de reconnaissance par les bénéficiaires de financement dans le cadre de Canada 150 consiste à afficher le logo composé de Canada 150 dans les produits de communication pendant la période visée par l’accord de financement. Le logo composé de Canada 150 comprend une combinaison du logo de Canada 150 et du mot symbole du gouvernement du Canada.

Exigences

On invite les bénéficiaires à utiliser la signalisation sur le Web pour promouvoir les projets. Lorsqu’il est possible de promouvoir des projets qui présentent un intérêt pour la collectivité, une affiche physique à un site de projet peut être installée à l’extérieur ou à l’intérieur dans un endroit bien en vue qui est visible et accessible par le public. L’affiche devrait être bien installée et ne devrait pas nuire à la circulation ni être la source de préoccupations quant à la sécurité, surtout si elle se trouvera près d’un chemin. Afin d’éviter d'éventuels problèmes de sécurité, il faut s’assurer de consulter les autorités provinciales et municipales appropriées.

Production de rapports

Une fois que la signalisation est installée et, ou affichée en ligne, il faut envoyer un courriel avec une photographie s’y rattachant ou un URL à l’agent de programme de FedDev Ontario et une copie à la Direction générale des communications afin de confirmer la date d’installation ou d’affichage sur le Web. Veuillez indiquer clairement le numéro de projet dans la ligne de mention objet ou dans le texte du courriel.

Modèles de signalisation

Remarque : L’identité visuelle, le titre d’appel et le logo de Canada 150 sont la propriété du gouvernement du Canada. La modification du dessin, de la couleur ou de la langue est interdite.

Cliquez sur les liens ci-dessous et sauvegardez le contenu dans votre ordinateur de bureau. Cliquez deux fois sur l’icône figurant sur votre bureau pour ouvrir le fichier. Il est recommandé que vous envoyiez le graphique, ainsi que ce document, à l'entreprise chargée de l’impression ou de la signalisation et que vous collaboriez étroitement avec elle afin de produire la signalisation requise.

  1. Affiche en ligne

    Voici les dimensions des affiches en ligne : 540 pixels x 180 pixels. L’affiche en ligne doit comporter un hyperlien vers la page web de Canada 150.

    Le logo composé de Canada 150 - pleine en couleur

    Français et anglais (PNG) – 19,5 ko

  2. Matériel imprimé

    Tout matériel imprimé donnant en référence des fonds provenant du PIC150 devraient inclure le logo du PIC150. Des logos en haute resolution peuvent être téléchargés en utilisant les liens suivants :

    Le logo composé de Canada 150 - pleine en couleur

    Français et anglais (PNG) – 19,5 ko

  3. Affiche extérieure ou intérieure au site du projet

    Partenaire unique
    Canada 150 Affiche extérieure ou intérieure au site du projet

    Plusieurs partenaires
    Canada 150 Affiche extérieure ou intérieure au site du projet pour plusieurs partenaires

    *Remarque : Si vous éprouvez des difficultés avec la production de votre affiche en raison de l’emplacement de votre projet ou toutes autres difficultés, veuillez communiquer avec FedDev Ontario.

  4. Plaques

    Canada 150 plaque

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou pour obtenir le graphique du programme PIC 150 / Canada150 en d’autres formats, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction générale des communications de FedDev Ontario.

Coûts

Les bénéficiaires doivent assumer certains coûts associés à l’exécution des activités de communication, y compris l’organisation des événements et l’installation de la signalisation. Ces coûts sont admissibles dans le cadre du programme. Veuillez consulter l’annexe 2 de l’accord de contribution pour obtenir une liste détaillée des coûts admissibles au remboursement ou consulter votre analyste de programme avant d’engager de tels coûts.

Renseignements supplémentaires et aide technique

Des renseignements relatifs à la demande d’utilisation du logo Canada 150 à des fins commerciales ou non commerciales, à la demande du caractère typographique de Canada 150 et aux éléments de l'image de marque sont affichés dans le site Web de Canada 150.

Date de modification :